We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Temple Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Temple Villa to your Saves list
Golden Temple Villa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Massage & Pick up
Ranked #25 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of the best places we have ever stayed!Everything was perfect - place, people, food, massage. Staff is extremly friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and well-decorated. In price of the room you get free bicycle, tea, coffee and bananas. Their restaurant offers really good and cheap food. If you book a room with breakfast, you get it cheaper and if you plan to go to Angkor for the sunrise they will prepare for you in the middle of the night scrambled eggs or pancakes for take away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    386
    51
    20
    12
See reviews for
125
497
222
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Firstly, the staff. 12 of us stayed from 23-27 March 2013, all deals were through emails and there was not any shortcoming-thanks to 2 sweet ladies:Ms Thea, reservation manager and Ms Tuorn, the GM. The front desk Miss Sopeak, a very pretty young girl was very helpful with her sheepish smile. We fell in love with Ms Tuorn: as we arrived in the morning, she managed to find a spare room for us to store our luggage, then she prepared herself the famous iced lemon tea (after sampling at 8 different eateries, hers still the best and the cheapest, surprisingly), moreover, she arranged the tours inclusive of the van, driver (Mr Kerng, man of few words) and the tour guide (Mr Nat. very knowledgeable about all temples, all locations for good shots and of course the wall carving-the only apsara dancer with teeth), is addition, she got us a good bargain for the tour. One more thing about Ms Tuorn, after 6 years in Malacca, she speaks fluent Bahasa. She accompanied us to Tsar Leu and Old market on her off day.This lady even went to the extend of suggesting different menus for lunch and dinner, and after comparing taste and pricing, their restaurant came out top especially their happy hours menu-steamy hot spring rolls, juicy pork rib, 4 varieties of amok, (though need to remind the waiters, Charm Ruon and Elna to put less sugar), and Angkor beer is only 75 cents.
Next, the location. the hotel is 2 minutes to Artesan, 3 minutes to fruit stall and convenience stall and 5 minutes to Old Market and night market. We would love to revisit, Nov or Dec which will be cooler.
Finally, one good thing about Cambodian- though they are quite poor, they never beg, very dignified

Room Tip: first floor, you don't have to climb more stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is very nice and cheap guesthouse located safely walkable distance from Pub Street. There are a lot of good guesthouses cost USD 10 or 15, but even a bit expensive I like this guesthouse much more. The cheapest rooms are really small, very clean and well facilitated, so probably you feel very good if you do not mind the space.
All staffs are very helpful and kind. Restaurant is very cozy and provides good local and Western food. Since sometime there are a lot of guests, so you may have to wait a bit.

The guesthouse seems to be run by Chinese, but guests come from all over the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaitupu, Tuvalu
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel/guesthouse is well located near the night market yet in a quiet street. Honestly the only thing that impressed me was the service, all staff very helpful and always friendly.

Hotel is very clean and air com + free wifi worked nonstop for my 3 nights stay.

This place has potential to improve as I was not very happy with..

Bathroom is really old! There is no shower curtain or cubicle, so no only you but the whole bathroom take a shower.
Room furniture, very dated and needs an upgrade
Not worth pre paying USD 3 for breakfast, you have more choice on the menu

Something that is quite disgusting, stained bed linen, stained towels and stained napkins in the restaurant. I prefered not to analyse the stains...

Overall with a few improvements this place can be better than it is now.

Room Tip: Room 30 is quiet at night as it does not face the street but there is no view also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's the most comfortable guesthouse I've ever stayed in. Free airport pickup, free ice lemon tea, free bicycle to ride, free 30min traditional massage, free water everyday. We arrived there 3 hours before the check-in time and our rooms were not available at that time. The guesthouse found another empty room for us to rest.It was very sweet of you guys. We were very grateful for this. The room is very clean. It's about 5mins walk to the old market, very near. Because of the tight schedule we didn't even have the time to send postcards. Thank you guys for posting them for us. I love my room, your guesthouse has made the most precious memory for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I booked bed & breakfast for 6 nights at the Golden Temple based on the reviews on Tripadvisor.

2 days before we arrived, I received an email telling us that the restaurant would be closed for 7 days from our day of arrival, and so they could not provide breakfast. This was a bit of a nuisance as we had booked the 3 day temple tour, which starts very early and so this meant we had to get up, and go find breakfast somewhere, and then get back to the hotel. I emailed them back saying it was a bit of a disappointment, and could they possibly transfer us to their sister hotel, Golden Temple Hotel. I didn't receive a reply until the morning of our flight, and they just said I would have to make these arrangements myself as it was "different staff" at their other hotel, so we decide just to let the booking stand.

We arrived about 9pm (an hour late) and our hotel tuk tuk driver was still waiting, which was great.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were not offered any welcome drink or cold towels as advertised. We asked if we could have a cup of tea, as the hotel advertises free tea/ coffee/ bananas 24 hours, but because the restaurant was closed, they had no fresh milk.

Our room was on the top floor. We had booked a Double Deluxe room, but when we got there it was just a tiny room, with a very small double bed pushed up against the wall. There was no desk space and hardly any room to move around the bed. This is when we realised the Golden Temple is a hostel, not a guest house.

The bathroom was very basic and as is typical in Cambodia, is just a toilet and a shower coming out the wall. This was okay, but when we woke up the next morning we had no water, and when I say no water, I mean not a drop. When we went to reception to complain, there were other guests doing the same and staff were saying that the government only allowed them so much water, but they were trying to get another tank working.

