We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable 5-star hotel with incredible value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Borei Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road 6 # 0369 | Banteay Chas, Slorkram, Siem Reap 0369, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Winter Deal !
Ranked #20 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unbelievable 5-star hotel with incredible value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

The room was beautiful with dark hardwood floors, a very comfortable bed, robes and slippers, and elegant Khmer-style décor. The sheets, duvet, and pillows were amazing and the whole room looked very stylish and well put together. There was also a nice table with chairs, a good TV, free, fast in-room wifi, and a great balcony over-looking the beautiful pool area. The bathroom was very large with a separate glass-enclosed shower and a big claw foot tub. The whole place was spotless and the a/c was fantastic. There was also a built-in universal remote by the bed that controlled all climate and lighting for the room and bathroom which was very useful.

The hotel as a whole was beautiful and apart from having to wait at the bus station for the hotel pick-up that was late, the service was good too. In the lobby and restaurant, there was always a girl playing nice background music on traditional Khmer instruments. The beautiful pool was big and very clean and the poolside bar and lounge area was a great place to relax after a long day of sight-seeing. There was also a rooftop bar with a nice view and good happy hour specials. The breakfast buffet was phenomenal with a huge assortment of baked goods, cheeses, salamis, bacon, sausages, potatoes, grilled vegetables, Asian cuisine, waffles, pancakes, salad bar, fresh fruits, fruit juices, and a made-to-order omelet/egg station. Not only was there a very wide selection of items but everything was delicious and very high quality.

Conveniently located just outside the center of Siem Reap, the Borei was quiet yet a quick and cheap tuk tuk drive ($2-$3) to the lively bar and restaurant downtown area near the night bazaar and pub street. The hotel was only about 15 minutes by tuk tuk from the main Angkor Wat complex.

The value of the hotel was really unbelievable. We’ve stayed in many 5-star hotels around the world and this one was by far the best value we have ever gotten. For $79/night, we got an amazing room, huge breakfast buffet, free airport/bus station transfers, and one complimentary 1-hour massage each. (Make sure to get the oil massage not the Khmer massage because the latter was more uncomfortable than relaxing while the oil massage was very good.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    482
    71
    18
    13
See reviews for
431
972
146
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights and all the other good reviews are true. lovely staff, excellent breakfast buffet. The only snag is the price charged for laundry service. USD3 for ironing a shirt. For the price paid, I could overlook that. There was free high speed internet in the room (not WiFi)
Even though the spa was lovely, I got a good massage off Pub street for a fraction of the price charged inhouse. All said, it was good value for money. I will go back when next in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We booked two roms for 7 nights in April 2010 through Asiarooms and got a very good deal. The rooms were very nicely presented, well appointed, clean and charming. The breakfast selection was good and staff attentive.
The hotel has a nice pool with plenty of sun loungers which is a great place to relax after a day siteseeing!
The hotel restaurant is reasonably priced and the food good. The afternoon tea buffet is especially good value.
To get to the city centre it is easy to get a tuktuk at the hotel entrance and it costs about 3 or 4 US dollars for upto 4 people. There are also loads of tuktuks in the city centre to bring you back.. If you want to eat in the centre ask to go to "Pub Street" which is full of nice places to eat.
Remember you pay for everything in US dollars not local currency, so take lots of small value dollar bills to pay for taxis, tips etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Loved the Borei Angkor Resort & Spa. We booked on Expedia or somewhere like that and got a very good rate for the hotel. I kept fearing that there would be a catch, but there wasn't. They picked us up from the airport and drove us back for free. The room was big, and the design was very comfy. The bathroom was gigantic for a hotel room and had a lovely clawtooth tub and spacious glass shower. The free breakfast buffet was extremely fresh and included pretty much anything you could want. The pho was out of this world. Staff were generally very friendly. The view from my room wasn't anything too special, but I didn't come to Siem Reap to sit in my hotel room, so that wasn't an issue. The pool was quiet and pleasant. All in all, I'd gladly stay here again and again. What a great place! You could spend hundreds of dollars on some of the fancier hotels and you wouldn't get all that much more. Stay here and enjoy the best of both worlds - value and luxury.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Just got back from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Borei. I was going to go with Le Meridien until I found an amazing last minute deal for $44/night here! This was an amazing value for the price and I was not disappointed. The staff and service was amazing albeit food service was a little slow. Everyone was so nice and gracious and chilled towel and drink at check in was wonderful. I thought the spa was great and although obviously more expensive than places in town, was worth it for the atmosphere and relaxation. The food was all decent, nothing horrible or spectacular. Dinner buffet I thought was very good, probably better than any other buffet I've had. Also depending on what you order for lunch, a salad or a sandwich often ends up costing the same as what you would pay in town after the tuk tuk ride, and you get a much more comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and better service.

