We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous friendly resort in the middle of it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Borei Angkor Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   National Road 6 # 0369 | Banteay Chas, Slorkram, Siem Reap 0369, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Winter Deal !
Ranked #23 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous friendly resort in the middle of it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Siem Reap apparently has exploded with hotels and resort hotels for tourists looking to visit Angkor. Many of them are owned by foreigners, thus not really helping the locals. Borei Angkor is owned by local Khmers, so you feel even better while enjoying the amenities of this fabulous resort.

I say resort because it's not just a hotel. It is so grand, and large, that you feel like you stepped into a 5 star, and reasonable prices. The woodwork is amazing, and the staff are right there to help you, no matter if you're coming in for the first time, or happen to be in the elevator.

We had a room through a package that included two 60 minute massages at their on-site spa. The king-bed room was a newer one, with a sitting area, and an outdoor bed on the large balcony. The bathroom was gorgeous with an old-fashioned tub, and modern fixtures. The only problem was that there was no wi-fi in this new wing at the time, so we would have to go out down the hallway to the 4th floor lounge area to get internet. (This is was not a real problem since we were always out exploring, or enjoying the amazing pool area).

Every morning, there was a buffet breakfast included in our package (about $110/night) which featured all Western AND Eastern breakfasts. Omelets and Noodles made to order, fresh waffles or pancakes, you name it, they had it. And you could sit outside at the pool area, which was so peaceful.

We had dinner 2 nights at the hotel, which was quite tasty. The second night, I tried one of the Khmer samplers that they featured, which was amazing, and WAY too much food. I wanted to try it all, but I think I would have exploded. There is also a poolside menu with lighter fare, which they will bring to you while you sit in the outdoor beds overlooking the tropical pool area...heaven.

The spa was quite beautiful. The massages were good, but you have to be okay with being naked in front of them, as their transitions to clothed to table ready were not the most discreet (I'm used to being able to disrobe and get under the towel while the masseuse is out of the room).

And please, if you get the chance, explore Siem Reap while you're there to see Angkor. Angkor is amazing, and will take up many days because you want to see everything. The market (easily accessible by a $2 - and ONLY $2 (do not get swindled) - tuktuk) has everything you could be looking for.

Also, go to the main street near the market where all the expats go to hang out. It's a little off putting because all the foreigners are there, but you'll meet some cool people and food is so cheap! Make sure you try Chicken Amok - sooo good!

I would DEFINITELY stay there again. But stay away from the front desk person Sovichet. He was so mean, and tried to deny our late check-out that our initial front desk person set up for us (Alex - who was so gracious and let us have this late check-out even though we never asked).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,715
    486
    71
    18
    13
See reviews for
434
974
146
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just booked a room here for 4 days and now the management is say that we have to sign up for the $95 per person dinner on Dec 24th or we will lose our reservation? We don't even celebrate X-mas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hang S, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
I would like to extend my personal thanks to you for taking the time to comment on our services even though you did not have a chance to experience it.

Allow me to share, Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is known one the best resort in town that provide the best quality services toward our Resident judged by international well experience travelers. All resorts and hotels in siem reap are always organizing the activities to cater different traveler needs who are visiting the heritage site called Angkor Wat.

It is with my regret to learn that we did not have a chance to serve you and allow you to experience the moment of fascination on this special occasion. 340 people attended the event left with great memorable experience during this festive season that we are organizing.
Whereas, you can see the result that we received many good comment on trip advisor from the resident described of their satisfaction toward our services/ staff.

Again, thank you for taking your time to comment and I do hope we can have a chance to serving you in the near future.

Thank you

Sokvanna HANG
General Manager
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

The staff were very considerate and the hotel was peaceful with tastefully designed rooms

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoreiAngkor1, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for choosing us as place of your choice

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our team, and I, thank you for the positive comment you have shared in trip advisor.

I am ooking forward to welcoming you back home.

