We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go now while you can” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mie Cafe

Mie Cafe
0085, Phum Treng, khum Slorgram, Siem Reap, Cambodia
12791371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 473 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cambodian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go now while you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Mie Cafe will soon be inundated as word gets out. The degustation menu is a splendid tour of the lesser-known Cambodian culinary delights - and costs $21 for 6 courses!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    61
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had beef lok lak for dinner. The presentation was beautiful and flavors very good. I went with the more expensive meat (they provide two options) and it was a bit chewy. Mango mojito was nothing special. The fried bananas for dessert were incredible. A little off the beaten path but a great find. Very clean, friendly service. A little more expensive than places around pub street but definitely worth the few extra dollars. Would go back again to try something different.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix en Provence
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This restaurant is definitely worth visiting. It is in an old house where the ground floor has been turned into a restaurant. Excellent chef who has worked in the 2 star Michelin restaurant near Geneva.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We initially went to this restaurant following a recommendation on trip advisor and we found a gem.The food was so good as was the service we decided that it wasn't worth the hassle of searching elsewhere so we spent our three nights in Cambodia eating there.

The second night we tried their tasting menu which was fantasitic so this evening decided to go again.

We asked if they would change one dish and the next thing we knew we had a whole new tasting menu. The food here is first rate we have eaten all over the world at all levels and this compares with food a lot more expensive. Total bill for five course nouvelle cuisine and drinks for two 54 dollars ,a steal .
I would highly recommend a visit if in Cambodia

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Arrived today and walked from the hotel to Mie Cafe. Within 20 minutes of our arrival, the ground floor tables were taken, ordered a beer and a glass of white wine, won ton soup, crab showder, that's right... showder.
I had beef (local) with oyster sauce and my wife had shrimp ravioli. The kitchen can be seen from part of the restaurant, chef was very busy and precise. Good food, tasty and fresh. Enough room for a pudding... chocolate cake for my wife and fried banana for me... nothing like fried banana arrived... it was fab. The chocolate was fantastic, another glass of wine for my wife and we were done. Really enjoyed it, lovely staff and good food.
Cost $44 US, an absolute bargain, we tipped $16 as it was worth every cent. Shall I return, you bet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mie Cafe also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Mie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mie Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.