We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Empress Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road #6, Opposite Cultural Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“new year 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at empress Angkor from 30dec - 04jan, 2014.
New year party was one of saddest ever, the street fun till 9pm at night market was better!
Not worth the supplement hotel subjected us too!
Hotel is conveniently located between the airport (10- minutes away) and from major attractions.....temples, artisans Angkor etc, the hotel reception staff struggle with English but make up with their service attitude, great service by housekeeping and restaurant staff. The message service is better outside the hotel, breakfast buffet needs serious uplifting, rooms were always clean and airy.
The travel desk is resourceful and helpful, the guide who goes by name of "Rom", as in pc-rom, was amazing with his knowledge, sense of humour, great knowledge about temples and most important when to visit them during the day!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSCHANTHA, Guest Relations Manager at Empress Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Umesh,

Warmest greeting from Empress Angkor Hotel,

First and foremost, I apologies on behalf of Empress Hotel team for what sounds like an incredibly unpleasant experience and made the disappointment to you on New Year Eve arrangement, massage and reception's English language. I can certainly sympathize with your predicament, which is in fact our predicament.

We have informed our general manager and all manager level to be aware this matter and commence from you. In the meantime, please rest assured knowing that we will do our homework and establish what went wrong and why.

We truly do value our guests, particularly those as well-traveled as yourself, and I can assure you personally that, one way or another, we will do all in our power to rectify this situation.

Last but not least, thank you for advising us the feedback and also supporting Empress Angkor Hotel.

Empress Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    87
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
67
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zhuhai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I Went there for a Business gathering in February... Overall nice Hotel Colonial Style very clean and comfortable. Restaurant can probably be improved. Five minutes from Pub Street with a TukTuk. The bar in the Hotel close at 11... Few colleagues were quite disappointed about that...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We recently stayed 10 days at the Empress Angkor hotel for a Nia dance retreat and it was fabulous. The hotel's design is large and impressive with ornate wood throughout and lovely large rooms that are well appointed. They even supply two free water bottles per day to clean your teeth and face with. The pool is a large kidney shape with beautiful dolphin tiling that creates a really warm and inviting outdoor space, the garden surrounding the pool area is really well thought out and maintained. I noticed as some of the other hotels that they're pool areas were just huge rectangles and weren't as picturesque as the Empress Angkors.
The friendly staff really make for a relaxing experience, always smiling with very open hearts that are typical of Cambodians. It really is one of the best places I've ever traveled and I can't wait to go back again with the rest of my family.
Thank you Empress Angkor and to all your beautiful staff, what an experience i'll always treasure. Lainie Anderson, South Golden Beach, Australia

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on level two right opposite the entry, it gets very noisy in the morning with tour g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EComerce M, Manager at Empress Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Lainie Anderson,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and that you found The Empress Angkor Hotel is a “nice hotel in Siem Reap”. I am pleased to hear that the staff was extremely wonderful and that this made your time at our hotel with Excellent experience.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

The Management

Empress Angkor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Beautiful hotel with a very nice pool. The staff is very friendly, service with a capital S! Really big beds in cool rooms. Excellent shuttle service to both city and airport. I had a great time there and would love to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EComerce M, Manager at Empress Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the site for us for which, we are very grateful and I have passed your kind words to all the team. Our team do strive to make every guests stay memorable hence our popularity with couples and families a like.

I hope we will be at the forefront of your mind when planning your next trip to Siem Reap, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

The Management

Empress Angkor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

THis hotel was a big surprise to me. We came to this hotel from a one night stay in a very poor Phnom Penh hotel with no big hope. The hotel was just great. the staff was vey nice . The rooms where cleaqn and comfort. The breakfast was good also to a western that don"t eat all the Asian food. The pool was very good and clean. THe main town and the night market where near and the tok-tok for 4 cost only 1 $ per person. ( The market prices are very good with silk scarf for 5 $, and Hambty Cromby costumesand looklike for ridiculous prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EComerce M, Manager at Empress Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Yaariran,

I was so glad to read your kind words following your recent stay with us, and I am delighted that you found the hotel to be the perfect blend of convenience, and excellent service, and wonderful to hear all nice words mentions.
I am so pleased that your experience was fantastic from beginning to end and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

The Management,

Empress Angkor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My family and I stayed for a week at the hotel. It was a good base for us to explore Siem Reap. The hotel is a 5-10 minute tuktuk ride away from the busy Pub Street. Tuk tuk's are waiting outside the hotel, $3 trip into town.
The hotel staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel staff helped arrange our trip to Angkor Wat Temple which included our own tour guide.
We were unaware that the hotel has construction work currently going on, this starts from 7am in the morning until 11am and then restarts around 1-2pm until 5pm. It was noisy when sitting around the pool and you could hear the noise in one of our rooms. The hotel was very accomadating and offered to arrange transport to another hotel to use their pool and moved us to different rooms.
The food at breakfast was ok but very busy with the coach tours of rude Koreans and Japanese.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and would return to the hotel once the construction work has finished.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSCHANTHA, Manager at Empress Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Tina D,

First, we would like to express our sincere apologize for an annoyed of construction as it a little bit of rushing time to complete before the confirmed event. By the way, it great to hear your overall review about your pleasant stayed and satisfied with our friendly staffs and services.

Do hope it would be a benefit for next customer who wish to plan their trip to Siem Reap, Cambodia and looking for a pleasant accommodation at Empress Angkor Hotel.

On behalf of the management, we wish to welcome you and family again for future trip to Siem Reap. Have a nice day !

Best regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wetayed in the hiotel from January 21 to 24, 2014.in Room # 429. The place is well designed and developed. The facilities are very good. The staff is kind, helpful and committed to povide clients the best ever service possible. My wife left her coat in the lobby and went to airport with to catch the flight to Singapore. Realised 30 mts before boarding she left the coat in the hotel. I frantically contacted hote and thanks to the help of airport authorities and the efforts of hotel we got the coat just before boarding the flight. What a great desrvice. Every one who helped deserve our gratitude and thanks more so the hotel staff and managment.I also sent a mail to them about our Siem Reap tour guide of Can BY in HOtel. Hope I will get it back.
The Food was good, courstey of staff really commendable and we fail to find words to thank them We are indebted to them for the excellant service.
R.Gopalkrishnan,100, Middlesex Blvd,#250, Plainsboro, NJ. 08536, USA

Room Tip: Hotel staff very reasonable. Make your needs, they will comply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham C, Manager at Empress Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Mr.Karamana,

We truly appreciated with your sharing experience to other customers thru Tripadvisor about the hotel service courtesy and honor of stay. Wish this review could be a great value to drive next traveller decision to choose their accommodation with us.

Last but not least, we wish to be your service again for your future of traveling. Thank you

Best regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Empress Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road #6, Opposite Cultural Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Empress Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a trip, anniversary or romantic holiday? Our Hotel offers you a chance to take a step back in time, where life moves at a much slower pace and the atmosphere is one of calm and peace. Relax and enjoy a getaway with each other in Siem Reap, the ancient City of Cambodia and the Angkor Wat Temples the most subdued and magical CityEmpress Angkor Hotel is a luxurious hotel offering 208 lavishly furnished rooms and wide range of facilities such as in-house spa, gym, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi etc.Furthermore, each room is elegantly appointed rooms and suites are complemented by the finest personalities to make this one of Empress Angkor Hotel'best accommodation experiences. Air-Conditioning, bathropes, slippers and full list of in-room features one comes to expect of a true convenient hotel. Our premium floor offer stunning view across the city and tropical landscape view.The in-house restaurants serve a wide selection of Khmer and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Empress Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Empress Angkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.