We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great poolside staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City River Hotel to your Saves list
City River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0511, Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Stoke
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value, great poolside staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We booked here after the Golden Banana (choice 1) was full and the hotel next to the City River mysteriously found that they were fully-booked for the standard rooms we had reserved and wanted lots more money for superior rooms.
City River is a great place to stay in Siem Reap. Large rooms with lots of facilities, OK breakfast - lots of it but the hot food could have been hotter, attentive staff especially on the rooftop pool (which has a great view of the locality) where the attendants seemed to run everywhere to help.
We paid only $38 a night per room including breakfast which seemed very good value.
Reception were efficient at providing transfers and drivers for temple visits.
The only downside was the poorly-lit journey from the centre of Siem reap back to the hotel. Only a short distance but after draught beer at $0.50 a glass it seemed further. But you could get a tuk tuk for next to nothing.

  • Liked — poolside attention
  • Disliked — walking back at night
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    261
    39
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
211
70
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

Our room was large with a comfortable bed, had cable tv with loads of english channels, minibar, loads of space to put clothes & bags away. Towels & a good variety of toiletries were provided along with complimentary drinking water each day.

The pool on the roof was lovely, views of the whole city, lit up with fairy lights at night if you want a swim when getting back from a hard day at Angkor. Towels are given to you when you go up to the pool & you hand them back when you're done. Plenty of very comfortable sunloungers & some seating areas too aswell as an extra high point with table & chairs which you could view both the sunrise & sunset from (weather permitting of course!).

The breaksfast selection was decent enough & the bread was lovely & fresh.

It was about a 10 minute walk to the ''pub street'' area where most restaurants & bars are. We would recommend Goodysaurus for cheap drinks & a good lunch & the mexican place Viva (1 on pub street 1 round the corner) which was excellent & good value - far better than the mexican food in Thailand!

We arrived after dark on our first day & when we went out to get food it was a bit intimidating as there aren't many street lights in Siem Reap & even when they are there they can be very dimly lit. After being out during the day though we were fine as we had our bearings though it could be intimidating for a woman alone though the town is meant to be completely safe.

There was some construction work being done on the ground floor when we stayed but they didn't start work until about 8am in the morning & even when we were having a lie in we weren't massively disturbed.

We got an excellent deal on the place at $30 a night but we think we'd still have been satisfied if we'd had to pay the hotels own price of $50 a night. Book online!

The hotel can also arrange a tour guide & driver for you for Angkor, we got an english one with a tuk tuk & it came in at $37 total which we thought was a bargain & we were very happy with our guide.

  • Liked — location, pool on roof
  • Disliked — nothing, loved the place
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We read the hotel's reviews from this site and found it very helpful. We were on 25-27 March 2008 and paid 38$ per room per night incl. breakfast.

Hotel has good location. There are 4-5 restaurants nearby.
Room are clean, we were on 3rd floor - superior room but our room don't have good view from window, it was satelite and houses's roof but that OK because we were only after sunset in hotel. many TV channels(HBO, NHK)
Breakfast were OK. Breads, croissant, fried rice, fried noodle, fries eggs, hams, but sausages were not good quality, Coffee, tea, orange juice.

We have booked the driver from the recommendation from "wmlewis" from Australia who were 25 Jan. 08 there and wrote this hotel review. The "English-speaking" guide and driver "2 in one" ;) , Mr. Sithol (see http://angkordriverservice.blogspot.com/) is very nice and helpful, he help us to plan our trip and had umbrella, cooling box with ice and water for us among our 3 days trip. his Van has good Aircondition and big seats.

we had the very wonderful trip in Siemreap. thanks for the reviews.

  • Liked — TV
  • Disliked — View from room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

We stayed at the City River for 3 nights in March and we absolutely loved it......we had hotel pickup and return included and the courteous driver waited for 4 hours extra when our plane came in late! Our room was a deluxe room that had been newly renovated and it was very large, clean and with very modern facilities. I agree with the other poster....we could not believe how many cable channels were offered....The breakfast was somewhat lackluster, but certainly adequate...and plenty to get your day started. the hotel is close to the city center and you can easily walk to the markets or hire one of the many tuk-tuk drivers outside the entrance. The staff at all times was friendly and courteous......this hotel has to be one of the best values in Siem Reap......we heartily recommend The City River Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed for a week in a suite ($75/night) at the City River and were extremely pleased with the place. It appears to be one of the few mid-priced hotels with a swimming pool near downtown. The location is on the bank of the river and a short walk (if you're up for it) or tuk-tuk ride from the city.

Staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and well maintained. When we stayed the hotel was finishing off an expansion, which I rather suspect will mean an increase in prices. The cable TV had about 9 million channels in every major European or Asian language, for those who are too tuckered after Angkor Wat to explore the city lights.

Our package included free pick up and return to the airport, which is probably a good thing, given the tendency of taxi drivers to take you where they want to go rather than where you want to go.

While breakfast was rather unimaginative (but certainly palatable) we really had no so few complaints it is hard to think of anything else to say. The rooftop swimming pool was newly opened and what made it especially delightful was that so few people used it. Not sure if that will continue or not.

Anyway, we have travelled all over Asia and found the City River hotel one of the better bargains we have come across. I fear though that the recent expansion may mean the hotel has aspirations of moving upscale, meaning it will be less of a bargain in the future.

  • Liked — clean, large room with a pleasant view
  • Disliked — unimaginative breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

My sister and I stayed at the City River Hotel during Christmas of '06, and it was a happy experience. We had a bad experience with the taxi driver from the airport to the hotel ("If you don't book me for the entire trip, you are killing my family"), so we asked the very kind receptionists for a professional and good guide and driver for the entire trip. They delivered, and found us an educated and passionate tour guide (Leang Kihn, who became our friend; $20/day) and friendly and prompt driver (Bun-Heang $10/day). We wanted Bun-heang to drive us back to the airport on the last day, but he had business in Phnom Pehn. This wonderful driver had his own cousin come pick us up promptly at 6AM!

We had a great trip--the hotel was clean, quiet, in a great location (5 minute walk to downtown and safe), the restaurant is fine, and the air conditioning was great.

The one warning I can give is to make sure you deal with the same concierge staff member when booking tours. The very nice person we had during the first night allowed us to pay up-front, and customize the tour. As we were leaving, the 2nd concierge staff member said "Wait, you didn't pay for the tour yet!" He was very unprofessional and almost kept us from missing our flight. Thank goodness I kept my receipt. Wherever you end up staying, make sure you keep your receipts and that the front desk keeps a record of your payment.

  • Liked — the concierge service in finding me a driver and tour guide, quiet, clean, air conditioning
  • Disliked — dim lighting, poor internet connection, disorganized receipt tracking
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIEMREAPRIVER, General Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel for you stay in Siem Reap.

We apologize about the misunderstanding of our concierge staff. We take every comment and compliant very seriously and have made necessary changes according to your reviews. We hope that we can serve you better in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Excellent value for our U$44. Deluxe, large, comfortable room for 4 nights overlooking river (partially through a tree, but I like trees). Spacious bathroom well fitted out. We had a single connecting door through which talking could be heard on night one, then cheerful laughter the next night. We were so tired from temple touring it didn't bother us and we probably slept through some of it. Buffet breakfast was a bit repetitive each morning, and some of the hot food dishes (rice, noodles) were not kept hot enough. Mostly OK and we didn't feel we needed to seek out another cafe to substitute. Desk staff were obliging, but for most English was a bit difficult, however anything we booked was attended to and car or tuck-tuck drivers turned up on time. Paying per half hour of internet was a bit restricting and annoying. I had just about got to one of my research answers when time ran out! We did enjoy What Bo? Cafe next door, enjoying beers and light food. Mr Dara Pok was very cheerful and welcoming. Also eating in the Old Market area is a must. Plenty to chose from and at night a couple of lit up streets visually reminded us of Italy - but then we sat down to eat Vietnamese dish of snake and crocodile! Overall really enjoyed the hotel - think it was full or nearly full most of our stay.

  • Liked — Larage room, nice location beside river, easy to get around
  • Disliked — Hot food not hot enough at breakfast, connecting door needs more insulation.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Address: 0511, Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#57 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.