We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot but average fancy food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun

The Sun
Corner Pub Street, Siem Reap 12345, Cambodia
+855 77 578 955
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 508 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza, International, Asian, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant & bar in colonial building on corner overlooking the hustle & bustle of Pub Street & the night market. Serving international & local dishes plus a wide selection of cocktails, wines and a strong focus on pizza. Balcony and terrace seating.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great spot but average fancy food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went there for lunch after a long morning of temple sightseeing. So the first thing we wanted was a cold drink/beer. And that we had.
The decorating and global atmosphere is nice and cosy. But the food... Well... Not what I excepted.
If my husband was satisfied with his burger, my tortellini were very disappointing. Even if nicely presented, my pasta dish resumed to be four tortellini with some parmegiano shavings and a few leaves of salad. Very frugal! More a fancy starter than a main course! And not very tasty.
So, go there for a burger, a fruit salad or a beer. Nothing more.
Actually, I would not go there anymore...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiemReapGuy, General Manager at The Sun, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Aralya,
Firstly on behalf of all of us at "The Sun", thank you very much for your comments on trip advisor. As we have recently changed the menu we appreciate all feedback that we can get in regards to the food. We are however extremely glad that your husband enjoyed his burger or should I say satisfied and we do hope that he may join us again in the near future.
In regards to the Pumpkin tortellini, I am so sorry that you did not enjoy it. Out of the 163 portions we have sold, this is the first complaint we have encountered of which I will look into immediately. Using the word "Frugal" in regards to the portion I believe is a bit harsh but never the less, as with these speciality pasta's, you may or may not know the portion sizes vary. We do also never promote this dish as a main course but rather under our small pasta section that we incorporated into the menu.
I do hope that is you return as we wish you may that you ask for the manager should you not be happy with something, so to address the problem immediately, I am sure I can speak on behalf of all us business owners on Trip Advisor that this is a better and more effective way to address any issues.
Thank you for your understanding as well as your comments,
Best regards
Benjamin Thomalla
Executive Chef / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    109
    38
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here a couple of days ago. Food was tasty, portions were of a good size and the cost was sub $20 (including coffee and soft drinks) the restaurant is centrally located to most everything around pub street, and the ceiling fans make this a particularly inviting place on a hot midday for a leisurely lunch

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiemReapGuy, General Manager at The Sun, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Good Day Mikel448,
On behalf on "The Sun", we wish to thank you very much for your kind words and are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch here with us. We have spent a lot of time in regards to the layout of the restaurant and in particular the fan arrangement in order to offer the most comfortable sitting and dining experience around the Pub Street area.
We are also extremely glad that you have mentioned that we are good Value for Money as that is exactly what we are striving for.
On behalf of all of us at "The Sun" we can't wait to welcome you back agin in the near future.
Safe Travels!
Best regards
Benjamin Thomalla
General Manager / Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consistently good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Ate here a few times on a recent trip to Siem Reap, staff were very friendly and food was consistently good, I highly recommend the Khmer curry, breakfasts are also very good! the location is great too on a corner in the heart of pub street! you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiemReapGuy, General Manager at The Sun, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sam H,
Firstly we would like to thank you very much for you fantastic review you have shared on Tripadvisor about "The Sun Restaurant". We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your visits to the restaurant and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We are at present preparing to change the breakfast menu around ever so slightly to further improve that element of the restaurant.We do hope you will approve with this upon your return.
Wishing you safe travels and thank you once again for your review.
Best regards from all of us on "The Sun" team.
Benjamin Thomalla
General Manager / Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location, quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ate at this café for either breakfast, lunch or dinner at least once every day on our trip to Siem Reap. They have a good menu, something for everyone and the food is all delicious! I do personally recommend you try the burger it was the best I've had in a long time! Smoothies are also delicious, definitely check this place out, location is also perfect!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiemReapGuy, General Manager at The Sun, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Bta411,
On behalf of the Staff and Management at "The Sun" we wish to thank you for your review. We are ecstatic with joy that you appreciated our menu and restaurant. Please note that your review has been printed out for all our staff to read and feel proud to be apart of the team.
We do wish to welcome you back to "The Sun" soonest in order for us to host you further.
Thank you again and best regards
Benjamin Thomalla
General Manager / Exec Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Burger in SE Asia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We discovered this place, and their amazing burger, on the last day of our 6 week journey through Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. The burger was so delicious we not only had one for lunch, we came back for dinner and ordered two more! Great place to sit and people watch on the corner of Pub Street as well!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiemReapGuy, General Manager at The Sun, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Good Day CayoHeusoLocal,
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write about us and our burger. We are striving for a complete menu and look forward to welcoming you back to try out the rest of the new menu at "The Sun".
I have printed out your comment for our kitchen and service brigade to read and feel proud to be apart of the team. All service staff remember you very well and look forward again to welcoming you back.
Thank you again and best regards
Benjamin Thomalla
General Manager / Exec Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.