We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hive Siem Reap

The Hive Siem Reap
Next to Phnom Penh Post, behind Riviera Hotel. | Kandal Village, Siem Reap Psar Kandal, Cambodia
+855 97 763 3484
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 540 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Healthy, Bar, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in 2013, this Australian owned and run cafe has cemented itself as one of the most popular coffee shops in Siem Reap. The Hive has fast become a social hub for expats and tourists alike, known for superb coffee, breakfast, lunch, home-baked goods and specialty juices. Boasting locally roasted specialty coffee, experienced baristas, chefs, and bakers as well as a chic interior, The Hive is has a distinctly inner city vibe. If you're a coffee lover, a brunch goer, a juice detoxer, or just looking for a touch of home The Hive awaits. Open 7am - 6pm. Closed Tuesdays. Open 7am - 6pm. Closed Tuesdays.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Visited the Hive while in Siem Reap in September. Had a great pizza and a glass of wine. Friendly staff and really good pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    24
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Coffee Martini and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and i just got back from Cambodia and we went to the Hive 2 days in a row. The food was so good that we had to go back the next day! We were not disappointed. The curry roti with vegetables and chicken was amazing. The food is very fresh and I would highly recommend this cafe/restaurant. The ambience is great and it was lovely chatting to the Australian owners. Thanks Clayton for introducing me to Coffee Martinis. YUM !!! Cheers Di and Grant

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went out of our way to go to this place, having seen all the great reviews. After that build-up, it was pretty disappointing. I don't have any specific complaints - it just wasn't that good. The staff were very nice and the food was decent, but that's about it. The food was just ok, and actually quite pricey, compared to other local restaurants. The coffee was fine but again, nothing special. I don't see what all the fuss is about. Maybe go if you want western food?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Hive in early January based on TA reviews and we were pleased with our choice. This is run by Australians and is a hipster-slash-backpacker haven. We sat on cushions (no chairs) in the loft and had excellent coffee, pancakes (also excellent), and a delicious chicken and vegetable curry-esque concoction (can't remember its name!). The service from the Cambodian server was good. We spoke to one of the Australian owners, and while he seemed a bit unfriendly and pretentious, I imagine he gets sick of the largely Australian clientele wanting to ask all about his experiences as an ex-pat. We would definitely eat here again for the atmosphere and the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Really good service and excellent food. Its mainly western food however as the owners are western it actually tastes like western food. The place has a very nice ambiance and is quite funky

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hive Siem Reap also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Hive Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hive Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.