We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiri Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kiri Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiri Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angkor High School Road | Wat Bo Village, Salakamreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
Zhuhai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Our trip to Siem Reap was made very comfortable by the very able staff at Kiri Boutique. Lekon and Bada (sorry for spelling!) we especially helpful. The trips offered by the hotel are well-organized (though you should be prepared to spend extra $$ if you go to the floating village). The pool was great and we will be back.
Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    49
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
91
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on my solo trip to Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples. I had actually booked for 3 nights through booking.com but due to a cock up in the system booking.com didn't know that the 1st night the hotel was fully booked. Mr. Kim the Manager emailed me immediately and made a booking for me at another boutique hotel for the 1st night close by which was very sweet of him. I must say the service staff and management at this hotel are top notch and go out of their way to make you comfortable. The hotel's tuk tuk drivers are very good as well. Mr. Kim also arranged an english speaking tour guide for the 2 days of temple visits. Angkor Wat is mesmerizing and should definitely be on everyone's bucket list. And when you spend a long day walking around taking pictures in the hot and humid weather, there is no better place than Kiri Boutique to unwind and relax by the pool and enjoy some of their great food. The set menu for lunch that I tried one of the days was really huge and great value for $10. All in all this is definitely a good choice of hotel for either solo or couple travelers.

Room Tip: Premier Room that opens up to the swimming pool is definitely a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Located on the edge of town in a sleepy residential area, this small hotel gives 5 star service. While the service may sometimes be slow due to the small staff, the service is definitely top notch. The wonderful staff makes you feel right at home and the cost of the food or drink doesn't change regardless of where it is served (room, restaurant, or pool). All the tour companies know this location, so we NEVER had an issue with a pick up. Additionally, the hotel has quite a few tuk tuk's standing by to take you wherever you want for a very low fee. We also asked for late check out and while a room was not available, the staff let us shower after a motor bike tour and watched our bags for the day. We found it very accommodating, sitting by the pool and relaxing until our departure. If you want a quiet and relaxing location, away from Pub Street, but still close to the major attractions, then this is your place. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have booked this hotel for 6 nights, since we wanted to visit the Angkor area not in a hurry. The hotel is located a little bit outside and away from the city evening noise, what we prefer, gut still in a 10 minute walking distance.
It is build with rooms in two 2-floor buildings forming an L around a nice modern pool with pool bar and a small garden. In the 3rd floor there is the kitchen and the restaurant. The reception and some private rooms are in a separate building.
The rooms are quite big and include all what you need for a comfortable stay here, a kingsize bed, TV, AC, a big locker, a fridge with minibar, and a water cooker. You have free water on the room and can prepare your nescafe.
The bathroom was amazing with open shower corner (with Rain shower) and enough space around the washbasin to place your personal things.
The hotel is very clean and we have not found any reason for complaints.

We had a room on the ground level with a table and two armchairs outside in front of the room, where you ca relax in the evening. On the upper floor there is a balcony with same equipment.
The Pool is very clean and it is a good refreshment after a hot and dusty temple day.

For the breakfast, which was included, you could select from a menu. We liked the asian style vegetable noodle soup, which was very delicious and coming with a fresh fruit plate. They also offer tasty dinner for reasonable prices (~5$).
Since the restaurant is located in the highest floor, you had a nice look around and could feel the fresh breeze, we liked a lot.

The Manager and the stuff are very friendly and attentive. You can ask them for any special wishes. We stayed over Chinese New Year and they invited us to join their party.

Overall we had a very good impression with this hotel and can cleary recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and were very disappointed when we learned that they did not agree to the late checkout that my friend requested for. Our flight was not until 12mn and we were really looking forward for our last day in siem reap as a day to relax. I would say this almost ruined my trip. Nevertheless this hotel left a sour taste in my mouth as the staff seem to be oblivious about their miss as they send us off with a smile in their faces.

Perks= The welcome drinks and massage were very good (not just because they were free)

Bfast= Average. (basic western). Coffee was ugh. Juice were powdered stuff.

Rooms= Average. Spacious but the bed was too firm and the tv was so tiny. No dresser, one has to go to the bathroom for a mirror.

Pool= Very Nice. Lounge area is nice too.

Service/Driver= Really good. We were very comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimsan1, Owner at Kiri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued customer from Phillipine,
Greetings from Kiri Boutique Hotel! I am Kim San, owner and I would love to say thank you for choosing Kiri Boutique Hotel for your recent stay in Siem Reap, Cambodia.
I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and I would like to apologize on behalf of Kiri Boutique Hotel for this.

This is the reason why you have had to give the "POOR" rating, because our hotel policy is not allowed the guests to check out very late. You asked us to check out at 8.00pm, not very acceptable for our policy.