I would probably rank this hotel 5 stars for service and 4 stars for the property itself. I think it is among the best in Siem Reap but probably a little less luxury than say Le Meridien, Sofitel, or Hotel de la Paix. Although I didn't find any of these things to be problems, issues to be noted are:

-Some areas could use updating, bathrooms are somewhat dated looking to be from the late 90's, lifts and hallways are a bit dark and dismal and not very inviting, no AC either
-Beds are very very hard, although I was still able to sleep on them
-If you get a pool view, the balcony has no privacy since the hotel has an L shape configuration
-AC only comes on when keycard is in the slot, so when you come back all hot from the temples you do not feel cold AC right away in the room
-no wifi in room, and wire is not that long, so cannot use internet in balcony or in the bed, also internet access is inconvenient, must get username and pw every 24 hours from front desk, although they will bring it up to you, you cannot access internet by yourself from laptop
-slippers are not new and you are charged if you take slippers (not so keen on the idea of wearing worn slippers that have been on others' feet)
-if you're looking for nightlife (which I wasn't), there really is none in the hotel, everyone pretty much diappears after dinnertime, the live music I saw always had no audience

To hire a car through hotel is $22 for half day and $35 for full day. To go to Banteay Srei is $10 more but I think it's worth seeing. It is very convenient to take a tuk tuk to town for $1-$2 each way.

All in all I had a wonderful stay here and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I booked this hotel thru expedia with its 50% discount (it's last minute offers, I suppose). It turned out this is by far the most value for money hotel i ever paid for. Unbelievably helpful staff, very clean, very delicious foods with great restaurant. The whole building is heavily decorated with local style (you wouldn't believe the amount of wood they use) but I find it rahter beautiful. They also have a very nice spa with very oriental look.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Borei Angkor Hotel and Spa is a extremely nice hotel and a great value for the dollar. The hallways are not cooled nor are you able to keep the A/C on in the rooms. (One room key card and you insert it to turn on the electricity in rooms. Very cost effective for the hotel). The hotel is located near the center of Siem Reap Town, the hotel is a short drive to the Angkor Temple Complex and the Old Market area. The hotel decor reflects the intricate and ornate designs that adorn the ancient monument of Khmer Culture, lots of dark polished wood. Quite beautiful.
Our stay included breakfast, very large selection of various international dishes, if you go away hungry, it's your own fault; as well as free internet access.

The day spa is a real bargain and well worth taking advantage of some of the services after a day climbing around on the temples.

Through the hotel we booked a car and driver, Sobutha, to take us out each day to the temple complex We highly recommend Sobutha if you need a driver, he was very informative about the area and gave great suggestions.

We loved this hotel and highly recommend it for location, friendly staff and good food and overall great value!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borei Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road 6 # 0369 | Banteay Chas, Slorkram, Siem Reap 0369, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Borei Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aptly named after ‘a territory of Angkor’ in Cambodian, Borei Angkor Resort & Spa – a truly Cambodian five-star hotel – is set right in the center of Siem Reap, where privacy and connectivity blend together to form a perfect base for exploring the “Kingdom of Wonder”.Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is ideally situated within 7 km from airport, 7 km from Angkor Wat, and within 5 minutes’ drive of the main shops center, Night Market, restaurants and bars – Pub Street and other town attractions in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Borei Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borei Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Resort And Spa
Borei Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.