We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap to your Saves list
Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Group 4 Mondul village 3 | East of Angkor National Museum Traffic Light 100meters, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 383 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service - great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Run by a very helpful, extremely friendly man who is very knowledgeable about Siem Reap - he gave us loads of invaluable information regarding temple visits, and helped us co ordinate a great itinerary that included sunrise at Angkor Wat. The guesthouse has great amenities, including a pool table and big TV with loads of films. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the air con is very effective.

The only downside to this place is that it is slightly out of town. However, if you've hired a tuk tuk driver for the temples, you can get them to take you into and from town every evening, included in the price. If you haven't, you can cycle into town along the river. It takes about 10 minutes and is very beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    28
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
44
38
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Cheap, clean, spacious and well located for exploring the temples. We found the staff to be very warm and welcoming with lots of useful information and tips about getting around, and not getting ripped off too much.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The rooms at Velkommen were the cleanest that we encountered over a whole 2 months of travelling. They were new, modern and sparkling, and the air con was amazing. The staff were friendly and attentive, going out of their to make us comfortable. One of the girls even came with me to get my hair cut to translate. The location was perfect for us - a 15 minute walk to pub street and a 10 minute cycle to Angkor Wat. There are bikes available to rent for $2 a day and all the money goes to charity. Location will not be so good if you want to be in the heart of pub street, but the distance means it's quiet. Only one tiny issue was squeaky top bunks in the dorm, but it wasn't too much of a problem. Pool table and lobby were very good. Great value at only $5 for a dorm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The dorm room was a great price, the air-con was amazing (most other hostel dorms here only offer fans) and there was very reliable wifi in the room. The staff greeted me by name on arrival which impressed me very much. Over the course of my stay, which I extended, all the staff were friendly and joked around with me. They loaned me books and dvd's so I could relax after a hard day cycling and were always ready to pull me an ice cold beer should I need one. I rented a charity bike from them and used it to cycle around Angkor Wat. The location is perfect for doing this. It is the closest hostel to Angkor Wat by a considerable margin. Town was a pleasant walk away or a $1 tuk tuk ride back if I was feeling lazy. There was a pool table in reception or you could put a dvd on and sit back on a couch. They have a small menu, though a friend swore by their Chicken wrapped in bacon, whilst I can vouch for the biggest helping of fries I have had in a while. This is not a party hostel, it is quieter but if you are in Siem Reap to see Angkor Wat, then it is perfect. I would definitely recommend them.

Room Tip: Dorm room 2 is very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I loved my stay there! The reception staff si super friendly, very helpful when it comes to book a bus or advice restaurant, even helped to find a haidresser ! The facilities are great and the beds are reasonably priced. I would definately stay there again if I get back to Siem Reap!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location is very accessible; just 10 minutes away from Angkor Wat. Rates were very reasonable and they serve sumptuous meals too (ohhh, Iove their fries!!!)! I also have to give credit to the staff, they never failed to attend to our needs. I will definitely stay again here on my next visit to Cambodia!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed in the 6 person dorm ($5/night), met some great people, went to Angkor Wat together, rented bicycles from Velkommen ($2/day, proceeds go to charity) to go to Pub Street (5 minutes ride). Building is really big and has balconies where you can chill. Everything is super clean.

There's a market right across the street where you can get fruit, waffles, proper Khmer coffee for 2000R. And there's a Khmer barbecue right next door with chicken and vegis for 5000R. Perfect.

Staff was great, super friendly and helpful, we became friends and went out after work together.

Cheap, clean, all the amenities, close to local food and night life, nuff said.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap

Address: Group 4 Mondul village 3 | East of Angkor National Museum Traffic Light 100meters, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 383 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new villa style guesthouse with 19 rooms, spread over 2 floors. A Western run guesthouse offering clean, comfortable and secure accommodation. Our friendly and helpful staff will go out their way to make your visit as enjoyable and safe as possible. A large open plan bar & restaurant is a nice place to unwind after a long day around the temples. With a friendly atmosphere it's a great way to socialise with other travellers. Our super fast WIFI (3.5MB) is available free throughout the guesthouse. All private rooms have bathrooms with hot water, air con, fan, fridge, in-room safety deposit box, cable TV with 80 channel and windows. It is a lovely 15-minute walk along the river to the Old Market area and Pub Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.