We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shinta Mani- a Shangrila in Siem Reap :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap to your Saves list
Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oum Khun Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
low-season offers
Ranked #2 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Sydney Australia
1 review
“Shinta Mani- a Shangrila in Siem Reap :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

This was an amazingly heartwarming experience, we booked at Shinta Mani after reading about it in a Travel magazine, describing the wonderful work they are doing in training local youth to get a hospitality education and were so amazed by the wonderful stay we had there.
The staff were ever so friendly, "trying so hard" , but yet, they were just being themselves, all our request were met politely and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel itself is small and intimate, out of the way of the busy Siem Reap streets and was a real Shangri la to return to after a day of Temple visits, very tranquil and comfortable.
Overall, it was the highlight of our 4 week stay in Thailand/Cambodia and would return to Shinta Mani any time we come back to Siem Reap
Thank You, Shinta Mani and staff, for a great stay and keep up the great contribution you are making to empowering the local youth with the Hospitality Institute and community work.

What a wonderful difference you are making. "One life at a time, we change the world"

Alex and Naomi :)

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,523
    140
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
259
754
98
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

Just back from Cambodia and we had an excellent time. We stayed at the Shinta Mani and it was fantastic. In our group there were 2 adults & 4 children ranging from 6 - 12 yrs. It was the perfect base to discover Angkor Wat and surrounding area. We stayed 6 nights & spent 2 days doing the temples. We organised a car from the hotel, maybe a little more expensive, but saved on a lot of hassle. It also meant that we could take a break when we liked which with children is a must. Also we arranged which temples to go to & when which can save a lot on crowds if done at the right time of day. Through the hotel we visited & donated some things (a well, 2 piglets & school supplies) to a local village. We met the families who were receiving our donations & this put it into perceptive how happy & grateful they are for what little we can give & the difference it will make to them personally. If you have space in your luggage take some of your old clothes & give them - we gave a few items of clothing & it was like christmas to those who received them. Leng Chan Theany , guest relations, can organise this for you.
The hotel was lovely & peaceful. The staff were very attentive & it was good to know while staying here we were giving back to those being trained.
The only negative thing was the L'Escale des Arts & des Sens restaurant opposite the hotel. It was worse than awful.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — L'Escale des Arts & des Sens restaurant opposite hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

The Shinta Mani is just a delightful place to stay. It has a really calm chilled atmosphere. The building is of colonial style and such a change from your standard chain hotel. It has up to date modern facilities, a lovely pool area and friendly attentive staff. The room (with a/c) was a very good size and the bathroom facilities were excellent. Free internet access, a nice bar area and pleasant dining room just add to the value. US$1 will get you the short ride into the centre of town. I wish them every success.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

As we had decided to spend 5 nights at Shinta Mani after it had been recommended to us by a relative, we really hoped it was going to be good. We knew that the staff would mostly be very young and many still in training, which could possibly have meant that there would be the occasional hiccup. What a pleasant surprise it was to find absolutely charming, well-trained young people who made us feel as if we were in a tropical home away from home: welcome drinks and fruit, artistic lotus arrangements, superb B/W photos of the Angkor ruins decorating the walls, delicious food (and good wines), tons of space on the upper floor, few guests (there are only 18 rooms anyway) using the (free) Internet, a beautiful pool and garden, smooth arrangements for tours and excellent guides. We loved every moment of our stay at SM and were particularly touched by the fact that our small donation for schoolbags and materials for kids in a local village was acknowledged by the children themselves with a photo and thanks. The hotel offers numerous possibilities for making donations - from rice for a hospitality student to a whole brick house or well. There, one can be fairly confident that the donation will be used for the purpose for which it is intended and not land in a corrupt official's pocket. We have also mentioned the hotel on www.statravelblogs.com/luckyandhugo

  • Liked — That it was so attractive yet practical.
  • Disliked — The fact that we had to change rooms twice (but we booked far too late!)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Spent 4 nights here to give us two full days to see Angkor and to take a trip to a family to whom we had donated 2 piglets through the hotel's community scheme. This is:
1) a lovely little hotel with spacious and well-designed rooms, a great spa for massages and other treatments, lovely little pool and decent restaurant AND
2) a training centre for disadvantaged local youths who are given a thorough training in all aspects of work in hotels (and what else is there in Siem Reap?) AND
3) runs a community programme to help families in villages around Siem Reap by building houses, digging wells, providing piglets, bicycles. food etc. Contributions come from guests and others. And as our deluxe rooms were only $125 per night including breakfast we certainly felt it worthwhile to contribute in this way.
I have two minor reservations: the trainee staff are young and timid - they need training in assertiveness, not so that they become agressive and rude but so they don't seem 'servile' - and as a smoker I had to ask for an ashtray every time I wanted to smoke - but you non-smokers probably appreciate that too!

  • Liked — The community efforts of the hotel
  • Disliked — A little far from the centre of town
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, ACT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Shinta Mani for 3 nights in April 2008 on the recommendation of my brother who had stayed there a year before with his family. From the moment we arrived the hotel met our every expectation and we just loved the welcome with cold towells and tea and the gentle, hospitable and caring young staff. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night and the food was delicious and the service very attentive. It was New Year in Cambodia and it was fun to watch the staff playing games in the front of the hotel. Our room was beautifully presented and very comfortable and clean. The hotel location was great, just outside the busy town centre, yet a short walk or tuc tuc ride. The hotel arranged a wonderfull tuc tuc driver who took us to the temples on two mornings and waited for us. On seeing the many other huge expensive and rather similar hotels around Siem Reap we are so so glad that we chose a quiet boutique hotel which supports and trains young people at risk. It gave us a nice warm feeling that in our own little way we are helping these young kids in the hospitality industry with paid employment by staying at Shinta Mani. We both had a full body massge and it was fantastic and very good value for money.

  • Liked — Value for money and boutique friendly style
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Great little hotel to come back to after a day of visiting the temples in the hot hot sun! Service was always with a smile and all staff were impeccably polite. Shinta Mani trains young locals and is very involved in community projects. Why not stay at a gorgeous hotel which gives back so much to the community?

  • Liked — Gorgeous decor with excellent staff.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap

Address: Oum Khun Street, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#2 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinta Mani Siem Reap is an upscale boutique property in the French Quarter of Siem Reap town. It boasts 39 contemporary designed rooms and public spaces in a European style with Khmer inspiriration. This exceptional hotel enjoys a tranquil and leafy setting just a 15 minute tuktuk ride from the magnificent temples of Angkor Wat.Shinta Mani, with a culture of Open Doors, Open Hearts, reflects its commitment to responsible tourism. The staff hope that during your visit you will open your heart to the beauty of the Kingdom of Cambodia, its gentle people and its fascinating culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinta Mani Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinta Mani Club Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.