We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff but rooms need a revamp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Borei Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road 6 # 0369 | Banteay Chas, Slorkram, Siem Reap 0369, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Winter Deal !
Ranked #20 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Poole Dorset
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Excellent staff but rooms need a revamp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Originally we had a deluxe room but this overlooked the rebuilding works- which had not been mentioned at all. The room was small dark and had a curtained window between the bedroom and bathroom! . However with the help of the lovely jasmine we were reallocated a larger twin room which was ugh better . The wiring flickered and the bathroom is quirky. The breakfast is reasonable but more types of coffee are needed. However the staff are so delightful ,helpful and just pleasant it was in the end a good stay. A revamp is needed and will take it back up to 5 star status. I cannot comment on the privilege floor as it was full.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hang S, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Familydoctor,

Greetings from Siem Reap, Kingdom of wonder - Cambodia!

We would like to sincerely thank you for your kind comments about about room facilities and services. I am sorry that our facilities did not met your expectation, will take good care of the wiring and will look into what we could do to improve the room and the bathroom.
I am glad to read that have enjoyed the friendly, helpful, and attentive services which provided by our local talents. We are pleased to read that Jasmine was able to take care of you and conducted the good recovery service as shared.
For your kind information, we do serve varieties of coffee during breakfast as well, apart from the standard american coffee. I feel sorry that our staff have felt to notice that you did not like our coffee served during breakfast. Hope to be able to service you the freshly brewed coffee through out your stay the next time you and your family visit us. Possibly the Privilege Floor would be available for the next visit.

We do appreciate your time for sharing with us and our readers. Most of all we have a number of things that we could do better.

Very best,
Nara Thon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    483
    71
    18
    13
See reviews for
431
973
146
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the resort we were greeted with a smile from every staff member we encountered throughout our week long stay at the hotel...and that remained the case until the day we left. The attention to service is impeccable at this resort.

The breakfast was spectacular, offering a variety of fresh and delicious Western and Eastern options. The swimming pool was massive and had a good amount of seating available.

The hotel staff can help you to book tours to visit the temples and floating village. We used the hotel to book a guided tour with a car service for one day and then just tuk-tuk service the other days. In hindsight, the car wasn't really necessary on day one and we much preferred the tuk-tuk service.

The hotel offers tuk-tuk service into the center of town for the standard rate of $2 US dollars. If you need to change larger US bills into small change, the front desk staff can easily do that for you.

I would highly recommend you consider this resort when planning out where to stay in Siem
Reap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A very good resort with a really good staff. I called on short notice and arranged transport from the airport o the resort. Within 45 minutes, I had a reply. Check in went well. They knew the friends who I was going to meet.

Food was excellent as was the service. The room I had was very nice. Clean, spacious and everything world.

Over all a resort I'll return to.

The only slight downside was the "up-selling" of tours. I understand the reason, but maybe after three "no thank yous," or "I'll have to see what my friends want to do," the wonderful Staff will relax.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hang S, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear szky,

Greetings from Siem Reap, the kingdom of wonder - Cambodia!
Personally and on behalf of the team, I would like to sincerely thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with us and our readers.

Thank you for your kind comments about our room, facilities, and services. That is a real source of energy especially when it comes from a senior reviewer like yourself.

I am terribly sorry that our staff was not able to read the line when come to upsetting. We will on the training to improve that part.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to the resort once again, in the very near future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Very best,
Nara Thon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Overall this place is pretty amazing. All of the reviews here are pretty accurate. Service was always pleasant although they try,they don't always succeed in getting what you want accomplished.

We had trouble trying to extend our stay - we had to ask multiple times, multiple days. We had to ask multiple times about confirming our reservation for a guided tour to Angkor Wat - the tour guide even came late. I tried to surprise my boyfriend by ordering flowers and a bottle of champagne and told them to put it on my card - instead they charged it to the room on my boyfriend's card...What was most off-putting was when we had booked a bus with them to get to Bangkok. They had told us to meet them in the lobby the next day at 7:15am to get picked up by a minivan to take us to the bus station. From there we would hop on the bus that would take us to the Poipet border crossing and hop on a different bus to take us to Bangkok. My boyfriend is pretty tall and from our past experiences traveling, we always double and triple check to make sure we are on a spacious bus with A/C because what they tell you isn't always what you get.

So basically we wake up early and the minivan to pick us up is late. They said this is usual but to not worry because we will make the bus in time. The bus ticket says the bus leaves for Poipet at 8 - it is now 7:45... my boyfriend and I are freaking out because our ride still hasn't arrived to take us to the bus station.

