We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family hotel with gorgeous pool in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bopha Angkor Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bopha Angkor Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Bopha Angkor Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   0512, Street Acharsvar, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect family hotel with gorgeous pool in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We loved Bopha! As a family of five this place ticked everyone's boxes. The location on the river is lovely. It's a few minutes easy walk to everything and just far enough away to be a peaceful haven from the busy Pub Street and surrounds.
We had two adjoining rooms that were great, if a little small. The gardens and the pool are really beautiful and a welcome reprieve after some hot days at the temples and elsewhere. The staff are polite and helpful. They can help with all sorts of arrangements. This place is perfect for all types of travelers seeking a quiet, cool retreat with a pool

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    168
    23
    15
    10
See reviews for
59
161
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is one little amazing place. When seeking somewhere to stay, I nearly always turn to trip advisor and after reading the reviews, Bopha Angkor Hotel really did live up to the expectations that were set from reading previous posts.

It is in the ideal location but it is not chaotic, you are literally moments away from the markets, from Pub Street and the FCC yet when you step inside the hotel all of the craziness of Siem Reap is gone!

The staff were amazing, always trying to assist you and honestly remembered you and your room number everytime you left and returned, they were always so pleasant to greet and to assist you in ensuring you had a lovely stay.

The only downside to our stay was the breakfast, you had a few options but for five days straight was not too great, but if that’s all I have to bring to their attention then hopefully the information within this does not deter you from staying.

If you are in Siem Reap, for the price and the location, you really would not be disappointed if you chose to stay here. It is an amazing little place.

Room Tip: If you like your sleep and want to stay away from the noisy areas, just ask when you go to book and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Resort is in a good location, just beside the river and a five minute walk to Pub Street, Night Market and all the restaurants. We were greeted by a lovely lady on reception upon arrival, very friendly and chatty - asking us about our journey, our travels so far, the staff were very laid back and friendly. Despite it being an upmarket resort, there was a nice laid back, relaxed atmosphere.

We were shown to our room and the lady waited to check we were happy with it and offered to show us another room if we were not. Room was lovely, air con, large tv with plenty movie & English Channels, comfy bed, mini bar and bathroom.

The room was cleaned promptly everday and we were always provided with two free bottles of drinking water and tea/coffee replenished.

The Restaurant food was beautiful, we only ate here twice in the evenings, but the food quality was stunning and even though slightly more pricey than in town, I would argue worth it. The staff are always very friendly and attend to your every need.

We also had breakfast included in our room rate and although it was always tasty, we felt there wasn't really enough variety. You could have Western, Asian, Khmer or Healthy breakfast... and if you are of the fussy variety or have fussy children.. the Western Breakfast option is always eggs. Perhaps a little more choice, pancakes, or just simply toast would be good. We missed breakfast on a few occasions and ate in town.

The pool area is lovely with lots of lounge seats and you are provided with bathing towels and offered drinks by the staff at the bar which was really nice.

The staff were great at organising trips and onward travel arrangements for us, including our Temple Visits and travel to Phnom Penh, they do take a 3% commission on top of anything booked through them though.

A couple of criticisms about the room/hotel - we had a powercut every night, sometimes three times a night, it wasn't a big deal, not sure if it is something that could be helped given the bad weather, but wasn't the best when you were having a shower or trying to use the internet.

Speaking of the internet, the signal was pretty poor at times and did cut out a lot. The shower likewise did tend to be cold most of the time, it does run on a solar panel system so it wasn't hot at all times throughout the day, we found it was normally only hot in the mornings.

The mini bar prices would be the last criticism, four times the cost of the items in the local shop seemed extortinate, even double the price we could have accepted, but four times the price was excessive. We never drank from the mini bar and purchased a six pack of cokes from the shops for the same price as one can from the mini bar.

All in all the hotel was lovely and the staff great. The location is perfect, close enough to pub street without being amongst the chaos. The hotel grounds are also beautiful and very well maintained. Despite the criticisms I would still stay here again, good value for money & very reasonable priced.

Room Tip: Garden or Pool Rooms near the back and away from the main road are nicer :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Family of 5 stayed for 4 nights in 3 ‘superior standard’ rooms. Pre-paid from the UK via the website on a special ‘low season’ offer.

This is a lovely hotel. It’s not a modern concrete block (which many of the newer hotels in Siem Reap appear to be) but a tastefully done slightly rambling set of interconnected areas. We were staying in the main area around the central restaurant. Very decent rooms with safe, aircon, fan and plenty of power outlets. Decent bathroom (shower gel and shampoo provided in dispensers) with plenty of hot water.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained. The pool area is equally pleasant. The pool is a good size and there is a free fish foot ‘massage’ – this will cost you $2 per person in town.

The included breakfast offered a choice of Western, Khymer, Asian and Healthy. As a family we tried all except the Healthy and particularly recommend the Khymer which is fried rice. All come with juice, coffee and a fruit plate. How anyone can say this is inadequate (especially the Khymer) is quite beyond me.

We ate one night in the restaurant. Its expensive compared to other places in town but it’s a nice atmosphere and the food is good.

The location is excellent. It’s a short walk into town but, when you are in the hotel you enter an oasis of tranquillity. Staff all excellent. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

I’ve included below some general tips for making the most of your visit to Siem Reap.

