We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, with a philanthropic mission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Leaf Book Cafe

New Leaf Book Cafe
No. 306, Group 10 Phum Mondul 1 Svay Dungkum Siem Reap | Svay Dungkum, 306 Street 9, Siem Reap SR, Cambodia
+855 (0) 63 766 016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 475 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New Leaf Book Cafe is a bookshop, restaurant and events space in one. 100% of our profits are donated to local good causes. Mission To provide stable incomes to projects that offer support and opportunity to disadvantaged cambodians in Siem Reap province. We are a hub for information on responsible tourism, the activities of NGOs in the region and offer an array of locally produced goods. Company Overview Located in the heart of Siem Reap, New Leaf Book Cafe is an oasis for those looking to escape the hustle and bustle of Cambodia's most popular tourist town. The cafe provides training and paid work experience in the service industry to disadvantage youths. We give free or low cost office space to local NGOs and free shop space at the back of the cafe. New Leaf Book Cafe donates 100% of profits to local projects that support and provide opportunities to the people of Siem Reap province. So far we have established partnerships with a number of NGOs including: Cambodia Children's House of Peace, Small Art School, Women's Resource Center, Anjali House, Build Your Future Today Center, Kamonohashi Project. We also work together with ConCERT and Collaboration Cambodia.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Delicious food, with a philanthropic mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Sometimes high ranking TA places, can be a let down in reality... However this place was a wonderful discovery.

With its main focus being to give it's profits to bettering the lives of women, children and also other minority groups, such as the LGBT community, having delicious food is a bonus.

Cocktails and wines are less than $3.50, with mains ranging from $3-$7.50. The pan fried snapper was amazing, the fried pork ribs were super moreish, and the seafood lasagne was really scrummy.

Brilliant service and clean toilets rounded off a great evening. You should try and visit when in SR.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
The New Leaf team is so glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit, as everyone involved has played an integral part in ensuring that the food, wine, cocktails and facilities are as wonderful as possible. Thank you so much for your visit, five-star review and mention of our 100% non profit status. We are truly pleased that you felt your experience matched the ranking we have achieved on this site!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    63
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Such a lovely place and grey food. I had the grandmas plate with fruit banana bread (more a hot cake) and egg white omelette - a lil random but lovely. My partner had the sweet and sour noodles - great too. Nice staff and a great book shop - nice bathroom too. Check out their website for a map of where they are - it sounds confusing on here but shouldn't be

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time so share your 5-star review with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. The team at New Leaf is glad you enjoyed our food and large selection of books, which were donated by generous people from around the world who support our mission of helping vulnerable and disadvantaged populations in Siem Reap. The design work was also donated by a wonderful couple who support our mission, which is why the even the bathrooms are so nice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This place is not so out of the way as other reviews would have you believe, very close to the tourist part of town in fact. It is also not-for-profit which is admirable and deserves support. If you are a book worm you will love it. The food is good and coffee too. Service also with a smile and very friendly. They also support CONCERT a great little local NGO (among others) so I would recommend it - only a block from the old market so try to find it, its not hard.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
The New Leaf team thanks you for your visit, taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for joining the growing number of people mentioning our 100% not for profit status as a reason to visit. We are honoured to be able to support a long and grow ing list of wonderful local NGOs such as ConCERT Cambodia, whose office is located on the first floor of our space. We are also truly glad you enjoyed our food, service and coffee, and did not have any trouble finding us just a block from the heart of the tourist area of Siem Reap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food for a good cause ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

So happy to come across this beautiful cafe hidden in the hustle and bustle of the town centre. Down a quiet alley way far enough from pub street for some relaxing amazing food but still in a perfect handy location. Non profit as well so your money is going to a good cause (always different from what I've read) with cheap prices combined with the friendly and helpful staff you can't help but tip. Really good western style coffee if you're feeling like something different. Cute settings if you want to chill out and read during the day

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your visit and taking the time to add to our list of 5-star reviews. We are especially glad that you enjoyed dining at a restaurant that donates 100% of its profits to a variety of local charities dedicated to helping the vulnerable and disadvantaged populations of Siem Reap Province. Of course, the New Leaf team is also very glad you enjoyed our food, coffee, books and relaxed ambiance, and hope that you have a chance to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to relax, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was so glad I stumbled upon this place while wandering around! They show films on Monday evenings, which was an educational treat! I went back several times and lounged with a book. Couldn't recommend it more!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you so much for mentioning Monday Movie Night in your five-star review! This series of films about Cambodia and the larger Southeast Asian region is just one of a variety of events the New Leaf team organizes in our 2nd floor event space, which overlooks the beautiful grounds of the Preah Prom Rath Pagoda. And thank you for your repeat visits as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Leaf Book Cafe also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to New Leaf Book Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Leaf Book Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.