We then went across the road about 2 mins for breakfast to a hotel called the Golden Butterfly which is also a sister hotel of the Golden Temple. After having a really nice breakfast, we asked if they had any double rooms available. They did, at $20 which is the same as we were paying at Golden Temple. We asked if they could show us a room, and what a difference. This was a really big room, with a King Size bed, plenty of desk space and a separate shower in the bathroom. We immediately booked for the next 5 nights.

They say you get what you pay for, but for $20 you get a really good deal in Golden Butterfly, so don't waste your money on the Golden Temple Villa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEE K, General Manager at Golden Temple Villa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear LindyIrving121,

We sincerely apologize if the renovation and safety works in the restaurant (now completed) caused you discomfort - as they clearly did.

Thank you for acknowledging that we did pre-advise you of the works before your arrival.

Also we are very sorry about our late response to your request to transfer to Golden Temple Hotel. Our sister hotel only has 30 rooms and is very popular, (and is typically fully booked months in advance), we tried our best to await any opening or cancellation at Golden Temple Hotel before contacting you but were not able to secure a room for you.

Again I apologize for the lack of our traditional welcome drink - again this was temporarily unavailable because of the works. These works are now complete and the restaurant is operating normally..

I am very happy that our nearby sister Hotel The Golden Butterfly pleased you and also that you enjoyed your breakfast and the stay there.

Warmly Regards,
Moun Tuorn
General Manager
Golden Temple Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the bad news. Arriving at the airport on a very humid late night-2330H-I expected to be greeted with cold bottled water as told by the reservation staff, but there was no water offered. What's more, the car that picked us up won't start. So we had to wait a good 30 mins for the other car; in the heat outside the airport. The driver cannot understand nor speak english so we can't ask for any information right away. We arrived at the hotel almost 12. No cold drink awaited us. We ushered to the corner room in the 2/F and going up in the narrow steps of the stairs with all the luggages in tow was a bit of a challenge. The front desk guy helped with 1 bag. When we got to the room, it smelled like a stinking bathroom (which was gone the next day, but wait what replaced it). We asked for the beds to be moved together and as it turned out, the exposed floor underneath was so dusty. The front desk guy used the bathroom rug to wipe the dust and did not change it. It was the same dirty dusty rug all throughout our stay.The hotel restaurant closes at 11pm and we weren't too sure if it was safe to go outside at that hour so we weren't able to get dinner. We were banking on the free coffee and bananas they serve 24hrs, but there were no bananas. They were still green said the guy. We got coffee at least. The airconditioning of the room was not cold enough. It was aircool. My 2y.o.son slept in sweat and there were a lot of mosquitos and insects inside the room. Though the bathroom was clean enough, the toilet bowl had water stains so it looked dirty.
The next morning, we paid for our breakfast because they booked us a room without breakfast despite my request for "with". I checked the emails and it was there. When I asked about it, the lady at the front desk just told us to pay for it and did not even apologize for the mistake. It is cheaper to book with breakfast.
On our third day, we were greeted with a very very loud (i believe Cambodian) music. It started between 5-7am and ended at 10pm for 2 days! Apparently, there was a wedding in the next-door neighbor. And we were told that per tradition, they have to do this 2-day celebration with a guy speaking nonstop on a mic and super loud music that will keep you awake even when you are too sleepy. We can respect that but it's a "hotel" where foreigners who may not welcome such disturbance are supposed to stay and rest. The music was heard loud and clear from our room up to the main road.
The good news-- the food in the restaurant is good and cheaper than those you get outside the hotel. The water heater does its job (but who needs hot water in the 38degrees heat?). The staff in the restaurant are pleasant (not true for all the staff at the front desk though). There was a free massage, that was perfect for me given that I'm not a fan of it. Free banana and coffee is a treat even if it wasn't my favorite taste in coffee, but hey it's coffee and it's free! They have a bathroom that you can use and provide towels, toothbrush and bottled water even after check out. If I was a backpacker, I'd definitely go back to this hotel but not when I have kids (baby) travelling with me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEE K, General Manager at Golden Temple Villa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Justicedenied,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments. I have taken careful note of the issues that you have raised and will be reviewing your points with the relevant staff to ensure that guest issues are better handled.

We sincerely apologize about the breakdown in the car that was awaiting you at the airport. This is a very rare occurrence. We were also a little hampered by your late arrival time (close to midnight) and could not quickly rush a replacement car to the airport. I am happy to note however that the driver managed to ensure you arrived at the hotel within a reasonable 30 minute time frame. I understand that traveling with a young child who was already on a long flight is particularly difficult.

The hotel is in a very safe area next to the central Old Market in the center of town. Siem Reap is generally very safe. However there are few places open for eating at midnight.

I thank you for your understanding of our Cambodian traditions. Both weddings and funerals are loud and elaborate affairs that typically last 3 days and start very early and our accompanied by loud traditional music we can’t be stop. Many visitors to Cambodia appreciate witnessing these ceremonies, some do not but there is very little that we can do as a hotel beyond asking the organizers to bear in mind that there are many hotels nearby. All urban areas in Cambodia are witness to such events on a daily basis it’s a part of the pattern of life here and again we are sorry that you were disturbed by the celebration.

Also thank you for acknowledging the positive aspect of some of the many services we provide our guests. We wish you and your young one a very safe return home.

Kindest regards,
Moun Tuorn
General Manager
Golden Temple Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Temple Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Villa

Address: Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Temple Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Temple Villa has 36 fully furnished rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms and conveniences to ensure our guests stay with us is as comfortable possible. The villa is colourfully decorated with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in and every effort is made to keep all areas of the hotel immaculately clean at all times. With 24 hour reception and security Golden Temple Villa is a calm, safe, and secure lodging for stay Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Golden Temple Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Temple Villa Hotel Siem Reap
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Temple Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.