We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“red sandstone beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banteay Srei

Banteay Srei
Siem Reap, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 103 attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 10th-century complex consists of low walls instead of the typical spires of Angkor.
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“red sandstone beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I loved the drive out through the countryside to see this temple. You get a feel for the daily lives of the people in the villages and see some amazing things. The red sandstone was very unique and has a different look than the other temples, so I enjoyed that.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,218
    376
    88
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Inspires the soul. Truly the temples and the area make you want more from life than spending time in shopping malls cropping up across Asia.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful & unique Pink Temple!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We loved this temple and it was one of our most favourite. The carvings and sculptures were some of the best we saw during all our temple visits. Just get there before 10:30 or after 2pm to get the best lighting. Our guide didn't manage to get us there on time but it was still a great experience. Beware of folks selling stuff aggressively and the scam of $1 for the Angkor Book until you pass them the dollar and they say not I said $21. By the time I was leaving the price was $8 but I was too pissed off at that point.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was a bit out of the way, but it was worth, everything was miniaturized and perfect formed. The size of this temple made it feel somehow a bit more accessible. Loved it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small, but beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very beautiful temple, but small, therefre gets crowded. We went there straight after sunrise at Angor Wat and it was alright, not too many people and we took nice pictures, however later more and more people were coming

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banteay Srei also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Banteay Srei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banteay Srei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banteay Srei to your Saves list