We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancient red wonder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banteay Srei

Banteay Srei
Siem Reap, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$385*
and up
3-Day Siem Reap Tour: Angkor Wat, Ta Prohm, Bayon...
Ranked #7 of 79 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 10th-century complex consists of low walls instead of the typical spires of Angkor.
Yokosuka, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ancient red wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This temple features red-hue stones that give an almost brick-like appearance to the temple. The intricate carvings are really well preserved, more-so than other temples. It wasn't too full of tourists, so my friends and I were able to capture many great photos here!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,488
    464
    111
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth a trip if there for a few days.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This temple is quite far out of the way. One of the best reasons I found for visiting was the journey itself. The tuk tuk ride will take you through very rural areas north of Siem Reap town. You will pass by houses, villages, roadside shops and stands, and none of it for tourists. All of it is real daily Cambodian life. The trip was part of the experience for me. Don't get me wrong the temple is beautiful, and of all the areas on the Angkor park it is the most visitor friendly. It has a cafe, visitor centre and information area like an outdoor museum on how the temple was built and restored.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pink Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The walls are covered with some of the most beautiful, deep and intricate carvings of any Angkor temple. The temple's quite small , pink sandstone and very ornate. The colors are best before 10:30 AM and after 2:00 PM, but there were fewer tourists in the afternoon when I visited

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a pleasant surprise Banteay Srei was and well worth the trip out through villages where we could see life in Cambodia. The red stone is so different to the other Temples that we had visited and the intricate carvings were breathtaking. I got some great photos here, a play of light and colour. A must and be prepared to be blown away.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“The Citadel of Women”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This site is the farthest from Siem Reap about 32 km. It is well worth the visit to see the pink sandstone temple as well as the people at work in the surrounding countryside. The temple is known for its beautiful and intricate carvings adorning the entire structure. It is unique in the fact the women are venerated for a change as this is a part of the world that is decidedly patriarchal!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banteay Srei also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Banteay Srei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banteay Srei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.