We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sivatha Blv, Mondul II | Svay Dangkom, Old French Quarter, Siem Reap 93136, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights and the experience was generally very good. The hotel is in a very convenient location, only a USD1 Tuk Tuk ride to the Pub Street and Night Market. The hotel lobby is well appointed. The room is larget and well equipped although the room furnishings are a bit dated (although the hotel said the rooms were reburbished in 2008). The AC was loud but did not bother us after a few minutes of getting used to. Shower pressure was a bit on the weak side, if that's important to you, this hotel may not be a good choice. The water temperature was not consistent on our first night and got better after we switched to another smaller room. The service of the manager was prompt and the staff in the hotel were courteous and friendly. Although you can feel they have not be very well trained, but they got the job done. Breakfast buffet offer many varieties from Asian to Western food, it was okay. For a four-start hotel at this room rate, I think it was a very good value. The true diaappointment is the wi-fi service. I thought it's free for all hotel guests but only during check-in when I found that it's not free for rooms booked through certain travel agencies, mine being one. So we were not connected to the world for three days, which is inconvenient but not a big deal since we were so busy visiting the temples and the night markets. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear RiuPalaceCancun

Greetings from Prince D´Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback, all the opinions of our guests are very important because it help us to improve our services.

Prince D´Angkor Hotel & Spa team is glad to know that you spent such a great time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kindly regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    379
    97
    25
    14
See reviews for
167
289
64
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We travelled overland from Bangkok to Siem Reap and managed to avoid all of the scams because we were prepared for them. It was heavenly to arrive at such a wonderful hotel. The room was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly. Prior to our arrival we received an email from the hotel and they replied very promptly to my questions.
Breakfast was wonderful and again the staff excelled in their helpfulness.
I love the music in the lobby, which creates a lovely atmosphere. The computers in the lobby were also very useful for keeping in touch with our son back in Bangkok.
The hotel is in a very convenient position for exploring Siem Reap.
We returned to Bangkok overland and the hotel helped us to book seats on a coach. The journey back was ok and again we avoided scams.
I also received an email from the hotel after our stay, which was good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Gordon B

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Its nice to know you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We take this opportunity to be thankful for choosing us, we hope to see you again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked the room in Prince D'Angkor via a Groupon deal it offered. The hotel staffs provided good service. We were invited to be seated upon arrival while the staff asked for our passports to process the room check-in, and a glass of welcome drink was served. The staff returned shortly with the keys and discount coupons and we were checked in at 9am!

The room was clean and neat with bathroom amenities and complimentary coffee/tea. Their satellite TV has many channels across different languages which was good enough. The bed was comfortable too. It has a very nice swimming pool area.

The breakfast choices were a lot but were the same everyday but we were okay with it. Their service was very prompt and the staffs are very polite.

There is a guest relation counter at the lobby where you can check out all the tours around and they are helpful in assisting you in getting a tuk-tuk, booking a tour/restaurant etc.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. There are super marts and convenient stores located just across the road, but they close by 10pm. There are also some eateries nearby. Additionally, it is walking distance to the pub street and a tuk-tuk ride to the pub street will cost USD1.

The downside of the hotel is that their Wifi is chargeable at USD3 per hour. This is the first hotel that I have been with chargeable Internet connection.

The elevator is not accessible to the first floor. Guests who got the rooms on the first floor will need to take the staircase instead.

The deal I bought was with complimentary massage from their spa center. The receptionist there has a sour face and clearly was not happy with the masseur. The massage was nothing to shout about. I think you can get cheaper and better ones along the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear

Greetings from Prince D´Angkor Hotel & Spa!

We are glad to know that your time in our hotel was great and we will transmit this message to our staff and team

We also want to thank you for all your comments and we regret that you had a inconvenience with our spa service, please accept our apology. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we received are taken seriously

Regarding the internet and because of all the request from our guests we already have internet free in all the hotel.

We welcome you to visit us in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went here as a group of 6 (3 couples) and booked it as a scoopon deal. We were a bit apprehensive as to what we would find and were delighted. Lovely rooms, great pool area and the friendliest staff. Breakfast was super. Asian and Western choice. The lobby area is beautiful and they have music in the lobby bar in the evenings. The hotel organised 2 trips for us and the vehicle, driver and guide were top class. You could walk to all the downtown action without being in the middle of noise. Would be very child friendly too. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms with balcony are lovely. Worth the $20 per night upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear AussieAMC

Thank you for choosing Prince D´Angkor Hotel & Spa

We are delight to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. This pleases us so much, because we want the excellent services for our guests.

We are looking forward to have your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First experience at a scoopon deal and was lucky to find this resort. A little paradise close to night market, pub street and local life. The staff were all amazing happy people who literally went out of their way to ensure guests had a wonderful experience. Rooms were lovely and very inkeeping with the hotel theme, pool was great and had plenty of lounges and chairs etc. Food was fantastic throughout . Internet was a bit slow and the older section of the resort only had access to rooms via stairs (up to three flights). Friends found the beds a bit hard but we slept like babies :)... Best massage on our entire holiday at the hotel ! Well worth a visit. Management must be doing something right to have such happy people working for them !

Room Tip: Remember there is a section with stairs only which is fine if your fit:) pool view was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Jagdaly

Greetings from Prince D´Angkor Hotel & Spa!

It's with a great pleasure that we read your comment, the hotel team is glad to know that you spent such a great time with us and you enjoyed our services.

The satisfaction of our guests is our great desire hope to see you in the hotel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My partner and I really enjoyed this hotel. It was nothing fancy but very comfortable and very clean. For us, we had a very good special deal from Australia. So we were very surprised how good the hotel was for what we paid. A good location and the staff were very efficient and helpful. The rooms and the balcony were a very good size and the free wi-fi was great. The pool was lovely. I don't have anything negative to say. Although, personally I prefer smaller hotels (as it was very busy with guests) but enjoyed this anyway. The spa was great and they had a discount rate during the day so we took advantage of that and had some wonderful massages and treatments...it was great!

Room Tip: I would pay the little bit extra for a balcony as it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Sandgroper22,

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for a very warm words from you, and we're glad you enjoyed your time during your stay. This pleases us so much, because we want the excellent services for our guests.

We hope we'll see you again in your future trip.

Best Regards to you and your partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Me and my partner spend around 6 weeks of the year in Siem Reap and this was out 5th time visiting. We like to sample different hotels and boutiques around the centre each time we visit.

We are not budget travelers as we conduct business from Siem Reap and therefore having a comfortable hotel with decent facilities is a must. Typically we will pay between $60-100 per night for a hotel here. We booked this hotel for 5 nights because of a 50% discount in the off-season from the usual $120.

Firstly, this hotel looks impressive from the outside even if it is one of several dozen similar hotels all situated along nearby Road 6. It is just next to the lucky mall shopping centre and the convenience of the Angkor supermarket which both have a good selection of Khmer and Western food. The main Western dining area is Pub Street which is a 10 minute walk away. The inside decor is slightly aged but in keeping with the Cambodian style and therefore of 4-star standard.

However there are several major issues with this hotel that cannot be overlooked.

1. There are many rooms in the hotel that do not receive a Wi-Fi signal. Our Wi-Fi worked for the first 2 days and then cut-out unexpectedly. Five phone calls over the course of the day to reception resulted in no call-back or help. Eventually we had to ask to move room where we managed a 2-bar signal. Prior to this their suggestion was that we sat in the lobby/reception to conduct business!

2. The hot water showers in both rooms we sampled left a lot to be desired. In the first room the shower pulsed between 10 seconds of scalding hot water and 20 seconds of frigid cold water - no amount of tap adjustment or running of water would solve the problem.
In the second room further along the corridor, the shower did not even achieve temperature above ambient room temperature while pulsing strong and weak. This is not a problem in the 7 other hotels we have sampled in Siem Reap.

3. The air con is old and noisy. If you are a light sleeper you will require ear plugs (I had mine fortunately). This would not be an issue except that the air con blows out stale/musty air and both me and my partner had throat infections by the 3rd night. I would not be surprised if this is due to a lack of maintenance and could eventually lead to more serious health implications (google air con illness).

4. The reception staff are cold and rude. On our 5 night stay we were not greeted once by these staff. We were not offered drinks or cold towels on arrival and the staff seemed more concerned by the daily bus loads of day-trippers (tours) arriving at the hotel. This is in STARK STRAK contrast to every other hotel we have stayed at in Cambodia (where friendliness seems to be infectious).

5. The breakfast choice - while apparently good (according to reviews) is the same every single day. You will quickly tire of it and find yourself eating elsewhere. The dining room staff are friendly and helpful however!

There are also several smaller negative factors such as; The toilets do not flush properly and you will have to hold down the flusher for 15-20 seconds in order to flush. The two rooms we tried had only 3 plug sockets per room meaning you will have to ration your charging of laptops, cameras, phones, ipods etc or bring an adapter.


All in all we were very disappointed in our stay and the quality of the hotel staff and facilities generally.

I would strongly recommend that if you are here for more than a day-trip that you invest a little extra time to find one of the many many hotels and boutiques that offer highly personalised friendly experiences in luxury for the same prices rather than have your experience of Cambodia stained.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Belmakor,

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for your stay. We regret this kind of inconvenience happens to you and your partner. The goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each, please accept our apology. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we received are taken seriously. Your willingness to share your recent experiences is genuinely appreciated.

Rest assured that this issue will be brought up to concerns, and that appropriate actions has been taken. We take pride in our hotel and do our best to prevent problems from recurring.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There's no excuse for anything less than complete guests satisfaction.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa

Address: Sivatha Blv, Mondul II | Svay Dangkom, Old French Quarter, Siem Reap 93136, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#80 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of "Cambodia's Leading Hotel" in 2011/2012 on the World Travel Awards.Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa is a sanctuary for tourists and corporate guests alike who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. So whether you are here for business or pleasure, the Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa offers a luxurious haven, elegantly furnished to provide you with a comfortable stay and all the facilities and traditional Cambodian hospitality you would expect. Experience ultimate luxury and bask in the splendor of elegance at the Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, the perfect base from which to explore the legendary Angkor temples and undiscovered treasures of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince d`Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Hotel Prince d Angkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.