We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Borei Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road 6 # 0369 | Bantay Chas, Slorkram, Siem Reap 0369, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 216 hotels in Siem Reap
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights whilst in Siem Reap, we found the staff to be very good particularly the concierge guys, very willing and able to help you with requests. The location is also quite good, to the pub st area is a $2 tuk tuk. The breakfast buffet is also very good and is what you would expect at a very good hotel. My wife had several spa treatments and said they were excellent. The rooms are getting a little tired and do need freshening up a little, having said that it is still well worth it. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,190
    393
    58
    15
    8
See reviews for
308
707
105
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed for three days at the end of Christmas week at the Borei. First the plusses: our rooms were charming, the breakfast buffet was excellent (better than the breakfast buffet in our fancy hotels in Phnom Penh and Bangkok), and every member of the staff tried really hard to please us. Additionally, the pool area was attractive. The Christmas decorations were a bit over the top, but they added to the charm of the place. There were only two negatives: the corny American Christmas music drove me a little crazy. How many times do you want to listen to the awful song, "I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus last night"? Second, the hotel almost made us miss our IBIS bus back to Phnom Penh because of poor communication between the front desk, the concierge desk and bell man upfront. Specifically, we were told by one concierge to check out of our room and wait in the lounge for the bus. However, when the bus came, the bell man could not find us because we had checked out of our rooms and a second concierge person or the front desk did not know that we were waiting patiently in the lounge, even though our bags were in a corral next to the concierge. We had even checked with the concierge when the bus was 20 minutes late and were told that the bus would not leave without us. Unfortunately, it had already come and gone. Luckily, when we figured out the mistake, the bell man directed a hotel staff member to drive us to the IBIS bus, which we made with 2 minutes to spare.

Room Tip: We liked being on the second floor overlooking the pool and not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first trip to Siem Reap, and I took pains in booking the right hotel for us. I would have wanted La Residence D' Angkor but it was fully booked months before. Trip Advisor had high scores for Borei. The hotel turned out to be a very large ordinary hotel, with outdated interiors and tacky Christmas decors. We did not get the rooms that were confirmed to us, but at least the manager apologized for it. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was a good spread, but it did not change the whole 5 days we were there : ( Our daughter found respite in the huge pool in between temple tours. New Year's Eve was particularly bad as the party noise became unbearable til past 1 am, and we could not get any sleep. Overall, the hotel was ok, service was fine. But we will definitely stay elsewhere the next time we visit. Perhaps a boutique hotel next time - Viroth's, Frangipana, etc. Other big establishments like Residence D' Angkor, Heritage Hotel and soon to be opened Hyatt all look promising.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hang S, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Jessica A,

Very happy new year to you and your lovely family!
Trust that you and your family have had a good holiday while staying in Siem Reap and have collected some memorable experiences while visiting the kingdom of wonders. Hope that would keep you smiling for sometimes when you talk about it.

I am so sorry to learn that you have not been able to enjoy our beautiful resort while staying with us. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to sincerely apologise that you did not get the room that you wanted. Our duty manager who attended to you while checking in were quick to learn about the room type different offered to you, and he has decided to waive four compulsory new year eve dinners at usd 125 per guest in compensation to the error that we did. The gala dinner during the new year eve was designed to enhance the residents experience while staying with us. The evening party started with lots of interesting and exciting activities that came along with the free flow of selective beverage, followed by a beautiful and well spread buffet, and accompanied by a very entertaining live band, string quartet, and cambodian cultural performances. We did offer our resident the count down in style with glasses of champagne and the firework. That was spectacular and were enjoyed by most residents if not all.

On top of that I thank you for the positive comment about our breakfast, but I am sad that you were not able to enjoy the variety selections of our well spread buffet breakfast. Our attentive service staff and the dedicated kitchen team are very flexible to answer to any special request should it makes known to them.

After all, we thank you for taking your valuable time to share your holiday experience with our readers.

