We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal stay for my entire family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Journeys Within Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Journeys Within Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Journeys Within Boutique Hotel
Krous Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 219 hotels in Siem Reap
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal stay for my entire family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and i, along with my brother, his wife and kids (12 and 9), and our mother (71), all stayed here and we all wished that we had booked it for a longer stay. The staff is absolutely superior to any five star hotel, especially when it comes to warmth, attentiveness and personalized sevice. Michelle and Narla made sure that all our needs were met, including helping us keep track of our departing flight from Siem Reap to Hanoi (Vietnam Airlines changed the time of our flight about three times). The rooms are classically beautiful and modern at the same time. Handmade soaps and shampoos, romantic balconies, and impeccable cleanliness are just a few of the amenities. The food is delicious - both local and western fare to please all of us, including the 12-yr-old boy who only wanted burgers and quesadillas. The pool and grounds are luscious and very beatifully kept. The kids and adults both enjoyed time in and around the pool every day after long tours. The staff always made sure that even while we were at the pool we had anything we desired . Food, drinks etc. The tours that Journeys provided were spectacular. A sunrise visit to Angkor Wat, and a village visit were our favorites. As a family, we felt we had both privacy when we wanted it and easy access to one another.

I can't say enough about our amazing stay. I highly highly recommend staying with Journeys for anyone - solo, couple (romantic), or family travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
86
110
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent four nights at Journeys Within and had a very enjoyable experience. As has been mentioned in previous reviews, the staff are very attentive but in an unobtrusive way. The service we received from staff at Journeys Within was amongst the best we experienced on our two weeks in Cambodia. A clear example of this is the fact we realised 5 days after leaving the hotel that we'd forgotten our camera charger at the hotel. Following a phone call, the staff arranged for our charger to be transported to us in Phnom Penh on the next available bus, in time to reach us before we moved on to our next destination.
The hotel grounds are compact but beautifully set out with a lovely pool, which is perfect for relaxing & cooling down. Our ground floor room was really spacious (it had more than enough space for a large double bed, two single beds, desk, coffee table & chairs) and the bathroom was a great design with the most fantastic shower. We made good use of the hotel restaurant, which served delicious food with generous portion sizes.
We travelled as a family of four with two young children (both under 5 years). The hotel is family friendly with a children's menu as well as small play area, which our children enjoyed very much, in addition to the pool of course. The free daily laundry service was a great bonus. The complementary tuk-tuk service is between 6pm-9pm, hours which weren't that convenient for our young family. However, regular tuk-tuks cost $3 to go into town which we didn't mind paying. The hotel arranged a tour guide and transport for us to Tonle Sap lake and to the temples at a reasonable price. Both the guide and driver were good.
Although more expensive than the rest of the accommodation on our 2 week trip around Cambodia, we would definitely recommend Journeys Within & hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I recently took a three week tour of SE Asia that was arranged and managed by Journey's Within Inc. which is based (here in the US) out of Truckee, California. Included in our tour was a stay at their signature Bed & Breakfast in Siem Reap.

This hotel is located a little ways outside of the downtown area but it is only a $3 tuk tuk ride to the main downtown area. Or, if you go down between 6:00 pm and 9:00 pm, the ride is free. So if you wish to go down for dinner at night, the tuk tuk driver will take you down and you can tell thim what time you want to return and he will be there waiting for you.

Our room at the hotel (Number 5) was a huge two story building. The downstairs included a large living room area, kitchen, and a small bathroom with a shower. The upstairs had a large bedroom with a large bath area and a wonderful "outside" type shower. There were televisions on both floors plus a computer for your use on the ground floor. My only negative is that there is a steep, spiral staircase between floors. And, the end of the bed is only about 12-18" away from the staircase so you need to be careful walking there especially at night.

The pool is a good size and is extremely clean. The water is a very comfortable temperature and there are always pool towels and straw hats on the deck chairs for your use.

