We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-managed and the most friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Royal Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Road No.6 Phum Kasekam, Siem Reap 93279, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 223 Hotels in Siem Reap
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well-managed and the most friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed a week at this great hotel/resort and the end of December 2012 and do not have a word of complaint. The staff were all genuinely most friendly and helpful, always ready with a warm smile and happy greeting. Our room, with open-air balcony, overlooked the large swimming pool and rear courtyard, with views to distant green hills, deserves a five-star rating. Every request was met with immediate and courteous response. The resident manager, Mr Juliao Antonio Leitao, spoke to us a number of time, unobtrusively seeking our views on the resort, services, food and general ambience.
Everywhere you look in this stylish edifice there are tasteful and skillfully displayed artifacts, Buddhist statuary, elegant furnishings and always displays of fresh flowers.
We found the Royal Angkor an ideal base for visits to the many fascinating temple sites in the surrounding Siem Reap area, and a courtesy bus service provided access to the main city area with its wonderful Old Market, shops and good restaurants.
--Tony Reeves

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the rear provide best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    182
    44
    5
    2
See reviews for
132
253
43
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in November. We were welcomed by the most lovely staff who went above and beyond for everyone who stayed at the resort. We received a room upgrade when we got there and had a lovely stay. Our room was very clean and big with a view of the pool. The resort is big with a large swimming pool and a great restaurant which had many different choices. The resort offers a free shuttle to and from the town all day which is really helpful and they also have many tour options to visit the temples and other things around Siem Reap. Overall we were very impressed with the polite, friendly and helpful staff which made the trip all the more enjoyable. We can't wait to get back to Siem Reap to stay at Royal Angkor Resort again!!

Room Tip: Deluxe room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel from Dec 23-27, 2012. Upon arrival at the airport, a car was waiting for us. When we reached the hotel, the hotel staff, Mr. Om Ousa, gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us to the room. As it was our 24th wedding anniversary, a complimentary cake and a bottle of red wine was delivered to our room on the 1st night.

On Christmas Eve, there was a Gala dinner for all guests and it was a great and enjoyable evening. As I had 2 nights of DISTURBED SLEEP from the guests staying above my room, and after complaining to Mr. Ousa, he checked with the hotel manager, Mr. Sochea, who upgraded us to an Executive Suite.

All in all, our needs and requests were attended to immediately and we were very pleased with their service. Breakfast was good too, quite a wide choice to choose from.

When I left my green jacket at the restaurant during breakfast and did not realize it until the last day and upon checking with the reception counter, immediately they took it from the "lost & found" counter and returned it to me. What a relief!

I highy recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Cambodia. Our stay at the hotel was really a very relaxed and pleasant stay. Excellent Service!

Special thanks to Mr. Sochea and Mr. Om Ousa for their never ending service to make us happy during our stay.

Even acceded to our request for late check out when our flight to Singapore was at 3.50 pm.....Mike & Annie

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights of absolute heaven. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we felt like royalty. we were greeted with a cold drink and wet towel, were given vouchers for massages and Given the password for the free wifi.

This hotel is immaculate, the pool is so clean and tidy and there are always staff on each floor available to help. The people at reception were the best help, the door men always greeted us with a smile and the general spa and restaurant made our stay so easy.

Siem reap was our favourite city and it had a lot to do with this Hotel. We miss you all already!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Serene, welcoming with the best staff i have ever experienced ! Staying here made my visit to Cambodia and Angkor Wat , even more memorable .... will always recommend this place to aanyone ,anytime .... fantastic rooms, excellent staff who sincerely want to make your stay comfortable ... udeni

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arctic Village, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The minute we stepped into this hotel, all we could see is the warmth and smiling faces that greeted us. We were quickly ushered to a waiting area with nice comfy sofa and cooling refreshment while our check in was being processed.

Special mention to the manager on site - . Mr Sochea, who made our stay so comfortable and enjoyable. We booked a deluxe room but he upgraded us immediately to a suite after knowing there were 3 of us sharing a room. He mentioned that after putting an extra bed to the deluxe room, which was what we have requested, it will be too cramped for us hence he took the extra effort to upgrade us to a bigger room so we can have a more enjoyable stay. It was really thoughtful of him which we really appreciated. He also go the extra mile by showing us to our room and walk us through all the amenities. Throughout our stay, he never failed to check in on us to ensure we enjoy our stay - kudos to this excellent service!

Based on that incomparable service, it would have well deserved a 5 star ratings if not for the other aspects of the resort which could be improved. First, improvement needs to be made to the spa service. The masseur left the room halfway through the massage and left the door wide open. We were appalled by this as there were other male patrons at the spa and the room basically faces the open walkway/corridor, not something we envision ourselves being exposed to, especially being half naked.

The spa area is also very small and there is no in room shower facility so after we were done with our scrub, we have to literally walked across the corridor from the shared shower area back to the spa room with a towel wrapped around our body. We even bumped into a male patron on the way which was so embarassing not just for us, for him too! The basic criteria of a spa is to offer its guest comfort and privacy which this spa has failed miserably. As per its name, Royal Angkor resort & SPA, shouldnt more be done on its spa facility, otherwise it defects the purpose of branding it as a resort & spa isnt it?

Breakfast was awful and selections were miserable. We were very put off when the staff at the breakfast cafe swept the floor while we were still having our breakfast - imagine all the dust and dirt that flew into our plates stopped us from continuing with the rest of our meal.

Other than that, we have a great trip. We hired a "bat mobile' tuk tuk and the driver who is a very young and hard working chap took us to Angkor Wat which we enjoyed so much. We did the sunrise to sunset tour and he was already waiting to pick us up at 5am and send us back after sunset at 6pm - all this while with a smile on his face.

The resort is only 10mins away from the airport and short distance from the hip pubs/clubs, such as temple club and some very nice eateries. Angkor wat is about 30mins away and its nice to travel on a tuk tuk for the breeze and scenery. Angkor wat is a must visit we enjoyed every minute exploring the ancient temple!

Room Tip: go for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This is my favourite hotel. I don't think I could write one negative thing about it.
Firstly, staff are the friendliest people I have met and they do everything to ensure you enjoy your stay. I have never encountered such genuinely helpful and happy people.
The hotel is beautifully designed and very well maintained. Rooms are clean and big and the balcony view overlooking the giant pool is gorgeous.
The hotel will organise transport for any activity or sightseeing and it is located about 10 minutes from the old market and pub street.
There's no doubt that on my next visit I'll be staying here.
Thank you for a wonderful time in siem reap!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: Road No.6 Phum Kasekam, Siem Reap 93279, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#38 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the airport transfer to checking into the rooms, be greeted with smiles all around from one of the top resorts and spa in Cambodia, The Royal Angkor Resort & Spa. A dream come true for the avid traveler, our resort is located perfectly for one to explore the Khmer Culture and tradition in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Royal Angkor Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.