With best wishes of the season,
Nara Thon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is absolutely gorgeous. I stayed there during the Christmas eve's gala dinner, and it did a great job setting up a fabulous party. It even has a nice little decoration in front of the hotel that surprisingly attracted a lot of locals at night. But the most highlight about this place is its people. We faced a serious last minute change in our itenery and had to extend another night, but the hotel was fully booked during this time. But the manager tried everything he could to accommodate our request. And such a genuine gesture is reflected through every service offered by the staff in this great hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently stayed here for three nights and had an excellent experience! Some highlights:
-Very friendly staff
-Nicely decorated rooms - lovely bathrooms/bathtubs, spacious, and tastefully decorated
-Huge buffet breakfast selection
-Nice pool area
-Central location
-In the evenings, short tuk-tuk ride ($2) to the pub area/night market - we went each night

If I were returning to Siem Reap I would stay here without hesitation.

Note that they are doing construction in the front of the hotel - building some kind of performance stage area for traditional Khmer dancing. If you look on their website they are very transparent about this. Note that some rooms overlook the construction area so you should inquire about that when you check in. We originally were placed in one of those rooms and were able to get a room overlooking the pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

but overpriced if you pay more than that. I paid almost $1000 USD because my decision to stay in cambodia was very last min of the busiest year end season. 5 start hotel quality here could be 3 starts in quatlity somewhere else. The conceirge lady was very good but the room service was awful. You had to ask a couple of times to get things done. It took me at least 30 min, clost to an hours to see them actually finish my simpliest requests. The suite room is nice but I can find much better quality in the developed nations for this price. So don't pay too much. The you feel better about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hang S, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear QualityMattersMost,

A very happy new year to you and your family!

Trust that your have had a safe trip back home.
I do believe that a short vacation to Cambodia during the busy festive season would serve as a good break from your busy schedule, and you have enjoyed your stay in the kingdom of wonders.

Thank you so very much for your kind and constructive feedbacks about our services and facilities. We do enjoy a lot of positive feedbacks in the past; and we don’t normally set the wrong expectation in term of pricing and service quality delivering. We believe in value for money, and we do believe in paying less but getting more. We have adopted a concept of Muddita at heart that we believe in making our customers/residents happy so that we could be very happy in return.

We have made some errors, and it is very costly to recover. Unfortunately, these things have happened to you. After learning that we have made a mistake, I did personally, in the capacity of general manager of the resort, trying to reach you in the hope that we could do something to compensate the error that we have internally created.

Feel free to write me few lines, and I would like to discuss how we could possibly recover from the damage we have done. We wish to gain back your confidence and the trust, and seeking for the second opportunity to serve you one more time, and to do it right.

Thank you very much for your kind consideration.

With best wish of the season,

Nara Thon
General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Borei Angkor hotel on the Privilege Floor in Nov 2012. Within the hour all staff we encountered already knew us by name and we were greeted as such throughout our stay. The staff remembered the things we had done, what we enjoyed and were consistently helpful an informative. (The staff MAKE this hotel even more special!) The accomodations are lovely and relaxing; the food amazing and the service personal. The hotel is well situated within the city so it's easy to travel from. The concierge staff were able to arrange all our tours, everything done to the "n-th" degree! Truly one of the best places we have ever stayed in the world and would recommend this hotel whole heartedly! Heavenly!

Room Tip: The view to the city was fun as we could watch activity. Even with that, our room was so quiet! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borei Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Borei Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Resort And Spa
Borei Angkor Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Hotel
Address: National Road 6 # 0369 | Bantay Chas, Slorkram, Siem Reap 0369, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#30 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Borei Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aptly named after ‘a territory of Angkor’ in Cambodian, Borei Angkor Resort & Spa – a truly Cambodian five-star hotel – is set right in the center of Siem Reap, where privacy and connectivity blend together to form a perfect base for exploring the “Kingdom of Wonder”.Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is ideally situated within 7 km from airport, 7 km from Angkor Wat, and within 5 minutes’ drive of the main shops center, Night Market, restaurants and bars – Pub Street and other town attractions in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Borei Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.