We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Journeys Within Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Journeys Within Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Journeys Within Boutique Hotel
Krous Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 216 hotels in Siem Reap
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the family villa (2 floors, 2 bathrooms and kitchen) which was very good. Stylish decorated. Very big. In front of pool. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast a la carte, a lot of choice. Free laundry service. Extra plus is their community projects. It is located bit out of town but the tuk tuk brings you in 5 min. Positive: it is quiet!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
81
107
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

From the moment our tuk tuk pulled up at the entrance of the hotel and the staff came out to greet us we were treated like royalty throughout our three night stay. The service was constantly and consistantly impressive and the staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome and were always looking to ensure we had everything we wanted and more. The hotel is a tranquil oasis set in a stunning location away from the crowds of Angkor Wat and the town - but within very easy reach of both. The rooms are large and modern, the pool is the ideal cool down after a day of sightseeing and the food is delicious. The attention to detail at this hotel is fantastic and the only reason I have given five stars is because it did not go any higher. It's a perfect hotel!

We also vistied JWOC - a local charity / school owned by the same people as the hotel - well worth a visit if you have some time and you want to meet locals and help or make a very worthwhile contribution to an excellent cause.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

First of all, this is a great hotel. The rooms are big, clean, comfortable and very nicely furnished. Service could not be better. The restaurant is very good (we had breakfasts and lunches here). The pool is a very welcome respite from the heat. I had some minor health issues related to the heat and the hotel was very concerned and helpful during our four night stay. There was some construction going on next door and there was some noise but we were not bothered.

I was shocked by the size of the crowds at Angkor Wat but the hotel is truly a retreat from the madness of the tens of thousands of tourists that have apparently "discovered" Angkor Wat.

The hotel is located a few miles from the center of town BUT the hotel makes up for that by being peaceful and by providing free tuk-tuk rides into town in the evening so that you can enjoy the restaurants and night life of Siem Reap.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All good but we liked the ones that are not directly connected to a neighbor with a shared wall on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you're looking for a smaller hotel with personal touch- then you don't get much better than this!
Great rooms (we had a family suite) with very friendly and helpful staff that made our stay in Siem Reap very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Beautiful colonial building, and our deluxe double room was big and clean. Besides the normal tea, coffee and bottled water, the price of room includes the use of a laptop, free soft drinks from the minibar, laundry and transfers from and to the airport, which is about 15 minutes away. The swimming pool is great too, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. There is also a good massage service on site.
Located on the outskirts of Siem Reap, it gets away from the hurly burly of Siem Reap town centre. The disadvantage of this is the lack of restaurant choice. The hotel has only one restaurant, or rather a cafe, which is very basic both in terms of menu and ambience. Okay for breakfast but rather limited for other meals. There is no bar so drinks for the pool come from the restaurant. This is fine while lounging in the sun but forget about enjoying a nightcap there. The hotel runs a free community school next door, which is applaudable, but the noise of the children citing their ABCs aloud can be a distraction.
Overall, it's a great place for a family and those who eschew the normal tourist nightlife. It's also good as a base for visits to Angkor Wat and other attractions. However, it'll have to do better with food and beverage outlets to be a winner for those who want more than just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are a family with small children who checked into the two-bedroom suite with high hopes and we were not disappointed. The rooms (connected with a door, perfect for parents!) were beautiful with lovely decor and good-quality bed sheets. The pool is also very nice but don't expect the outside to be perfectly quiet, you'll hear cockadoodling roosters and school kids next door but that did not bother us at all. In fact, some of the money you spend here will benefit the community (hence the kids next door) and this helps soften the blow when you pay, because it's not cheap staying here.

It was nice seeing the staff listed rather proudly with pictures and write-ups in the room information leaflet. They are all wonderful and eager to please the guests.

The food here is also very good and we enjoyed some good dinners (lak loa, yum) on our balcony with the kids snoring away in the next room. Happy parents, happy kids!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had the expensive Ramayana Suite for just 2 of us and we really did not need it and could have stayed in one of the cheaper upstairs rooms. There were very few people staying which made it much better/quieter than if it had been full. We would not have enjoyed it if there were lots of children there as the pool is close to the rooms.
There was more noise from the neighbourhood than I expected: building work/dogs barking/school etc. The swimming pool was lovely. There were free tuk tuks after 6.00 p.m. - I think it would be better if free all day as in many similar hotels.
I really appreciated the free wine/cake for my birthday they arranged with my daughter who had contacted them by email from england as a surprise.
Staff were very helpful.
We had breakfasts in our room - whilst delivered on time the choice/standard was not brilliant but acceptable.
Alex the manager tried to be helpful but I think it might have been more useful if the owners had been there with their expert knowledge of the area.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with view of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Journeys Within Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journeys Within Boutique Hotel

Address: Krous Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 216 hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hustle and bustle of travel with a stay at Journeys Within Boutique Hotel. A quiet oasis on the outskirts of busy Siem Reap, just minutes from the Angkor temples, Journeys Within offers the service and hospitality of a B&B, with facilities of a five star resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Journeys Within Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Journeys Within Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.