After explaining that we cannot miss the bus they had their hotel transportation take us - however they took us to the wrong place. Eventually we had to chase down the actual bus and board after it had already left the bus station. What a harrowing stressful experience. We were the last on the bus and of course only the crappy seats were available.

So then we get to Poipet and go through 2 hrs waiting in line to get our passports stamped only yo walk over and find out that we have to wait for another bus. That bus that we were waiting for ended up being a minibus that they were filling up like sardines in a can. We were livid as we had expected a large VIP bus... we also asked Borei about this and they had said we would get a big bus as well... When we asked the guy who wanted to get us on the minibus if we could wait for a larger bus he said that they didn't exist haha.

All the waiting and stress was such a nightmare we walked over to get a private driver to take us all the way to Bangkok. Not only were we able to drive past the minibus that we were supposed to be on, we also noticed there were big buses going to bangkok - we saw them on the way there on the highway!!! What a scam...

My advice would be this if you decide to stay at this place:

TRIPLE CHECK EVERYTHING YOU WANT OR NEED - otherwise you might not get it at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I, both in our 70''s, and having traveled all over the world, experienced a new high in service, caring, and respect at the Borei Angkor Resort in Siem Reap, Cambodia, The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food great, and the staff could not do enough for us. We were personally welcomed when we arrived and this expression of welcome was everywhere during our entire stay,so much so,that leaving was difficult , Truly, a new standard of hotel management has been set. We strongly recommend this hotel for your trip.

Room Tip: Just express your wishes. They will try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Finding this hotel & then staying at the hotel was like getting a room at the ritz or four seasons for an amazing price! The hotel is one of a kind when it comes to international standards for a boutique hotel. Its easily a five star type hotel from the separate room for check-in to staff to breakfast to amazing deluxe suite room.
I stayed here 4 nights, 3 of them were in a deluxe suite which was only $20 more then the regular room, i believe i paid , $120-130 per night, for a room that should cost around $250-350.
Look at my other hotel reviews, there from all over -after staying at all those hotels, most were "name brand" & then staying here at Borei Angkor -im just stunned that such luxury can be given at this price.
First of all it doesnt matter where you stay in Siem Reap, all the hotels are all near each other, taxi's are cheap & everything is the same distance from the airport & to Angkor Wat. So location in siem reap is not a factor, & Borei is well located in Siem Reap anyway.
The Room was spacious with wooden floors & moderately comfortable beds. The deluxe room had a huge balcony over looking the pool. Controlling the room was very easy with the central console located near the nightstand. In wall cabinetry was efficient with great size. Plenty of International channels available from all over -you will get your info at this hotel -especially with high speed free wifi, yes i said free.
The Bathroom in the Deluxe suite was its own room, huge tub to bath in, & amazing standing shower with plenty of hot water & amazing drainage. The shower is enclosed in all glass & the drain is located outside the glass shower area! great idea first of a kind ive seen. Vanity is rich & way above standard -the bathroom is like a Newly built InterContinental or Ritz -its my favorite part of room.
The hotel concierge is very nice & can set up anything needed in minutes. Most rates come with included breakfast (6-10am), because its free you would expect it to not be great, in this case its the best free breakfast you may come across, or definitely comparable to the best. The pool area & overall hotel grounds are nice -you can almost lounge anywhere in hotel & spa was well priced.
The standard room (non-deluxe) is nice & well above standard, but for the value i suggest you book a deluxe room -because there is that much of a difference.
Also -if you are going to view Sunrise at Angkor Wat in peak Traveling seasons, leave hotel at 345-4AM sharp, you'll get first row in front of pond <----very important.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent 3 days at the Hotel Angkor. The service was wonderful and the staff very accommodating. The pool and pool bar were beautiful although service was a little slow at times. The spa was terrific and very available. All of those in our small group used the spa and a number of different treatments.
The rooms were large and quite adequate.
Excellent and varied buffet breakfast and dinner service.

Room Tip: Any room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borei Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road 6 # 0369 | Banteay Chas, Slorkram, Siem Reap 0369, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#13 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#16 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Borei Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aptly named after ‘a territory of Angkor’ in Cambodian, Borei Angkor Resort & Spa – a truly Cambodian five-star hotel – is set right in the center of Siem Reap, where privacy and connectivity blend together to form a perfect base for exploring the “Kingdom of Wonder”.Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is ideally situated within 7 km from airport, 7 km from Angkor Wat, and within 5 minutes’ drive of the main shops center, Night Market, restaurants and bars – Pub Street and other town attractions in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Borei Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borei Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Resort And Spa
Borei Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.