We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple
Angkor Thom, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Visit Bayon Temple like an insider
Private Tour
$80*
and up
Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day...
Ranked #2 of 196 things to do in Siem Reap
Attraction details
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The details are amazing. I really enjoyed seeing that temple. Just don't forget to bring a lot of water , even in the shadow it's stille hot !!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,415
    1,088
    100
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“How can you not be amazed?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Bayon Temple was our introduction to the Temples around Siem Reap and we where not disappointed. We entered the Bayon Temple complex through the south gate on the back of an Asian elephant, what a way to start, and never looked back. Traveled with my wife and two young children, all of whom really enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Our favourite temple in the Angkor complex!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Whilst nothing can beat the view of Angkor Wat at sunrise, this was our favourite temple visit during our Siem Reap stay. The stone faces in the Bayon are absolutely fascinating and it's fun to get lost in this temple! You should definitely go there first thing in the morning as it does get very, very busy and as it's quite small, it can feel a little cramped and claustrophobic. We went back for a second visit as we enjoyed it so much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The faces are everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you enjoy the temples of Angkor, you will also like this site with its many faces of Buddha...or perhaps the king?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“make sure you visit there at early morning or at the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

lot of tourists. i have visited there 3 times in the past 5 years. now, it is flooded with tourists which you really can't find a good spot for pictures. i enjoyed this place when it is peaceful (5 years ago it was. or make sure you visit there at early morning or at the evening)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayon Temple also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Bayon Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayon Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.