We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau d'Angkor La Residence to your Saves list
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in Chateau 3 nights just after Christmas, and we loved the hotel. People were welcoming and helpful, hotel is nicely designed, clean and well maintained. Very good buffet breakfast accompanied by cheerful Christmas music :) Our room was huge, with a big bathroom, bedroom and living room with kitchenette. Hotel is centrally located in a very quiet street. Just 10 min walk to the downtown (Pub Street & Night Market). We had a full day taxi (30$) to visit the temples - absolute must see! The day after we went to the floating village - interesting 3-hours private tour, bought from a street agency (15$/pers) - tuk-tuk + motor boat. The hotel offered us a free transfer to the airport, and the driver told us (in very good English) a lot of interesting things about Cambodian life. Overall we loved the town, the hotel and the Angkor temples. Would love to come back one day. Thanks and best regards to the hotel staff!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    76
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
80
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Chateau La Residence for 10 nights with our family, including our 2 children, and we're thoroughly impressed. The spacious rooms were decorated in classic Cambodian style, the amenities were numerous and well thought out, and the breakfast buffet was a real treat each morning.

Most of all, though, the well-trained staff was lovely, hard-working and scrupulously honest. It pains me to read the allegations that money was taken from a hotel safe. My wife is Khmer, she got to know many of the staff personally during our stay, including the housekeepers. On reading the review that included the allegations, she said immediately that it was not possible these humble people would take anything from a hotel guest. Btw, the evening staff visits were simply a nightly turn down service. We chose not to accept the service, but there certainly is nothing suspicious about the hospitality offered.

We have no connection with the hotel other than being thoroughly satisfied guests. We suggest, however, that those who are making the allegations of theft first consider the negative impact it could have on the families of the staff members who work hard each day to serve and to please. It is very easy to misplace several bills during a merry evening on Pub Street, and I believe this is far more likely than the occurrence of a theft by these dedicated workers.

In any event, thank you, Chateau, for accommodating us with grace and professionalism throughout our stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Château d'Angkor La Résidence for 4 nights in mid December. The hotel provided a free airport pick up, and let us check in early to the room that we desired upon request. Staff were all very friendly.

Our room was a two bedroom suite on the 1st floor, very spacious and clean with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The décor and furniture were all in the traditional Khmer style. Bedding was comfortable. WiFi speed was good. The washing machine was a real bonus.

The hotel’s restaurant had a nice setting and offered a good selection of breakfast and chef cooking of eggs, noodles and congee.

We had a great tuk tuk driver Buntang who spoke good English and became our exclusive driver and guide for the 4 days we were in Siem Reap. We were very happy with him and his service.

The hotel had a very beautiful pool which was great for a dip after a day of sightseeing in the heat. However we found the water in the pool too strongly chlorinated that after the swim our boy who swam without goggles developed foggy vision and our girls found it a bit painful to urinate. We also did not expect mosquitos inside the air conditioned bedrooms so got bitten during sleep.

One thing we found odd is that a hotel staff member (we assumed) knocked on our door at 7:30pm attempting to clean our room, and another time the same person just opened our door with his key without knocking. Perhaps the hotel offers room cleaning service twice a day assuming guests were out at that time, but after reading another fellow traveller’s story about money being stolen from the room safe, this now seems a bit suspicious.

All in all we had a comfortable & enjoyable stay and would most likely come back again.

Room Tip: if you don't mind a bit of stair climbing, then apartment on first floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Rooms are very big, nice and clean and the hotel is in a great spot. The breakfast room is great and the pool area is just perfect. Wish we had a room overlooking the pool but I dont know how you book that as they only ever seem to have city view rooms which is ok as its not busy.

Room Tip: Try to get pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and were very happy to find such a spacious suite , overlooking the pool. It 's huge! Kitchen, washer, huge bedroom and 2 airco 's.
The hotel is located in the charming old French quarter, which is very quiet at night.

There 's a special story that I need to share:
During our stay, I lost one of my earplugs during the night. I mentioned this at the front desk and the staff looked, but could not find it. Since I couldn 't find it either, I had to leave without.
After returning back home (3 weeks later), I found an email in my inbox from Mr Hann, the front office manager. He wanted to let me know that the hotel staff searched the place once more after we checked out and they found the missing earplug!
After providing my home address details, they made the effort to ship the earplug all the way to Belgium!!!
Now, if that 's not good service, then I don 't know what is!!!

This story, on top of our perfect stay in this beautiful hotel, turns the experience of visiting Cambodia and sightseeing at the temples into a marvelous memory that we will cherish for a long, long time.

If you want to enjoy a perfect holiday; go to Cambodia and book a room @ Chateau D 'Angkor!

Big thanks again to all the staff and especially Mr Hann.

Hope to see you again some day.

Kristof and Bert

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom suite is huge!!! Definitely good value for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our 2 bed apartment was spacious and clean and over looked a lovely pool. It is in a quiet area of town and only a short walk or a $2 tuk tuk to all the restaurants and markets. Breakfast was good. Staff try hard. Our check in got delayed an hour, but staff were very apologetic.
No guides were available during our stay, get them booked in advance. We had instead a driver who spoke good English, who was a friend of reception staff. He was good, however we felt a little ripped off after we had taken him out to lunch, given him $20 tip then he demanded $60 for the day instead of the $45 quoted. Beds are very hard as per normal in this part of the world and there certainly wasn't a pillow top to the mattress which I am sure had been advertised. The kitchen was well equipped but had no knives. Laundry was great.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool, and if you can't do stairs ask for ground floor as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PS_KN6060, Manager at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking time to write and post a review on TripAdvisor.com.

We are so delighted to read your positive comment about the room’s size, cleanliness, pool, and the laundry. We always try all possible to satisfy our customers. An hour delay of your check-in happened due to an unexpected room’s issue, we did try our best to fix it, but we finished it one hour late. We understood that the issue caused you and family an inconvenience then we sent a fruit basket and apologies letter to your room during the turn-down service.

In Siem Reap, It’s quite difficult to find a last minute tour guide during the peak season, we always recommend our guests to book them in advance. We are sincerely sorry to hear the issue you've mentioned with regards to the driver. After having reviewed your master invoice, it’s shown that the amount you have paid was US D 45.00, and we have also talked to the driver about this, but he has never asked for any additional charge of US D 20.00; he said. That could be a misunderstanding due to the driver’s English level.

In the hotel, we use only one pillow’s type; the one we use is the one we advertised. Most of kitchen facilities are placed in the kitchen except few facilities that’s available on request.

Very best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Chateau D'Angkor for 4 nights in early December 2013.
The hotel itself is nice, the room was very spacious and the staff friendly.
Unfortunately over $200 USD was stolen from our in room safe during our stay.
The safe operates with a 4 digit pin code that you program, but has a master key that management can use in case the guests forget their code.
On the third day of our stay we took our money out of the safe and realised that we were two $100 dollar notes short of what we had brought. $100 notes are quite difficult to use in most places in Cambodia as no one ever has change. We were concerned that the money had been stolen out of the safe, however somehow convinced ourselves that it wouldn't be possible. Just in case that night before going out for dinner we counted and documented exactly what notes we had, lock the US dollars in a separate bag but left $65 Australian in safe (where we had originally left the money). On our return from dinner, we found the safe door open and only $45 left! We approached the manager the next morning before our departure who assured us that he would "investigate". We received an email from him a week later stating that he had reviewed the security camera, checked the safe (which was apparently working normally), but had not found any "clues". We have not had any further correspondance since.

Room Tip: Lock your money somewhere else but not in the safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PS_KN6060, Manager at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review.

We were sorry to hear the issue which you’d reported to us upon your departure. As you stayed in our hotel for 4 nights, you should have informed us earlier when it first happened (if it's true!) so that we all can investigate the case together and not to wait until your departure. As per promised when you were leaving our hotel, we may take few days to investigate first then will send you an e-mail (We didn't take up to a week as per your below mentioned, you checked out on Sunday, and we sent you an e-mail on Thursday).

It’s impossible that some of your cash was stolen out of your room safe as the 4 digits were set by you; you were the only one who knows this password. According to the report on your departure, we were told that one $ 100 was missing from your safe on your third night (not two $200 as per your above mentioned). As you didn't inform us about this on your third night, we don't know how much money you left in the safe and we don’t know whether the safe was properly locked or not. After your check-out, we took out the room safe to test if it was error (automatically open), but after doing test again and again, it’s clearly shown that the safe was working properly. Furthermore, we left it locked for two more days; it still remains locked. So, we are sure that the safe was fine. Moreover, we have also checked our security camera, but everything was normal.

As $ is the most popular currency in Siem Reap, you may have spent it without note.
Regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau d'Angkor La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Address: Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau d'Angkor La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Angkor La Residence is 5-minute walk to the Old Market or the lively Pub Street and only 3-minute walk to the Royal Residence, while the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple is 15-minute drive away. Siem Reap International Airport is just 7 km away. Featuring a balcony with views of the city, air-conditioned suites include a separate sitting area with sofa and flat-screen cable TV, a dining area, and a kitchen fully equipped with a fridge, microwave oven and kitchenware. Private bathrooms equipped with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Chateau d'Angkor La Residence operates a 24-hour front desk that provides laundry, babysitting and car rental services. It features an outdoor swimming pool and a tour desk. Guests can also request a massage. An in-house restaurant, the Brasserie d'Angkor, serves a selection of Cambodian cuisine and Western dishes. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau d'Angkor La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.