We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel with Great Guides and Recommendations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon Indochine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pavillon Indochine Hotel to your Saves list
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jean Commailles Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 247 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel with Great Guides and Recommendations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during the busy holiday week and with our 22 year old daughter. We stayed in 2 ground floor poolside rooms, which were large and bright. The bathrooms are new and beautiful. All of their restaurant, guide and driver recommendations are sincere and 5-star. This is very important, because many of the hotels in SE Asia recommend their family or friends' restauran,t instead of truly great one. Not the case at Pavillion Indochine.
We reserved the hotel directly on their site where you will see lots of options for packages, tours,etc. We pre-booked a driver and an English-speaking guide. We were greeted by our guide, So Thik, on Christmas morning. He showed us the temples and a floating village for 2 days. He is extremely knowledgeable, speaks great English, and was born and raised in Siem Reap. He was enthusiastic and proud of his country and heritage. He really worked to make our visit to the temples and floating village fabulous.
After our tours, we returned to our perfectly clean rooms, and enjoyed the pool after a hot day. Many nights we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. They have a small menu, but everything on the menu is reasonably priced and perfectly prepared; the outdoor environment is tranquil.
One night we opted to have dinner out, and the staff recommended Mie Cafe for dinner. It is a few blocks from the hotel, on a residential street; not downtown. The hotel owner obviously frequents many local restaurants and rates them himself, so his suggestions are accurate and direct. The dinner was fabulous.
Overall, this hotel had everything we needed, and more, and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 deluxe doubles (traveling with our adult daughter) on the ground floor and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    138
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
125
157
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Location: Located at a non-walking distance from the center of the city where the Old Market, Pub Street, and Night Market are. However, it is a 2 USD tuk tuk ride away.

Staff: Very nice, however in regards to housekeeping, there were times that the soap and other toiletries were not replaced.

Rooms: Family Suite number 2, where we stayed, was incredibly uncomfortable. Unlike what is shown in the pictures, the room is incredibly dark, without a phone, some of the bed nets had holes in them, the TV is old-dated, and so is the bathroom.

Breakfast: The breakfast had a good spread, but it would be better if they included soy milk and cheese. They offer pancakes, but beware that they are more like crepes.

Overall, the hotel meets all the points if you were to stay at a suite different than the one we stayed at. It would be a plus if they could use different techniques to make the hotel brighter, since even in broad daylight it is very dim.

Room Tip: Do not choose Family Suite number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So DOH M, Manager at Pavillon Indochine Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Positive or negative it is always very helpful for us to get feedback from our clients because it help us to improve or maintain the quality of our services.
As it is mentioned in our website we are not in the center town but we are the nearest hotel to Angkor Wat which can be convenient as there is now a lot of traffic Jam in Siem Reap city.

The town became very noisy at night and our area is more quiet. Nevertheless, if you book through our website directly we offer the transportation to town and to visit the temples for free. This service is available from sunrise to 10pm. Sorry we cannot offer this service if you book with other companies.

Pictures taken in our website are the pictures of the family 2, the one you stayed in and there are three windows. Perception of light is a very subjective matter. We have flat screen TV in all the rooms except in 2 rooms as we can see on the picture of our website. The day after we have read your review we went to buy two more flat screen and now all our rooms are equipped with this kind of TV. Thanks to you, the mosquito net have been replaced as well.

Concerning the breakfast, we try the best to please all our guests from all over the world. We even have Vegemite and peanuts butter but I hope you will easily understand that we cannot offer the same breakfast that you found in 4 or 5 stars hotels.

We clearly mention in our menu “french pancakes” as well as "crepe". Usually people knows the difference... We decide to do french pancake because it is home made as we do not like the chemical powder that is usually used to do the industrial pancake.

Overall we are glad to read that our hotel “meets all the points” and you can be sure that we always try to improve those points.

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay and we hope to have the pleasure to hosting you again in the future.

Warm regards from Angkor,

DOH So
Pavillon Indochine manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights,and it was such a lovely stay. Our room was spacious,clean,free bottles of water that were restocked everyday.It was only a 5 minute tuk tuk drive to Angkor Wat.We were assigned a tuk tuk driver for our whole stay there,Mr. Nhean. We would tell him where we wanted to go or what did we want to see, and he made suggestions which we were thankful in the end we agreed. We got to see everything that we wanted to see.We invited Mr. Nhean for lunch or dinner with us for the 3days that we were there. That was our way of thanking him for being an honest good man.

