We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel That We Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap

Save Saved
You added Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oum Khun Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Community Package
Ranked #1 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel That We Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

My husband, me and three friends just stayed at this hotel for 4 days and have an an amazing experience! The staff are so helpful and genuinely kind! My husband and I had won a free night through a Charity Auction in Hong Kong (let me point our how charitable they were to donate a free night stay to this charity). For $100 USD per night, we had a huge room, extremely comfortable beds, big fluffy comforters and wonderful fluffy pillows...blissful really. The aircon worked well. The wire-less internet connection works in every room, and we had a huge TV. Each day, they delivery 4 free bottles of water for you to use! Most hotels nowadays charge you for it.

The staff are so thoughtful. Three years ago some guests saw how poor the local people were and so they asked the staff to take them to a village so they could donate some clothes, so the hotel has since begun a charity leg to their operation. Though they do not solicit this fact, I heard about it through a friend. So when we came, I gathered two huge duffel bags filled with kids clothing, toothbrushes, shampoos, toothpastes, wash clothes, soaps and little toys for the villages. When I asked the hotel if they knew where we could distribute it all, they immediately said that they would take us to a place where we could make a huge difference. They took us to the poorest villages so that we could physically put the clothes on the children (who were all half naked, filthy and living well below the poverty level). While my husband and I distributed the clothes to these beautiful, gracious and truly grateful children, the hotel staff had brought huge bags filled with beautiful breads and bread rolls which they made sandwiches out of for the children, who were very hungry too.

After that, they took us to some of their charity projects where we saw they had built 100's of water wells for families, which improved the standard of their lives considerably. They also showed us homes (metal shacks) for the homeless, who would be dead without the shacks and who were so thankful and grateful! Then they stopped to buy produce from the local farmers they'd helped so again, they were helping sustain the projects by buying their products as well!

We have had the most wonderful time staying at this hotel. We also had their massages and yes, they're more expensive than getting one outside, but you get clean sheets, beautiful aromatherapy oils used on your body, skilled massage therapists, beautiful music and treatment like any 4 star hotel....so you get what you pay for. I don't think ANY hotel would let you bring in your 'massage therapist' into their respectable establishment and I for one would not like to stay at a place where I had to witness such behavior. There are plenty of 'massage parlors' catering to such needs... This hotel takes very poor children who would otherwise not have any opportunities and offers them a free place into their hospitality program, teach them about the field, and them employ them! Charging more for their food and massages enables them to sustain such generous programs. So we were very happy to contribute by paying for their clean, beautiful food and wonderful massages!

My husband and I usually stay at 5 star resorts and we HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cambodia. It's a hotel that cares about quality, their guests and the community! Their sustainable projects added so much to our holiday.

  • Liked — It's clean, the staff is wonderful and the beds to die for!
  • Disliked — Bring your own hair conditioner ladies!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    909
    104
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
146
456
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

This wonderful hotel is a small gem in the heart of Siem Reap. The staff is extremely helpful and always available. The rooms are large, airy, and very comfortable and clean. There is a large library/porch on the second floor with internet access. The staff was attentive to the point of remembering our drink and breakfast orders daily (three of us were there for 5 days). Any and all requests were attended to immediately and cheerfully. We stayed in hotels in Hong Kong, Ubud, and Nusa Dua on this trip, and this was definitely our favorite.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

Shina Mani is a lovely hotel with very helpful, charming staff who are also more professional than you will encounter at other hotels in Cambodia.

Breakfast is always good and broadband was working very well (also a bonus in Cambodia).

Some of the rooms need a spruce-up soon - particularly the weird shower attachments.