With my personal best regards,

Sokvanna HANG
General Manager
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have had such a pleasant stay at the hotel, all due to excellent services from the hotel attendant, Alex who take care of everything making this a very enjoyable for both my mum and I. Having not been to Siem Reap before, Alex even took heart in providing good recommendations and travel tips. Right from the start we step into the hotel, the service was outstanding. Food was good, spa was impressive and we will be back for more. Well done.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have travelled extensively in Asia and stayed in some very good hotels but this hotel takes customer service to a whole new level. The Management and staff were outstanding offering amazing service with genuine warmth and friendliness. The facilities were excellent offering something for everyone. The food was excellent as were the spa facilities. To add something a bit special to your Cambodian experience, we thoroughly recommend the Khmer cooking lesson that the hotel offers. The lesson was conducted by one of the hotel chefs and his staff and included a trip to the local 'wet' market. Again, this was conducted in a way that made us feel as though we were the most important guests in the hotel. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoreiAngkor1, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for choosing us as place of your choice

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our team, and I, thank you for the positive comment you have shared in trip advisor.

Our chef is indeed delighted to hear your kind words. He prides to share the Khmer Food cooking method with foreign tourist such as you to enable them understand the Khmer Cuisine

I am looking forward to welcoming you back home.

With my personal best regards,

Sokvanna HANG
General Manager
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Spent 3 nights in Siem Reap and can not say enough good things about the Borei Angkor. Some small mis-communications, but in each case the management solved the problem swiftly and with no fuss. Hotel staff is pleasant and happy to help. Our room had an outdoor hammock/bed with a mosquito net which was perfect at night. Only negative was in the shower... water extremely hot (but they do warn you at least). With no hot unfortunately pressure was very low, so it required some skill to get it to a manageable temperature. The Spa was good with reasonable prices. Only one restaurant, breakfast buffet was good (about what you would expect). The Khmer dinner was really nice. The hotel has tuk-tuk drivers waiting outside to take you into town so that was very considerate. Overall a great experience and I would highly recommend the Borei Angkor to stay at.

Room Tip: The view from any of the outside rooms is nothing special. Looks out over the city. Interior rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoreiAngkor1, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
It is with regret to learn, that you found our facilities and services not to be up to standard and we hasten to apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Whilst I am pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, I have made a special note of the points mentioned which did not meet with your approval, and immediate action has been taken to rectify this.

Allow me to elaborate of the Resort facilities, there are six outlets at the resort and serving different menu such as Tropicana, Damnak Lounge, Rosil Kiosk, Borei Cafe, Bakong Lounge and Room Service to cater the need of our resident. We would do thing differently if we were informed of the said issued while you staying with us. Furthermore, I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our team, especially to the food and beverage/ Mudita Spa staff.

Such information is invaluable to the smooth running of our operation, and our endeavor to provide the highest standards possible. I am looking forward to welcoming you back home very soon

Thank you

Sokvanna HANG
General Manager
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel might not have the best hotel rooms or restaurants, but it certainly have the best service in Siemreap.
We, a group of 10, joined their winter package for 5 days.
Location is 15 mins from Angkorwat. Price is reasonable.
Staff, Alex is smart and caring. Driver, Borith is smart. Cashier bit slow.
Room is spacious and clean. Bathroom is spacious with tub and shower.
Breakfast has quite a lot of choice, with both Asian and Western.
A la Carte menu OK but pork chop need improvement.
Sunset boating with Khmer dinner on board is just awesome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool ( east side ) is recommended. You can see the sunrise from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoreiAngkor1, General Manager at Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
What a wonderful comments!

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction with our services.

I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our team especially to Alex and Borith. Such correspondence is always highly motivating the member of Borei Angkor Resort & Spa.


I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you

Sokvanna HANG
General Manager
Borei Angkor Resor & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borei Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borei Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: National Road 6 # 0369 | Banteay Chas, Slorkram, Siem Reap 0369, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#15 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Borei Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aptly named after ‘a territory of Angkor’ in Cambodian, Borei Angkor Resort & Spa – a truly Cambodian five-star hotel – is set right in the center of Siem Reap, where privacy and connectivity blend together to form a perfect base for exploring the “Kingdom of Wonder”.Borei Angkor Resort & Spa is ideally situated within 7 km from airport, 7 km from Angkor Wat, and within 5 minutes’ drive of the main shops center, Night Market, restaurants and bars – Pub Street and other town attractions in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Borei Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borei Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Borei Angkor Resort And Spa
Borei Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borei Angkor Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.