The food in the restaurant was superb! Their chicken and fish amok were my favourites.Breakfast was sufficient and you can request for eggs and bacon in addition for free.The staff were very courteous and friendly, always eager to help.We didn't get the chance to use the swimming pool but it was clean and the plants made the place cooler and beautiful.

Would stay here again if back in Siem Reap.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

arrived by taxi organised by hotel after a very comical visa and immigration procedure, 22 men and women in full dress uniform processing visa applications. visa application form, passport and cash in at one end and passport and visa out the other. Job creation at its finest. Then to hotel, arrived in a peaceful lane off a main road to the secluded and peaceful Pavillon. A very pleasant check in by the hotel manager and his staff to a large and nicely furnished room, outside every room across the walkway is a private sitting area with table and cane armchairs overlooking the pool. We had booked a room directly with hotel and for a very small increase in price in comparison to one of the internet booking agencies we had our own personal tuk tuk and driver from dawn til 10 pm. this is an amazing bonus to be able to rely on a driver who you knew you could trust. Breakfast at the hotel was equally as calm as the hotel itself, no massive buffet room but a small selection of bread, croissants, pastries, fruit home made jams, yoghurt and freshly cooked bacon and eggs to order Perfect! In fact our whole stay was perfect, had I not prebooked the rest of our holiday we would have loved to have extended our stay. We had not been to Cambodia before and were a little unsure of what to expect but our short stay in Siem Reap before moving on to Phnom Penh has convinced us that we shall be returning to sample the rest of the country and its beach resorts.
top marks to the owners, management and staff of the Pavillon for a great stay at an exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: think they are all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This boutique hotel rocks. The rooms are large and well kitted out. The wifi is supper robust - we were able to Skype to the US without a problem. If you book online, you get a free tuk tuk for the day. This is about a $15 per day perk. They breakfast was pretty good too. Lots of fresh fruits and an chef to make you eggs (all included in the price). Score!

Room Tip: This place is not located in walking distance of the Pub Street, but with a free tuk tuk it does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at this boutique hotel for two days in November, 2012. It was my first trip to Cambodia and I really didn't know what to expect. Once I got through the very frustrating ordeal of Customs and Immigration at the Siem Reap Airport, the hotel took over and it was smooth sailing all the way.
A hotel car picked us up at the airport and drove us to the hotel. It was very simple, nearly hidden from the outside but once through the gates it was impressive. We were greeted in the open air reception area by the friendly and cheerful staff, including the manager who greeted me by name. The open air reception is adjacent to the open air dining room, open air bar and pool.
Our room was immaculate, simple but very nice with a fully stocked mini bar which, along with everything else, was very inexpensive.
I found out right away how popular this hotel is as all of the guests were from Western countries. Because I booked through the hotel website, our room price included a tuk-tuk and driver all day each day. This was great to have. He knew where everything was and spoke enough English, as did all of the staff, to make communicating easy.
All in all, I was very pleased and would definitely stay here again. Thanks to everyone on the staff for making this a great stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms overlook the pool and all have a semi private balcony. Book early because I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked over the phone at the last minute and received excellent service from the first call until we left the hotel three days later. Pick-up from the airport or bus station was included. The rooms are large and well appointed. The staff were very helpful at all times. We would have stayed another couple of days but the hotel was booked out. Book early during the high season, this hotel books out for a good reason! The use of a free Tuk Tuk for the duration of the stay was an added bonus.
Breakfast was of a very good standard with charming wait staff. Great care has been taken the the gardens surrounding the hotel complex.
Altogether an excellent hotel at a moderate rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pavillon Indochine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Indochine Hotel

Address: Jean Commailles Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavillon Indochine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavillon Indochine Boutique - Hotel is located in Siem Reap, 4 km from the famous Angkor Wat. Featuring oriental furnishings, the hotel offers free parking and free Wi-Fi access throughout the property.Boutique Pavillon Indochine is a convenient 5-minute drive to the lively Pub Street and Angkor Night Market. Siem Reap International Airport is just a 15-minute drive away.The spacious rooms at Indochine Pavillon are fitted with wooden flooring and traditional French Khmer-style décor. A flat-screen cable TV and tea/coffee making facilities are provided. Each room has a safe and private bathroom with bath amenities and hot shower.Day trips or tour sightseeing can be organized at the front desk, which also offers ticket service. They can also assist with car rentals. To relax, guests can take a leisurely swim at the outdoor pool, have an aromatic massage or visit the internet cafe.Mekong, the hotel’s open air restaurant, serves a variety of Asian and Cambodian cuisine. Meals and drinks can also be enjoyed at the terrace of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pavillon Indochine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Indochine Siem Reap
Hotel Pavillon Indochine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon Indochine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.