***** Note: Late check-out will be offered depending on availability!!!!!

Please accept my apologies for inconvenience what your need was.
If you return to Siem Reap at any time we would love the opportunity to present our improvements to you. Please enjoy the remainder of your holiday and we wish you a safe trip back to your home country. Thank you so much and hope to see you again one day.

Best wishes,
Kim San, owner of Kiri Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Kiri, mainly because the staff are very friendly and helpful. Everyone took the time to say hello or good morning and often wanted to know about you. Some people may not like this but it made us feel very welcome. Our tuk tuk driver, Sen, was a vey cheerful and lovely man and we thoroughly enjoyed our day with him at the Angkor complex. A bargain of 10 hours for $15 with all the cold water we could drink. The food was excellent, they serve the best fish amok I've had and only $5. The breakfast was limited, but tasted good. The drinks are also very reasonable, especially during happy hour. The hotel had a lovely pool but if everyone decides to chill out beside it there isn't enough beds for everyone. Another downside is the location. It's only a 15-20 minute walk but at night that stretch feels dangerous, mainly because there's little light, hundreds of bikes and tuk tuks and plenty of holes to fall in. Although the hotel offer a $1 tuk tuk to town. If you do decide to walk to the downtown area there's a convenient mart a few hundred yards down the road. There's also an advantage to being out of the way a bit - it's quieter, so if you prefer peace and quiet in the evening you have that option. The last thing about Kiri is that it's in a developing area so there's construction work but it's not not too noisy and restricted to the day time only... if you want to sleep in after a heavy night in town this place is probably not for you! Overall an excellent place if you're looking for a little bit of luxury.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our family of 5 stayed for 5 nights at the Kiri while we explored Angkor Wat and surrounds. We booked 2 rooms, 1 for the parents and another for our 3 teenage kids.

when looking for a hotel in Siem Reap we wanted something 'local', not a chain hotel, but something more personal. Some hunting around I emailed Mr Kim with some questions and his replies were prompt, friendly and helpful.

Our 5/5 rating is made up like this:

Staff 8/5
From the first email to Mr Kim nothing was too difficult. We were picked up from the airport as organised and warmly greeted on arrival.
During our stay the hotel staff organised a full day tour of the temples (at late notice), a car twice, 'Flight of the Gibbon' and our van to Phnom Penh. Mr Kim & staff ensured we had a great guide and excellent driver.
Every time we asked for advice or help it was given freely. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to the owner were friendly and obviously enjoy being there, nothing was too much effort. It sounds cheesy, but we really felt at home with everyone at the Kiri, very much like a large family.

Hotel in general 4/5
It's a bit out of town, maybe 5 mins in a tuk tuk which are always on hand at the front, $1 to town and $2 (sometimes $3) to get back. Being a little out of the way also meant it was very quiet.
The pool area is fantastic. After walking for hours in the day it was great to arrive back and have a swim and relax.

Food 5/5
The breakfast is simple with a choice of Western or Asian and a selection of pastry. I think that their coffee could do with a major overhaul, but to be honest we struggled to find a good coffee anywhere. We did sunrise at Angkor Wat one morning and the staff offered to put together a 'breakfast box' as we were leaving at 5am. Unfortunately a miscommunication meant they were not there as promised, but, when we came out of Angkor Wat at about 8am they had been brought out to us on a tuk tuk!
We ordered food to the pool a few times and ate dinner at the hotel the last night, excellent every time. The fish amok is an absolute standout, we had this dish numerous times during our 9 days in Cambodia and the one at the Kiri was the best we had.

Rooms 2.5/5
The rooms are spacious but very simple, bed with mosquito net (not a problem when we were there), table, chair and bar fridge. the room was a bit musty when we arrived but after an airing out was fine, the air con works very well.
As others have said, the bathrooms are a bit different with the shower and toilet in the same area separated by a curtain, the floor around the toilet flooded each time we had a shower.
If you are looking for 5* luxury then the Kiri may not suit, but for our family they were great.

In our 3 weeks across Asia we stayed in a 5 different hotels (including a 5 star star luxury resort), the Kiri was by far and away our favorite place to stay, we felt at home each time we walked in to the grounds. We loved Cambodia and will be back again, a stay at the Kiri is guaranteed when in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kiri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiri Boutique Hotel

Address: Angkor High School Road | Wat Bo Village, Salakamreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiri Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located just off of Angkor High School Road directly opposite from Cambodian Mekong University. Only 1km away from town. Guests will find such attractions as the Old Market; the Pub Street area with a wide variety of dining and shopping options. Hotel offers special promotion:- Free airport pick up - Free Khmer traditional massage 60mins per each guest - Free bike ride to town - Free bike ride from hotel to Ankor complex or town. Minimum a 3-night stay if the guests book directly with hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kiri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiri Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.