Spa is always fantastic and you must take time for a massage.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

Shinta Mani is a delightful boutique hotel with spacious rooms, faultless service, and a very nice a la carte breakfast menu. We had a big room next to the pool and spa on the ground floor, which was clean and nicely furnished and decorated. The bathroom was very large, with soaker tub and a big standalone shower. The only criticism is the state of the plumbing, with rust stains spoiling the stone tub and shower. Shinta Mani also has a cooking school on-site, which the hotel supports and is used to train under privileged young adults and help them make a better life for themselves. It warms your heart to know that your holiday is making a contribution to the community, and the Cambodian people are wonderful. Would certainly recommend the Shinta Mani.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville,colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

The Shinta Mani Hotel & Institute of Hospitality is one of the most pleasant to stay in and best run facilities of it's kind! Beautiful rooms, good food, and an excellent spa and pool! I could only dream that there were more places & programs to help the community like this in the world. I was very impressed by not only the students but also by the staff. Their community based activities program amazed me with how well run it was. I will continue to donate to this wonderful program and will return to the Shinta Mani!!
Laura C

  • Liked — Clean, great people, friendly staff, Institute of hospitality program
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

At first I was impressed with this hotel. But then the problems started. No hot water in the wash basins, the shower hot water lasted about 3 minutes. The air conditioner in the room was not working properly, the toilet flush was broken most days, the roof outside my room leaked and even after pointing this out to staff on 4 separate occasions, the water still flowed under my door into my room. The furniture was old and lacquered wood and was split and the doors did not close properly. I had arranged for a professional masseur to attend my room, but the hotel refused him entry. It was against their policy (even thought they do not inform you before you book or when you check in). They want you to use their SPA services but they cost about 5 times more than outside services. The mini bar prices are very high and the food service is also very expensive for what you get. Most of the staff are very pleasant and they try to be helpful, although you feel that after the smiles, they really did not understand your requests. The breakfasts were good and fresh. The pool was refreshing. The common areas in the hotel are not air conditioned and the fans do not give relief from the hot temperature. For the price, it was certainly not worth it.

  • Liked — Beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — Everything ekse
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsm, General Manager at Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap, responded to this review, October 29, 2008
I will leave responses regarding our service and pricing for others to judge.

However I would certainly like to acknowledge and address the issue relating to “professional masseur ”

This particular guest was booked with us for five nights. Every thing was fine expect on the last day, he came along with a Cambodian Male. As according to the Cambodian Tourist Police Rule “No un-registered guest is allowed inside the guest room”, the front desk staff has informed the guest, that the Cambodian Male will not be able to go into the guest room. Then the guest informed that he was a “masseur” from out side and he want to have a massage given by him the guest room.

The guest insisted that he wanted to have the massage in his room and was very angry. He was offered to use our Spa room but he refused the offer. He threatened us, that if we do not allow him to have the massage in his room, he would right bad about our hotel.

This is what happened, and now we allow you to make the judgment.


Thank you,

Chitra Vincent
General Manager
Shinta Mani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

It has been a good while since I stayed at the Shinta Mani, but I just noticed that I had not yet reviewed it - and it was one of the highlights of my month-long vacation in Vietnam, Cambodia & Thailand. I could not leave it out!

This hotel was perfect. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and eager to please (they welcomed us with a Shinta Mani silk scarf!), and the spa is wonderful and very reasonably priced - a little oasis! The beautiful swimming pool was just outside my hotel room door, and was a mood-altering necessilty after storming the temples of Angkor for hours in the 113 degree heat! The restaurant area was very cute and the food was all very fresh and delicious. Lots of small touches to make everything special!

The staff was able to pair my group with a knowledgable local guide (with air-conditioned van!) to help us navigate the temples - providing wonderful color to the tour and helping us time our visits to each temple for crowd- and sun-avaoidance!

Aside from this being a great hotel in a wonderful location, it is a training ground for Cambodians interested in careers in the hospitality industry.

  • Liked — Comfy rooms, pretty pool & spa area, delightful staff
  • Disliked — Internet access spotty, but not a big deal!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap

Address: Oum Khun Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#1 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#1 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Siem Reap is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiriration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat.Shinta Mani, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.