We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandalay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mandalay Inn to your Saves list
Mandalay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Psar Kroung Road (BBU University Road) | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Our stay here was great. The staff were incredibly friendly and the room was lovely and clean. Only two complaints, in spite of the fact that the room had a fridge (which seemed great) the staff turn off power to your room when you're out thus making the fridge a little redundant! Rotten watermelon was the result of this! Secondly the water coming out of the shower smelt of rust which was a bit unpleasant, but there was no sign it was actually dirty! Overall a very positive experience. And the son of the owner is the most adorable little toddler who is the happiest little man I had seen in a long time!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    115
    52
    6
    6
See reviews for
8
130
74
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The place is affordable (10USD) per night for a two bedroom room with fan. the staffs are accommodating and knows how to speak english so you understand each other. You can also booked for the tours around siem reap. Also you can buy tickets here for your trip back to bangkok via poipet or direct travel to bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is in good walking distance from the main part of town. The hotel is nice and clean and they will help you plan your travel around the temples. The staff are genuine, friendly and helpful. The rooms are very basic, but have all that you need. Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa, Vietnam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Smiling, friendly staff make this great choice and its very good value for money. Its at the bottom end of the main street and is in a very convenient location. Room have comfortable beds, flat screen TV and there's also free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Pros: The location for this place was fanastic. It was walking distance to pub street, and was quite accessible. They set up the tuk tuk for me for the day to see the temples and were happy to help with laundry and bus tickets when I enquired about them. The room was small but clean enough (toilet could have used some cleaning but it was cheap so I can't complain.)

Cons: When I got there I complained that the fan in my fan room sound like it had a generator attached to it. He said he only had a double room with fan that I could switch to but I would have to pay the difference. I obviously didn't want to pay twice the amount for one person so I asked him if they would take a look at it and he said no. Sleeping through the night was rough. The next day I asked to change my room to an AC room in hopes that it would be quieter. I asked in the afternoon after I came back from being out and about because I didn't see the main guy in the morning and he refused saying now my room wont be rented (as though there was a line up of people being turned away). I was quite upset and he told me to find accomodation elsewhere if I couldnt deal with the fan - So i walked across the street and checked in there.

Breakfast was a little overpriced for the quality of food available in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Mandalay Inn is a great guesthouse run by a friendly Cambodian family. I stayed there for 3 nights with my boyfriend, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was really clean with a comfortable bed. It was located close to the centre of town but I didn't notice any noise at night. The food in the restaurant was also very tasty and really well priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Mandalay Inn is just a short walk, less than five minutes, to a number of restaurants and bars (Pub Street) and the night market. For the rate I was very happy with this hotel. The staff speaks English and the hotel is very clean. This is a typical budget friendly hotel with some charm. For a couple of nights it is a good place to stay, but if you are here for more than twoor three nights i might upgrade to a nicer place. The gym is nothing to write home about but you'll get your workout from visiting Angkor Wat. I would recommend staying here, but watch out for the Mosquitos in the reception area, they will get you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandalay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Inn

Address: Psar Kroung Road (BBU University Road) | Near Old Market, Khum Svay Damkung, Siem Reap 00000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mandalay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Few Reason to Use Our Service - Good review from guest Consistently. - Situated at the most secure area of town center. - Neighbors are Banks, ATMs, Pub street and Old Market. - Rooms are neatly design with Clean, hygienic and comfortable. - In-house restaurant is a tasty and reasonable rate. - Tour Agent Desk for Tour, ticketing and all kind of services. - Roof Top GYM for your health and enjoy bird eye view on river. - Convenience payment by Credit, Debit Master and Visa Card. - Managing by A friendly, honest and helpful professional Hotelier family. - Commission and Hassle free with Family friendly atmosphere. - Wi-Fi wireless internet access (Free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Mandalay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandalay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.