1. You need to be fit. Visiting the temples is hard work and involves a lot of walking and climbing (in hot and humid conditions) if you are to make the most of it. Comfortable shoes essential. We did two full days of temples and tours and had a day by the pool on the 3rd day. Another day of temples would have been too much;

2. We booked an individual guide (Cambodian Trails – they were excellent. I will write them up if they are on TA) complete with our own vehicle (with aircon – which was very welcome after each temple visit). This cost us $168 for two days (including a supplement for dawn over Angkor Wat) and was money very well spent. Not only did we get a very knowledgeable individual guide, it also meant that he took us in the opposite direction to all the tour busses and thus we missed the tour group masses in the temples. In some of the temples we were almost by ourselves;

3. Do not agree to anything suggested by your taxi driver as he drives you to town. Ours treated the journey (going about 5 mph to give himself more time) as a long sales opportunity. We stupidly gave in and had a $15 trip around town to the museum (worth visiting but is only a $2 tuktuk ride) and ‘the killing fields’ (a temple with a load of skulls and bones in a glass case). Having travelled the world we should have known better. Also, everything he told us was, broadly, rubbish as we discovered when we have our proper professional guide (see above);

4. Whilst ‘pub street’ is a fun place you will get much better value if you stray off the beaten track. I’ve written up the best places we eat at;

5. Don’t bother getting local currently. Everything is in US$.

6. Finally for the best value in Siem Reap try Meng’s BBQ Restaurant (it’s ‘local’ and not on this site). This is a ‘local type’ Cambodian BBQ restaurant which represents outstanding value at $5 per person. An excellent spread of sea food, meat and veg to BBQ and a comprehensive buffet of other food is provided. Turn right out of the hotel and then right again at Samdech Tep Vong (the road over the bridge) and it’s (I think) the first restaurant down there on the right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you are looking for an alternative to the impersonal resorts that have sprung up around Angkor Wat over the past few years, Bopha Angkor is the place for you. The rooms are reasonably priced ($50 for standard double room--see their website for further prices and package deals) and comfortable. Air con, fan, hot water shower (with great western-style water pressure), stocked mini-fridge, and TV w/40+ channels (+/- 10 in English) are standard. There is also a complimentary breakfast (eggs, chicken sausage, fresh fruit plate, bread with honey, juice and coffe) included in the price of your room. I have stayed here twice, first in Sep 2008 and again in Jun 2012. The first time I booked a deluxe room, the second a standard room. The standard rooms are smallish, but not uncomfortable. If I had it to do over again, I would have paid ther extra $10 a night and booked a delux. Decor is standard Khmer, ornate carvings, bamboo mats on the ceilings, raw silk bedding. Everything is clean, though a couple of places both interior and exterior could have used a fresh coat of paint. Within the exterior walls of the hotel, they have arranged tons of plants and water features. Instead of feeling stuffy or overwrought, it has a definite exotic and tropical vibe. The pool is beautiful, and there is plenty of seating in several different areas to accommodate large parties or small cliques. Last thing I'll say is that the staff is bend-over-backwards helpful. All are proficient in English and are literally at your beck and call. Five star service in the restaurant (pull your chair, place your napkin, pour your beer, etc.), at the front desk (can and will arrange anything you need), and cleaning staff (always courteous, always did a great job, no worry of theft on my part.). I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to SR. Spend your money on a local business who does an amazing job before wasting your time at another generic Sofitel or Raffles. To recap: comfortable rooms, acceptable prices, delicious food, amazing service, and geographically well-positioned within SR Town.

Room Tip: Go deluxe! Ask for a room toward the back of the property if you can, the front rooms border the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I was here in low season. I went around and looked at different hotels and asked to see the rooms. This hotel was very nice and the staff very patient as I looked at different rooms. I also got a good deal for staying 7 nites here. I truly enjoyed the Khmer style here and the garden areas of the hotel are wonderful - you feel you are in a little estate. The pool is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the grounds. The bathrooms in this hotel are very large and very modern - all had steaming hot water and great water pressure- which is not so easy to find in Cambodia.

You have your choice of 4 different breakfasts - Asian, Khmer, Fitness and Western.

The hotel provides a good locale to explore the rest of Siem Reap - I found this hotel to be quieter at night - less honking of horns and barking dogs - I slept soundly and was never disturbed by any noise! Also a big plus!!!
This hotel would not be in my budget during the high season. The one thing I did not like is ther eis no phone in your room - so if you had a problem you had to walk to the front desk for any question you may have.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet but central part of Siem Reap. Stylish but authentic with it, the atmosphere is gentle and calm, and it's a great base from which to explore Angkor Wat (the hotel arranged a very good guide and tuk tuk for us). Pool area is lovely. Food is good though dinner can be expensive relative to options in the town centre. Rooms are well designed and have a good atmosphere with everything you need (including mosquito net). This is a lovely place to relax with a drink in the evening. Staff are extremely attentive. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bopha Angkor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bopha Angkor Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 0512, Street Acharsvar, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bopha Angkor Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bopha Angkor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bopha Angkor Hotel And Restaurant
Bopha Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bopha Angkor Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.