We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Better Hotels in Siem Reap for a Same Price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sivatha Blv, Mondul II | Svay Dangkom, Old French Quarter, Siem Reap 93136, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Many Better Hotels in Siem Reap for a Same Price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Me and my partner spend around 6 weeks of the year in Siem Reap and this was out 5th time visiting. We like to sample different hotels and boutiques around the centre each time we visit.

We are not budget travelers as we conduct business from Siem Reap and therefore having a comfortable hotel with decent facilities is a must. Typically we will pay between $60-100 per night for a hotel here. We booked this hotel for 5 nights because of a 50% discount in the off-season from the usual $120.

Firstly, this hotel looks impressive from the outside even if it is one of several dozen similar hotels all situated along nearby Road 6. It is just next to the lucky mall shopping centre and the convenience of the Angkor supermarket which both have a good selection of Khmer and Western food. The main Western dining area is Pub Street which is a 10 minute walk away. The inside decor is slightly aged but in keeping with the Cambodian style and therefore of 4-star standard.

However there are several major issues with this hotel that cannot be overlooked.

1. There are many rooms in the hotel that do not receive a Wi-Fi signal. Our Wi-Fi worked for the first 2 days and then cut-out unexpectedly. Five phone calls over the course of the day to reception resulted in no call-back or help. Eventually we had to ask to move room where we managed a 2-bar signal. Prior to this their suggestion was that we sat in the lobby/reception to conduct business!

2. The hot water showers in both rooms we sampled left a lot to be desired. In the first room the shower pulsed between 10 seconds of scalding hot water and 20 seconds of frigid cold water - no amount of tap adjustment or running of water would solve the problem.
In the second room further along the corridor, the shower did not even achieve temperature above ambient room temperature while pulsing strong and weak. This is not a problem in the 7 other hotels we have sampled in Siem Reap.

3. The air con is old and noisy. If you are a light sleeper you will require ear plugs (I had mine fortunately). This would not be an issue except that the air con blows out stale/musty air and both me and my partner had throat infections by the 3rd night. I would not be surprised if this is due to a lack of maintenance and could eventually lead to more serious health implications (google air con illness).

4. The reception staff are cold and rude. On our 5 night stay we were not greeted once by these staff. We were not offered drinks or cold towels on arrival and the staff seemed more concerned by the daily bus loads of day-trippers (tours) arriving at the hotel. This is in STARK STRAK contrast to every other hotel we have stayed at in Cambodia (where friendliness seems to be infectious).

5. The breakfast choice - while apparently good (according to reviews) is the same every single day. You will quickly tire of it and find yourself eating elsewhere. The dining room staff are friendly and helpful however!

There are also several smaller negative factors such as; The toilets do not flush properly and you will have to hold down the flusher for 15-20 seconds in order to flush. The two rooms we tried had only 3 plug sockets per room meaning you will have to ration your charging of laptops, cameras, phones, ipods etc or bring an adapter.


All in all we were very disappointed in our stay and the quality of the hotel staff and facilities generally.

I would strongly recommend that if you are here for more than a day-trip that you invest a little extra time to find one of the many many hotels and boutiques that offer highly personalised friendly experiences in luxury for the same prices rather than have your experience of Cambodia stained.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Belmakor,

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for your stay. We regret this kind of inconvenience happens to you and your partner. The goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each, please accept our apology. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we received are taken seriously. Your willingness to share your recent experiences is genuinely appreciated.

Rest assured that this issue will be brought up to concerns, and that appropriate actions has been taken. We take pride in our hotel and do our best to prevent problems from recurring.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There's no excuse for anything less than complete guests satisfaction.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    379
    97
    25
    14
See reviews for
167
288
64
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great staff - all very friendly, well trained and great service with a smail and a presonal touch. Have just spent 6 nights and cannot fault anything. Travelled with my 70 yo mum , a teenager and 7 year old and had two rooms, both overlooking the pool. Rooms were v spacious, well appointed and clean- matresses were a little hard would be the only minor criticism. All rooms airconditioned with bar fridge and TV/DVD. Location is great - set back from the road, quiet but v central and an easy walk to Pub St with a western style supermarket and ATM across the road. The Tuk Tuk Drivers based at the hotel were fantastic ( and even accompanied us on a very wet walk up to KbalSpean, which went beyond the call of duty).
Restaurant food was good and well priced - the singer/pianist in the bar rounded off our days beautifully. The pool , Spa Suites and Health club also excellent .We would not even consider staying anywhere else - the staff here were so friendly I had tears in my eyes saying goodbye!

Room Tip: Request a deluxe room overlooking the pool with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Liz W,

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

We thank you for a great day you spent with us. It is a pleasure having you in our hotel, we are glad and it is our honor to serve you. We hope to see you again in one of your future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Prince D'Angkor makes a great base from which to tour the Angkor Archeological Park as well as the town of Siem Reap, being centrally located along Sivatha Blvd., the town's main street. It is within easy walking distance of the markets and other attractions of Pub Street while being far enough away to get away from the noise and bustle of the vibrant night life. The additional convenience of having a newly opened, modern, airconditioned mall with a fairly well stocked supermarket just across the street makes the hotel's location all the more attractive. The rooms are spacious and thoroughly cleaned every day. The swimming pool and the surrounding courtyard are beautifully landscaped and give the weary a great relaxing way to end a hot, tiring day of exploring the temple ruins. The breakfast buffet was worth going downstairs for - not an over abundance of choice, but you're sure to find something you'll like. Their croissants were among the best I've ever had- just give them one final pass through the salamander to get them toasty warm and crisp on the outside while being flaky and buttery soft on the inside. Their reservations office is very helpful and responsive to customer inquiries and requests. ( Thank you Mr. Pagna Bon. ) Make sure to ask for a room on the higher floors overlooking the pool - the view is beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask ror a room on the third or fourth floors overlooking the pool, you'll love the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear JAASM,

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

We are glad to know you've had a great day of stay and a wonderful relax in our Pool Side. We thank you for choosing our hotel and we proud ourselves serving you. We hope to see you again in your future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrigan NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great Hotel, from the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted with a cold face washer & lovely cold drink ,nothing was too much trouble, the porter showed us to our room, & explained everything within the room to us, they are very clean & spacious rooms, excellent pool,with a great pool bar, with great snacks & nice drinks & great friendly service, the breakfast was fantastic, with plenty of choices, & the staff servicing this section are outstanding. We were picked up from the airport as part of our booking & the driver became our guide & driver for our 8 days we stayed. He was very polite & spoke reasonable english, nothing was too much trouble for him.The Prince D'Angkor hotel is ideally situated in the heart of town, but was not noisy. Very close to all amenities, & we could walk every where from the hotel, except the tuk tuk drivers wanted to drive you every where.

Room Tip: Request a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear edoBerriganNSW,

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!


Its nice to know you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We take this opportunity to be thankful for choosing us, we hope to see you again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

A well balanced and all rounded hotel with spa facilities. Food, service, amenities, ambience and location get a thumbs up for anyone's first trip to Siem Reap!! Enjoyed my stay and hope they keep up the standard and good work!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear PH H


Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

We proud ourselves for the wonderful days serving you! Thank you for choosing us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Prince D'Angkor in August 2012 for 2 nights and we had 2 busy days! We booked a Superior room and were upgraded to a deluxe pool view room. In hindsight, we should have booked a deluxe room in the first place.
Our room was exceptional with a king size bed, balcony and everything you could ask for.
It was great coming back to the hotel of the afternoon and hitting the pool and having a drink at the pool side bar.
Breakfast was good with a good variety, the hotel was able to pack a breakfast for us on the morning we did sunrise at Angkor Wat (it was some bacon and sausage, but obviously cold by the time we were able to eat it - get something on the road if you can).
Pub Street is a short stroll down the road where there are bars and restaurants lining the street.
My only gripe is that there was a charge for the internet. Complimentary wifi would be a good addition.

Room Tip: The hotel is off the street, so a room at the front of the building wont have road noise, however, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear LukeB_Aus,

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and we will look forward to giving you a better service in your future trip to Siem Reap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 7 days in this 4 star hotel of Siem Reap.
Lights and shadows
Pros:
1. Optimal location, close to everything useful of the town. Five min walking from Pub Street
2. Quite good value for money
Cons:
1. They failed in picking up us at our arrival (the driver arrived too late and wealready took a tuk tuk; a similar experience happened us when we stayed there about three years ao;
2. In the hotel there were works of renovation. This was not told in the hotel website, nor at the time of reservation. Furthermore, the time for these works was planned from 10.00 to 17.00, but they stated most times around 7.00 a.m.!! After asking for clarificaions, response...." We have renovation!!"
3. Slippers in the room were charged by 5 USD, without any information to the guests ( usually, they are complimentary).
Altough we stayed here for two times at a distance of three years, we will not book this hotel in the next times we will come back to Angkor

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_Prince, Public Relations Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Isoladilipari,

Greetings from Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa!

We thank you for choosing again our hotel for the second time. We regret for the inconvenience happened but this is truly noted for us to change and we are looking forward for a better way to serve your expectations.


Thank you very much and we wish you will choose us again in your future trips and vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa

Address: Sivatha Blv, Mondul II | Svay Dangkom, Old French Quarter, Siem Reap 93136, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#80 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of "Cambodia's Leading Hotel" in 2011/2012 on the World Travel Awards.Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa is a sanctuary for tourists and corporate guests alike who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. So whether you are here for business or pleasure, the Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa offers a luxurious haven, elegantly furnished to provide you with a comfortable stay and all the facilities and traditional Cambodian hospitality you would expect. Experience ultimate luxury and bask in the splendor of elegance at the Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, the perfect base from which to explore the legendary Angkor temples and undiscovered treasures of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince d`Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Hotel Prince d Angkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.