We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Rd. 6 (Airport Road) | Salakanseng, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 219 hotels in Siem Reap
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A real gem of a hotel. Regular travellers will know that it is becoming more unusual to discover something exceptional, such as the service at the Khemara Angkor.

The hotel is in a very good position, under 15 minutes from the airport and a 2 dollar (max 3) tuk tuk ride from downtown. The hotel is modern, spacious, clean with good facilities and decent food but what sets this apart from similar standard 4* hotels is the service. Firstly, the staff from cleaners and doormen to the Gen Manager, were all in it together, working to exactly the same customer service goals. The waiters, particularly the very personable Messrs Sophal and Sambo, in the restaurant (breakfast) were quite brilliant, very friendly, attentive and remembered exactly what we had the day before and what we might like that morning. Their whole demeanour and general pleasantness gave my family and I a great start to each morning.

It is also worth pointing out that the hotel arranged all aspects of our three–day sight seeing adventure at a third of the prices quoted before we arrived and took us at no charge to the airport in a hotel mini bus for our departure flight. And, to cap it all the General Manager came along for the ride to see us off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khemaraangkor, Front Office Manager at Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Martin,

Greetings from Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for staying with us and spending your value time to reviewing us here.
All your positive feedback has been passed to all the staff here and they're very happy.
We're wishing to be your services very soon.

Warm regards,
Bunchhy Aing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    61
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
40
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was the third hotel on a round the World trip. We stayed there for 4 nights. We had no expectations, never having been to Cambodia before. The Hotel was a First Class Hotel, with full services. The breakfast was included and was the equal best of anywhere we have ever stayed, with a cook on hand to do whatever wasn't already supplied.
The room we had was spacious and had two queen sized beds and a very large ensuite.
The Reception was manned 24 x 7 and did anything that we asked of them.
WiFi was provided. In the room occasionally it was flakey, but someone attended to it as soon as we mentioned it.
I could go on with examples, but it would just get boring, so I'll say, that to anyone thinking of staying in Siem Reap visiting the Angkor Temples, do what we will do in the future give this place a try, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khemaraangkor, Front Office Manager at Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear AussiePomKeith,

Greetings from Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for staying with us and spending your value time to reviewing us here.
We're very happy with your satisfactions and wish to serve you here soon.

Warm regards,
Bunchhy Aing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 days and enjoyed every minute: room was very nice (clean and well decorated), nice food, free Wi-Fi, very friendly and helpful staff. It is so nice to come to such a beautiful place after been all day out around temples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khemaraangkor, Front Office Manager at Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Natalia,

Greetings from Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for spending your value time to review us here. We're pleasing with your positive feedback and hope to serve you here soon again.

Warm regards,
Bunchhy Aing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights and we really enjoyed the time there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us to organize trips to the tempels. The roops were very clean and nice. The big breakfast buffet was very nice.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Corina,

Greetings from Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for staying with us and hope you're doing well.
We're very excited to hear that you're really enjoy staying with us.
We will keep up standard services and waiting to serve you here again soon.

All the best to you and your family.

Warm regards,
Bunchhy Aing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodhpur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

location : right on the main road from poipet, and not very far from the seam riep airport. 10-15 mins drive to the ticket counter selling angkor archaeological park passes.

rooms and bathrooms: well furnished and well lit. spacious beds. big enough bathrooms, but minimal accessories (read no moisturizer/conditioner)- a soap and shampoo dispenser is all.

amenities : spa (house guests get a discount), pool (wading, not burning calories, not too crowded), restaurant (good quality food, good breakfast spread- something for all tastes.) offers box meals if you wanna get out at sunrise and comeback after sunset.

staff : extremely efficient and courteous, most of all, dependable.

example 1 : - my travel agency had booked this hotel, but i took the liberty of calling the front office manager, mr bonchhy aing, and asking for my standard demand : a room on a high non smoking floor, pool view, away from elevator. It Was Done.

eg. 2 :- warm and dehydrating plus we were travelling with a kid. so we asked for a constant supply of drinking water. complimentary. It Was Done.

eg3. :- I LEFT MY WALLET BEHIND AND CHECKED OUT. the staff checked its contents with me over the phone, and managed to find a courier to send it across to the POIPET border. Mr Aing checked with me once i got it.

you get my drift.

stay : lots of indian, chinese japanese group tours for stop-overs, so be prepared for some flutter of tourists arriving/leaving at odd hours. but "high floor, room away from elevator" works!

overall, a

Room Tip: third floor, pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Dr. Varsha & Mr. Rajat Bhatt,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we're very excited to hear that you really like our services.
All your feedback has been passed to all the staff of Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa. All of them very happy and promise to keep up standard services forever.
We're waiting to serve you here with our excellent services soon again.

Wish all the best to you and your family.

Warm regards,
Bonchhy Aing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel while in Siem Reap and really enjoyed the experience! The staff were lovely and extremely helpful, and the rooms were clean and well kept. Most importantly in the April heat, the air conditioning worked very well! The hotel is in a relatively good position and is only a short tuk-tuk ride to the famous 'Pub Street' and 'Angkor Night Market', both definitely worth a visit! The hotel has a full restaurant, bar, swimming pool and gym, as well as spa and massage facilities which were discounted while we were there. It was very quiet and although our room did not have much in the way of a view, our friend's room looked over the pool area which was nice. Parking facilities are available if you have your own car, but a tuk-tuk to the 'city centre' should only cost you US$2-3. The hotel staff are also happy to help organise tour guides to the temples. Breakfast was included in our stay which was very nice and I can definitely recommend the Khmer breakfast noodles - delicious! They also have plenty of Western fare to suit everyone's tastes.

Room Tip: Views over the pool area are very tropical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khemaraangkor, Manager at Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Sam_22O,

Greetings from Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa!

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your preferred place and spend your valued time for reviewing us. All your positive feedback has been passed to all the staff of Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa. They're very excited and will keep consistent to provide our excellent services to you soon again.

Warm regards,
Bunchhy Aing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Khemara Angkor is primarily a short stop-over hotel for visiting the sights at Siem Reap so be prepared for some noise of persons arriving/leaving at various hours. The breakfast choice is quite varied to suit most tastes, and the staff are helpful and cheery. The pool area is small but isn't much used in the day period as most guests are out visiting the sights.
Although there is nothing ouside the immediate area of the hotel, it is only a short tuk-tuk ride to the town where there are plenty of restaurants etc in Pub Street in the old French Quarter which is well worth a visit

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa

Address: National Rd. 6 (Airport Road) | Salakanseng, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- KHEMARA means Khmer in Sanskrit- KHEMARA opened its business door on 13 April 2003- KHEMARA renovated rooms with changing from carpet to timber wood floor in 2007- KHEMARA renovated its Spa and built new Ballroom in 2011- KHEMARA renames as Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa on 11th November 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khemara Angkor Hotel And Spa
Khemara Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Khemara Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khemara Angkor Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.