We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real bargain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple Villa

Save Saved
You added Golden Temple Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Temple Villa
Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Massage & Pick up
Ranked #24 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
Bergamo, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place, very typical and romantic! Very close to pub street( main street) and staff very avaiable for everything... Even cheap for the service offered!
Many facilities! Restaurant very tasteful!
I will be returning! 100%

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    846
    355
    47
    19
    12
See reviews for
115
444
194
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus OH
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was sad to leave Golden Temple Villa this morning. As other reviewers have said, it is a great place and great value. I stayed for 6 nights and could have stayed longer. Great staff, nice food, lovely decorating and landscaping. They were renovating the lobby when I arrived and they apologized profusely about the noise, which they limited to just the afternoon hours. The work is finished now. The reception staff takes the time to explain tour options to you and their prices are the same as you will find just asking a tuk tuk driver on the street. The location is perfect, far enough away from the noise of Pub Street but only a few minutes walk to get there. If you stay here, stop at Jimmy's Village School, just up the street from the hotel - help or make a donation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is one of the nicest, small hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. When using the free intenet, in an air conditioned room they brought peanuts and cold towels.
The bar/restaurant was very nice and even met some expats there who use it regularly.
I had a hard time on our last day trying to leave a tip for the bar/wait staff.
Very close to pub street and the night markets. A very easy/safe walk even though it is on a dark street. Security outside the hotel.
On our last night since we were leaving at 0230 they wanted to discount the room since we were leaving so early.
I really can't say enough about the Golden Temple. Just a great place with nicely decorated rooms bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

They make you feel at home the second you walk in. All their services are very affordable. Even their restaurant prices are cheaper than the street foods. They also have a set of tuktuk tours that are cheaper than when you hire a tuktuk outside. The free Khmer massage is the best!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in Golden Temple Villa in Siem Reap in order to (surprise surprise) go and see the temples in detail. It was a nice hotel, we opted for the Double Deluxe (1 big bed) for $22.00 USD / night, which was the most expensive room they had at the time (February-March 2013)

The hotel grounds were very nice, location spot on, only a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the center and also very close to the Artisans d'Angkor workshops and shop.

While we were there the restaurant and breakfast area was being refurbished, so we didn't try the food or breakfast, but the staff were all very nice people, and very helpful.

Our favourite part of the hotel was the massage on offer, which was amazing value, $3 for one hour of blissful relaxation, we had one every day we were there, and I would strongly recommend it!

The other great thing about this hotel was that they offer lots of tuk tuk tours for the temples, so you can organise everything there. We booked a different trip every day, and they even allowed us to adjust the destinations of some of the trips on offer, to include things we wanted and exclude things we weren't interested in, with appropriate price amendment. This was a very valuable addition to the hotel, as we knew exactly what time we would be picked up, and we were happily ferried around in the tuk tuk all day, stopping everywhere we had asked for. We even went as far as Beng Mealea which is 40km away, and had so much fun in the long tuk tuk ride.

Overall a good place to stay, if I have one little issue it's that our room had a tiny window only, with no view (i.e. view to the balcony, where other guests could walk and peer through our curtain into our room) and also that there was no top sheet on the bed, so if you had the air-con on and wanted to cover yourself you could only do it with the throw they had on the bed, which was quite warm and old looking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of July. Had a great time and the hotel was well placed for visiting most of the attractions in and around Siem Reap. Service was very good with friendly and courteous staff. Breakfast in the restaurant was substantial and food ordered from the a la carte restaurant for lunch was very good. Rooms were cleaned promptly. Would definitely go back if visiting Siem Reap again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our favourite place so far on our SE Asia trip! Like a little tropical paradise down a side street. Really lovely staff, welcome drinks and cold towels were just wonderful and altogether a very sensitive set of staff! I was having a stressy morning in the restaurant about our upcoming trip and the staff bought over some ice cold towels and watermelon, free of charge, just to calm my nerves! The rooms were more traditional but still perfectly clean, mosquito nets (or princess curtains as we liked to see them as) provided for protection and the air conditioning was quiet and effective. Helped us organise our angkor wat tour, and the food in the restaurant was delightful! Would recommend their Amok, the best meal I've had in these three weeks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Temple Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Villa

Address: Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Temple Villa has 36 fully furnished rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms and conveniences to ensure our guests stay with us is as comfortable possible. The villa is colourfully decorated with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in and every effort is made to keep all areas of the hotel immaculately clean at all times. With 24 hour reception and security Golden Temple Villa is a calm, safe, and secure lodging for stay Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Golden Temple Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Temple Villa Hotel Siem Reap
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.