We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite temple in the Angkor complex!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayon Temple

Bayon Temple
Angkor Thom, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 97 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Our favourite temple in the Angkor complex!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Whilst nothing can beat the view of Angkor Wat at sunrise, this was our favourite temple visit during our Siem Reap stay. The stone faces in the Bayon are absolutely fascinating and it's fun to get lost in this temple! You should definitely go there first thing in the morning as it does get very, very busy and as it's quite small, it can feel a little cramped and claustrophobic. We went back for a second visit as we enjoyed it so much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,840
    758
    68
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The faces are everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you enjoy the temples of Angkor, you will also like this site with its many faces of Buddha...or perhaps the king?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“make sure you visit there at early morning or at the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

lot of tourists. i have visited there 3 times in the past 5 years. now, it is flooded with tourists which you really can't find a good spot for pictures. i enjoyed this place when it is peaceful (5 years ago it was. or make sure you visit there at early morning or at the evening)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Mona Lisa of SE Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Bayon is known for its huge stone faces, with one facing outward and keeping watch at each compass point. The curious smiling image, thought by many to be a portrait of Jayavarman himself, has been dubbed by some the "Mona Lisa of Southeast Asia." There are 51 smaller towers surrounding Bayon, each with four faces of its own. Bayon Temple boasts an extraordinary collection of bas-relief scenes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Bayon was our favourite temple. We first assumed that the faces there were that of Buddha or Brahma. But we later got to know it was the face of the king in the form of buddha, the different faces symbolised him watching over the kingdom. The chaotic art definitely catches the eye and weaves a spell of magic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayon Temple also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Bayon Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayon Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.