We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable hotel but it is not 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sokha Angkor Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sokha Angkor Resort to your Saves list
Sokha Angkor Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good comfortable hotel but it is not 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel provides an excellent base for Angkor Wat and other sightseeing in the Siem Reap area. It is clean and modern but fails to live up to its luxury/5 star marketing. We used the pool, which was nice and not too busy. The spa was excellent and I would highly recommend having a massage there. The staff are extremely helpful when it comes to sorting out drivers and tuk tuks, restaurant bookings and advice for sightseeing. However when it comes to problems in the room they are not very good at all. We opened our minibar fridge on our final day to get some water only to discover the decomposing remnants of a cake in there, presumably left by the previous occupants of our room. I pointed this out first of all to the man at reception who seemed to think that I wanted to eat the cake and then to the front office manager but he did not see the problem at first either. It was only when I pointed out that housekeeping ought to check the fridge and dispose of food left behind that a lightbulb seemed to come on! So while this hotel makes a good base for exploring the area, do not think that you will be staying somewhere luxurious where you will want to spend a lot of time.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    270
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
197
353
63
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. Sokha met our expectations but our expectations weren't high to begin with.

Service: Concierge service was excellent. They helped with all our tuk-tuk/tour bookings and were able to offer good suggestions. Can't say the same for the reception staff though.

Rooms: Huge room, clean sheets & comfortable bed. Strong shower, adequate amenities but the bathtubs need to be changed - there were cracks and stains.

Food: Fairly wide & varied selection for buffet breakfast. Our hotel package came with a free Japanese dinner but we had such a great time at the restaurant that we went back there again.

Spa: We tried their spa twice and both experiences were good. Spa rooms were basic but the fingers more than made up for them.

Location: The streets are not pedestrian friendly and walking the 1 km to Pub Street is definitely not a good idea for those with young children and elderly folks. Suggest to take the tuk tuk.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies & facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our trip to Siem Reap. We had pool view room. I can say it's a real 5 star hotel. Room was big enough. The King Size bed was huge. We had a balcony and it was nice to sit there, watch on the pool in the evening and drink wine. Pool is big enough with enough sun-beds. Hotel's location is also very convenient. It's about 15 minutes by foot to the night market. Breakfasts were also very nice. So, I can say only positive about the hotel and will recommend it to the travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Was in Siem Reap for the Angkor Wat Half Marathon and stayed here because a friend booked it for the group of us and got a pretty good rate.
It's a fairly dated hotel and it's fairly mass market. It was actually full the weekend we were there due to a few events happening in SR, so it was quite crowded with tour groups, convention groups and sport groups. Some of the staff were helpful (others didn't really understand requests) - concierge was especially helpful when i needed to get a box of contact lenses, i gave him money and he got them up to my room within an hour! Everyone was friendly, but that's quite the norm in Cambodia.
I only had breakfast there after the run and it was fairly subpar with nothing much to shout home about.
The rooms were clean and the bed was massive - lumpy pillows didn't help. Bathrooms were sufficient. TV was dated, but wasn't really in town to watch it! Pool was big enough, but the poolside service was lacking - waiter was barely around to take orders.
All in all, glad that we got the good rate, but won't be staying there again for the next trip. There are enough boutique hotels around town to be able to avoid mass market.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We got a really good deal on our stay, and would've been really disappointed if we hadn't. This place needs an update. The rooms are big, but needed an update ten years ago. The beds are hard and the walls are thin. The staff is helpful and nice but i would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Siem Reap has an abundance of 4 star-ish hotels spread along the airport road like pieces on a Monopoly board. Ive stayed in four or five of these (being a repeat visitor to AW for the half marathon) and there isnt a great deal between them. The Sokha is part of a Cambodian chain and is one of the better ones in my own experience. A friend stayed in the Victoria last year (supposed to be a true 5 star) and said the Sokha was equivalent to that in terms of accomodation. You might not wish to support Sokha as theyve blighted the river front in Phnom Phen with their (long incomplete) property there.

I have to think youd get much better value and character at a smaller more boutique place, but booking somewhere sight unseen has its risks and in the wrong location in Siem reap could be noisy.

We booked a car for road transfer to a hotel in Phnom Phen. The driver stopped on the outskirts of Siem Reap to pick up his "father" for a ride with us. Clearly a scam and we said no. After 5 minutes dealy we drove on. He then tried to drop us on the outskirts of Phnom Phen saying he didnt know the roads and insisting we get a Tuk Tuk. We knew Phnom Phen and told him we'd show him the way. After 5 minutes more argument he relented and drove us striaght there...without any directions. The car also broke down along the way and needed fixing. Net net I wouldnt recommend the Sokha's concierge as a way of getting a transfer.

I found the Sokha was cheaper booking direct than via agency web sites.

Room Tip: road side might be a little noisy. sokha is on a busy cross-roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Sokha Angkor Resort exceeded my expectations. We stayed in a pool side room which I would highly recommend. The room was large and clean and the staff was very helpful and pleasant.

The hotel is conveniently located in town with easy access to pub street via 5 minute tuk tuk. The pool is huge, beautiful and perfect for a relaxing soak after a day of Temple trekking.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sokha Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Angkor Resort

Address: National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#30 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokha Angkor Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Angkor offers luxurious resort living in central Siem Reap! Provide instant Temple Passes- Within walking distance to famous Pub Street and Night Market- 15 minutes drive to Airport- 10 minutes drive to Golf Course- 10 minutes drive to Angkor Balloon ( Tethered Balloon )- Located in the heart of Siem Reap- Large salt water swimming pool- Complimentary Unlimited Internet Access- Affiliated with over 500 hotels across the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sokha Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokha Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sokha Angkor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.