We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place slow service ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Leaf Book Cafe

New Leaf Book Cafe
306 Phum Mondul | 1 Svay Dungkum Siem Reap, Siem Reap, Cambodia
+855(0) 63 766 016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 508 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, International, Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New Leaf Book Cafe is a bookshop, restaurant and events space in one. 100% of our profits are donated to local good causes.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place slow service ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place was an excellent choice. The food quality was extremely highly. Their presentation well though and great taste

The restaurant has a great feel inside, clean and well designed

The only fault I found was slow service, in fact extremely slow service however they were all very nice and could communicate well

Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time to review New Leaf on TripAdvisor. We take all feedback from our guests very seriously, and do everything possible to ensure the most timely service possible for the products we offer. The New Leaf team appreciates your patience, and you clearly understand that offerings like handmade pasta and made-to-order smoothies take time to prepare to the highest level of quality. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    78
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Loved this place, a wonderful oasis in a busy city centre.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Saw this place advertised on TA and when you see it for real, it is just a lovely looking place. Once inside you are immediately relaxed, it is quiet and colourful, there are books on several shelves for reading in the bar or buying for US4. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner, open as a bar for drinks all day, coffee etc. there is small menu but wow the food was fantastic and for 2 people US11, we robbed them!!!!. The fish amok was served in 3 banana leaves, we had 2 other dishes and 2 drinks, a lovely place and service with a smile. The famous or infamous Pub Street is only 2 mins away, I love that street but sometimes you just need a quiet place to think.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
The team at the New Leaf Book Café is glad you found our little oasis, enjoyed your visit and took the time to share it with the TripAdvisor community so that others can find our respite from the controlled chaos of Pub Street just a few hundred metres away! Your glowing, five-star review could not have been much more thorough or accurate, and we hope it inspires even more people to seek out Siem Reap's only non-profit book café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the cheese crepe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

After a long walk, we decided to have some food and coffee. It was really nice and quiet environment to read books here. Food served here was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for stopping in the café and taking the time to share your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. The New Leaf team is glad you enjoyed your food, drinks and browsing the thousands of books that line our shelves. Almost all of them are also available for sale, and 100% the profits the cafe generates, whether from book or food sales or special events in our 2nd floor space, are donated to small NGOs helping the poor and vulnerable of Siem Reap province.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Western Feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the cafe on a Sunday midday after touring the Grand Circuit. The coffee was good and the meal we had was OK...not as flavorful as the Cambodian food we had been eating. The highlight of the meal was dessert: part of a pumpkin shell filled with custard and garnished with a syrup. During our meal we were serenaded by two singers (one played a guitar) who sang western favorites like "That's All." So for those who are missing a more western ambiance, this is a good choice.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
The team at the New Leaf Book Café thanks you for your visit and kind words on TripAdvisor! In the interest of preventing disappointment among future visitors, we would like to point out that one is just as likely to find an all-Cambodian atmosphere as a Western-orientated one at the Café. While our weekly Lazy Sunday Bruch has a definite Western vibe, our Monday Movie Night, for example, always features films about SE Asia (almost always about Cambodia) and we also offer Khmer cultural events such as performances by Master musicians struggling to keep their traditions alive. In short, New Leaf offers something for everyone, and liking us on Facebook is a great way to keep abrest of upcoming events, no matter what you are looking for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peguera, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is a relaxing place to have a coffee/shake, though we didn't eat here. Lovely ambiance, a huge selection of books to peruse, clean toilets and lovely staff. A few flies about but not worth putting you off. Somewhere you will go to more than once and a minute away from the chaos around the corner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KYSommelier, Public Relations Manager at New Leaf Book Cafe, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are glad you found New Leaf to be an oasis and took the time to share your views with the TripAdvisor community. We also hope you do return. If so, please rest assured that the food is of the same high quality as the food. I eat most of my meals here, and I am never disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Leaf Book Cafe also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to New Leaf Book Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Leaf Book Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.