We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contradictio in terminis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chanrey Tree

Chanrey Tree
Pokombo Ave, Siem Reap 12000, Cambodia
+855 63 767 997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 509 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A fine khmer food and contemporary setting. In door with air conditioning, out door open space with tropical garden sitting. Welcome to family with children, couple, individual, group for any special occasion, private dinning, entertainment client or romantic dinner.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Contradictio in terminis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We noticed the restaurant when passing by on our way to the market and remembered to have read something about it. Thus at lunch time we walked back to visit.
What a beautiful place with such nicely done tables. And what a nice group of people running it and serving. No pretenses at all: top quality service by barefooted staff.
Did I mention the food? Initially a bit taken back due to our unfamiliarity with Khmer food, we made sure we got a thorough briefing about the menu. We made simple choices and were delighted to get food with such exquisite taste and herbal tones.

Not to be skipped !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kann s, Owner at Chanrey Tree, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It was great to heard that you had remark about us on tripadvisor review, i am sure your comment will also passing through the others reader.thank you do much to taking your value time to share this experience.

Your faithfully.

Kann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    205
    53
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
““Amazing new restaurant!””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visited with friends ...

food and service the best ...

great menu and wine list ...

just perfect many thanks ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kann s, Owner at Chanrey Tree, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Greeting ! we would like to say thank you for your lovely wording < Amazing new restaurant >. we do appreciate a lot for your value time sharing this experience through. the team wish you all the best and we look forward to seeing you again.

Your faithfully.

Kann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best meal in Siem Reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had some amazing food while in Cambodia and Chanrey Tree was a highlight. Some of these dishes would have been perfectly at home in hatted restaurants in Melbourne. Fresh and unique - delicious. The set up was also very chic and the staff were extremely friendly and informative on the menu, recommending awesome dishes. If in Siem Reap put on your "must" eat at restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kann s, Owner at Chanrey Tree, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
One of the best meal in town ! thank you very much for a very positive comment, it was our pleasure to hearing that we are one of the highlight comparing to hatted restaurant in your country fresh and unique - delicious food.

Being very friendly staff and informative, it's a part of khmer culture, i am sure you had seen this smiling and friendly people very where in the country, also we had carry on this additional training to make sure our customer satisfy with service an care.

Your faithfully.

Kann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best experience best food best service.. No1#”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Read some good things, and decided last night of our stay in the town we would go here.. Wish this was our first night.. Food decor, service was amazing.., starters chicken banana salad, rare beef and OMG the natang starter was to die for... Pork spare ribs , roast Siem reap chicken la lol beef if only we could eat more... Open view to the kitchen, meeting the owner, all 10 out of ten experience... NOT pub street but not too far river side worth it do it you won't be disappointed....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kann s, Owner at Chanrey Tree, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greeting ! we are so proud to heard that you had the best experience with us before leaving Cambodia, thank you for sharing this feeling, surely we wish to serve you more than once.

We are lucky enough to have had such a great location with tranquil environment, khmer modern contemporary setting and traditional khmer food with its original taste.

Please have a safe tripe back home.

Your faithfully.

Kann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for modern village dishes with an innovative clean twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The food here is great and until tonight i'd struggled to find somewhere to suit my well travelled tastebuds. Great setting. .. just a ten minute walk from the likes of pub street. Great cocktails and decent wine list - house red is great. Noted even a delightful trimbach alsace wine offering too. The guys were charming. . And cute! Thanks for all the sightseeing tips! Russ, London UK

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kann s, Owner at Chanrey Tree, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greeting ! we are so glad to hearing that our food, service and atmosphere meet your expectation, thank you much for great wording. we are so happy to have such a great team, all work like in a family but we do focus on quality, both food and beverage to be their own combination and complimentary.

Again, thank you for your value time and we wish you all the best.

Your faithfully.

Kann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanrey Tree also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Chanrey Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanrey Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.