We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added City River Hotel to your Saves list
City River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0511, Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An exceptional home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the friendly, polite and attentive staff in the lobby, to the house staff and swimming pool attendants, you are met with warmth and friendliness. This is a great hotel and deserves patronage of all travellers who are looking fir above average quality. I have no hesitation in recommending this property and its management. The rooms are large and clean, the bathrooms spacious and the dining room very good...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    259
    38
    4
    4
See reviews for
74
209
69
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently our group of 26 pax was accommodated at this hotel for a stay of 3 nights. Actually we started our journey from Mumbai, India by Jet Airways which was premier airline, secondly on the way to Siem reap we visited Pink Ganesha Temple at Chachoengsao, Bangkok, Thailand which was also premier and we were thinking / doubting whether the hotel which we are going to use for our stay after 7 hours tedious road journey from Bangkok to Siem Reap is also premier or inferior, however our doubt was cleared when we reached City River hotel. We found that the rooms were very cozy, the amenities of hotel were excellent, the location was very ideal, in short overall experience was really premier. So in one day we enjoyed 3 premier services. Hotel staff provided us smiling, cooperative courteous service. Especially I appreciated services of Ms. Nalin @ reception who given us services at par without any hesitation.F& B staff provided us conference hall for our presentation / kitty party on our special request at a nominal charge along with mouth watering snacks. On day 1 we requested Restaurant Manager about our Indian guest's liking of vegetarian food for the breakfast who immediately implemented very next day without any argument. WiFi was provided free of charge to the guest with excellent network. Even 2 Desktops were provided for the guests who didn't carry their own PCs. Overall hospitality was ultimate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've stayed twice at this hotel. Its a great location, right on the river and a short walk from all the bars and restaurants, and very close to a beautiful temple.
The rooftop bar with pool is a great spot for a cocktail.
Wide selection for the breakfast buffet. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful.
My only complaint was the air conditioning which did not work very well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is not a very big hotel, but it has most of the service and facilities that 6 stars hotel has.
The staff are friend and the room is simple, spacious and clean.
This hotel has a lovely pool on the rooftop. It is quite relaxing to chill there.

The location is great. There are many cafe and eatery nearby. It is also at walking distance to night market and pub street.

The hotel provides free wi-fi and cable tv which is a good form of entertainment for me at night.
Overall I give a thumb-up for this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When arriving at the Hotel there was a slight hitch with rooming allocations, and we did feel that the staff weren't listening / believing our travel documentation. After this was sorted and we were all checked in we found the room clean and spacious.

The location is fantastic being walking distance to supermarkets for water, night markets and restaurants.

Would recommend paying for a private guide for the Ankor Wat day trips, however do not go to the Floating Visit. We were recommended to the village as we had an afternoon free, once out there it is an absolute rip-off. They charge couble what they tell you at reception and once on the boat you don't visit anything but an Orphange and a live reptile display. This seems all well and good however before you arrive at the orphanage they stop at a "Village Store" to buy supplies for the Orphanage, where upon they tried to charge us $35 for a small box of noodles and half a dozen bottles of water. If you do wish to go and donate to the orphanage bring your own supplies from town. $35 would go 5 times further with produce from a local supermarket in Siem Reap.

The staff were mostly lovely and spoke fantastic English. However I do think that the supervisors need to take a leaf out of the other staff's book and look like they are happy to be at work.

Breakfast. Breakfast was basic and not a great deal of range but for the price of the hotel it sufficed.

Overall, we throughly enjoyed our stay and for the price this City River will meet your expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I Picked this hotel for its location close to Markets and town - and it proved very good for that. Hotel was picked for reviews and lived up to those - a great place to stay. Pool has a great view from the rooftop and a great spot to watch the sune go down

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Price was really reasonable for a hotel which is clean, good service, nice location ( which is just opposite the siem reap river), free wifi, swimming pool and gym facilities etc. etc. pub street is just a 5 mins walk away from the hotel though there will be a few Tuk Tuk drivers at your service just right outside the hotel. Breakfast buffet was simple and nice. The noodle soup is a must try with the egg counter just right beside.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Address: 0511, Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 93 171, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#44 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#57 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.