Breakfast is ala carte. You turn in your order the night before and tell them what time you would like to eat. Everything will be ready when you arrive at the restaurant or, you may eat in your room. Because we booked our whole tour through Journey's Within, several of our lunches were also included (they serve dinner as well.) The restaurant serves both Khmer and Western food choices. Everything we had was very good. We'd like to give special thanks to Rath who was the main server while we were there. She is a real sweetheart who continually went out of her way to make us and everyone else we saw in the restaurant feel like family.

I'd also like to say how wonderful all of the staff were. Everyone was very friendly and never failed to stop and talk with us and they all wanted to know if there was anything that we needed.. I would put Michelle and her staff up against any 5 star hotel in the world in terms of customer service. Several of the staff (including Tuna the resident dog/greeter) even came out to say "Good By" when we left.

All of this by itself would be reason enough to chose the Journey's Within B & B but there is so much more that they do. JWOC or Journey's Within Our Community supports clean water projects in many rural Cambodian areas. They provide emergency relief during times of disaster and support many local schools so that children have books, uniforms and sometimes even bicycles so they can get to the schools. JWOC provides hundreds of micro loans so people can start businesses and support their families. And they provide money for scholarships to students who, without these loans wouldn't be able to get an education. They are a wonderful example of a socially responsible organization.

Staying here will give you a great experience and also help provide for the people of Cambodia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I make it a point to check reviews on Trip Advisor as we plan our trips, but this is my first personal review. I am compelled to write one because Journeys Within truly exceeded our expectations. We were there for only two nights, but we have never felt so pampered. The service is unlike any other place we have been to and the attention to little details made our experience so special. My husband and I traveled with our kids, 13 and 11, and we were comfortably accommodated in a spacious room overlooking the pool. Breakfast was included, and made to order -- excellent coffee, great omelets, delicious native fruits and fresh juices. The hotel made all the arrangements for our tours and provided complimentary tuk tuk service into town and back. Our driver, Mr. Lieng, was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. If you are taking advantage of the free laundry service, plan to give them two days to make sure there is ample time to line dry.

We will likely make it back to Siem Reap to explore more temples, and will be staying longer at Journeys Within. Not only do they provide a great home away from home, they give back to their community in such inspiring ways. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I based my decision on staying at the Journeys Within Hotel based upon positive reviews on Trip Advisor. My wife and I were very satisfied with our stay. The room was large and clean with good AC to keep us cool after a long hot and humid day touring the temples nearby. The service level was very attentive, which is why I prefer boutique hotels to larger resorts. The complimentary breakfast was very enjoyable and the pool refreshing. My only complaint was the internet speed. However, the Internet speed is more a function of service provided in Cambodia as the owner said they have tried to improve the speed several times by changing providers without any luck.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights while doing the round of Angkor temples. It is a beautiful peaceful little hotel with wonderfully friendly & helpful staff. The hotel can arrange tours (ours was very good) and tuk tuks, as well as providing free tuk tuk rides into town & back for dinner. Laundry service is also free as is the limitless bottled water. The small restaurant is also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights and experienced the best service of our 17 nights in cambodia. We explored the temples for 3 days on our own and we booked a day trip to the temples and floating fishing village which was an excellent trip. The guide was fantastic.

The hotel is a little out of town and offers free tuk tuk rides into town for dinner. Getting back to the hotel needs a little patience as not all of the tuk tuk drivers know where it is. The hotel does provide you with instructions to pass to the drivers. However, we found that stating the hotel was past the Madam Butterfly Restaurant on the way to the airport and then to take the next right worked well.

Great pool to cool down in after a day on your feet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Journeys Within Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journeys Within Boutique Hotel

Address: Krous Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 219 hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hustle and bustle of travel with a stay at Journeys Within Boutique Hotel. A quiet oasis on the outskirts of busy Siem Reap, just minutes from the Angkor temples, Journeys Within offers the service and hospitality of a B&B, with facilities of a five star resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Journeys Within Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journeys Within Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.