We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple
Angkor Thom, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$70*
and up
Full Day Angkor Wat Tour by Car
Ranked #2 of 167 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The details are amazing. I really enjoyed seeing that temple. Just don't forget to bring a lot of water , even in the shadow it's stille hot !!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessidooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“How can you not be amazed?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Bayon Temple was our introduction to the Temples around Siem Reap and we where not disappointed. We entered the Bayon Temple complex through the south gate on the back of an Asian elephant, what a way to start, and never looked back. Traveled with my wife and two young children, all of whom really enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IainDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Our favourite temple in the Angkor complex!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Whilst nothing can beat the view of Angkor Wat at sunrise, this was our favourite temple visit during our Siem Reap stay. The stone faces in the Bayon are absolutely fascinating and it's fun to get lost in this temple! You should definitely go there first thing in the morning as it does get very, very busy and as it's quite small, it can feel a little cramped and claustrophobic. We went back for a second visit as we enjoyed it so much.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nipon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The faces are everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you enjoy the temples of Angkor, you will also like this site with its many faces of Buddha...or perhaps the king?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank swrtzmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“make sure you visit there at early morning or at the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

lot of tourists. i have visited there 3 times in the past 5 years. now, it is flooded with tourists which you really can't find a good spot for pictures. i enjoyed this place when it is peaceful (5 years ago it was. or make sure you visit there at early morning or at the evening)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayon Temple also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Bayon Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing