We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff, Great Location and value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau d'Angkor La Residence to your Saves list
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Staff, Great Location and value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Friendly and attentive service even before we arrived! Pisith arranged 3 rounds of golf at 3 different clubs, with transport. Guide and car for visits to local attractions. Ensured we were met and the airport upon arrival as well as return transport...all for free. Checked in on us daily to see if all was going well was a bonus.
We booked and single room but were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite with balcony. 124sq m?! Huge, with equipped kitchen, clothes washer and dryer,flat screen TV, aircon/fans, full amenities...just like home.
Buffet breakfast included in our rate. Decent spread plus a selection of hot made-to-order items (eggs any style, rice porridge, local soup noodles). We didnt have any other meals there as there is great food within a few minutes walk.
Great location in French Quarter, walking distance to Night market/Pub Street, National Museum, main street (Lucky Mall).
Always have tuk-tuks outside gate if one prefers to be driven around. And excellent communication, both via email and verbally in English. We heard many other languages spoken but can't comment on fluency....although the other guests didn't seem to have any issues!

Room cleaning can run through the early afternoon if you leave late in the mornings.
Noise from nearby establishments can be heavy but quietens by 10pm.
Streets a little dark at night but always tuk-tuks at the entrance.
Anyway, just a short 3 minute walk to the main road.

Have recommended to friends and return to stay anytime.

Room Tip: rear block rooms on the 03 and 04 stack (i.e. 103 -403 and 104- 404) are the best in my opinion. aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    76
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
80
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I choose hotels based on reviews and cross my fingers that I made the right choice. And Chateau D'Angkor did not let me down.

My family and I stayed 4 nights in a 2-bedroom suite which blew me away with the size of the accommodations. Because of its size, I thought the hotel could add more furnishings and accessories to make it more homely, but this is such a minor detail. Huge beds with huge bathrooms (pillows need to be softer though) ; amenities for cooking and doing your laundry and everything spotlessly clean. It seemed more of a comfortable house than a hotel. The breakfast buffet was great with slight changes everyday. Fruits were excellent and very sweet.

Location is another plus factor. The hotel is in the French quarter, off the main street so a very quiet location. Centrally located, you can either walk or take the Tuktuk to the Pub street or the market. There is a supermarket close by which is quite convenient.

The best feature of the hotel is the staff who were very friendly and polite. To Mr Ann Hann, Front Office Manager, and his staff, to the staff at the restaurant and the staff handling the rooms, thank you for making our stay a wonderful experience. I will surely recommend your hotel to my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: I suggest requesting rooms at the lower floors as there is no elevator. For the 2 bedroom suites, R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location. Only a 5-10 minute walk to Pub Street and only a $2 ride in Tuk Tuk. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was a buffet style which changes slightly each day we were there (3 nights). We arranged transfers through the hotel from airport , return. On the last day we asked for a late check out, which was no problem. Would recommend this hotel for families, single or couples. The pool area was lovely and a nice relief after days sightseeing the temples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom suite at this small hotel. The rooms really are huge, with a separate living room incorporating a small open plan kitchen area with a washing machine. Bedroom and bathroom were also very large with plenty of hanging and draw space which makes a nice change. Also a nice balcony area off the living room with table and chairs. The only thing I could possibly criticise about the room, was that as many other people have said, the beds and pillows are much too hard! Other than that, the hotel was a fabulous choice. Well located within easy walking distance of Siem Reap town centre. Nice pool area, a splendid selection of cocktails at incredible value for money - and great food in the restaurant, both western and local dishes which were all very good at both lunch and dinner. The staff were all delightful - helpful, friendly and efficient. they arranged all our tours for us, and really came into their own when one of our party fell ill on the first afternoon there. They called a doctor for us, then helped take us to the clinic for my friend to be treated. One member of staff even stayed with us at the clinic for a while, and at midnight when we wanted to come back to the hotel, a member of staff drove down and picked us up and bought us back to the hotel himself! All of the staff involved went out of their way to help us, and we were beyond impressed with the kindness and help we received from them - I think the manager can be extremely proud of his team. On top of all the other good things about this hotel, it really is incredible value for money, and I would not hesitate to recommend it strongly to anyone looking for accommodation in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel's 2 BR suites are especially great for families. I picked the hotel for this reason based on prior reviews and can assure you these rooms are enormous. The room has a full fridge, sink, stove/hob, washer and laundry detergent - no dryer so plan to drip dry your clothes. Hotel has several tour choices that they can arrange for reasonable prices. We used the hotel for a full day guide and driver in minivan for $125 USD starting with sunrise at Angkor Wat (they packed a breakfast box for us to eat while we waited for the sun to rise), toured Ta Prohm, Bayon and then three on the outer circuit after a lunch break. Guide Sunma speaks excellent English and is very knowledgeable. Request him if you can. The second day we hired a tuk tuk and visited remaining sites on our own (don't miss the Landmine Museum - a way out of town but worthwhile for the museum and the ride. Nice to have a pool for mid day dip as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Didnt want to stay right in Siem Reap so this Hotel was a perfect location, but within walking distance to SR.
We had a suite and it was huge..I think about 90squares. We were very impressed with most things.....the breakfast was buffet-style as was adequate. I have got to say, though, the bed and the pillows were very hard but I read this on Tripadvisor so we were prepared for this.
The pool area was fantastic and was a welcome relief to come back to after visiting all the temples each day.
Its location was very convenient.....close to the Foreign Correspondents Club....which is a must for dinner....and an easy walk anywhere

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

5 nights. Two adults with two kids (9 and 12). Easy check-in. Great staff at reception, restaurant and pool. Breakfast a good selection of hot and cold food in pleasant surrounds. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was enormous . Easily big enough for 6 people as the hotel will put roll out beds in the living/dining room which is huge - it must be 40 Sqm. Good location with easy access to mini marts, walking instance o restaurants. Super clean, nicely decorated, balcony, nice pool. Overall a wonderful. Would come back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau d'Angkor La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Address: Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau d'Angkor La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Angkor La Residence is 5-minute walk to the Old Market or the lively Pub Street and only 3-minute walk to the Royal Residence, while the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple is 15-minute drive away. Siem Reap International Airport is just 7 km away. Featuring a balcony with views of the city, air-conditioned suites include a separate sitting area with sofa and flat-screen cable TV, a dining area, and a kitchen fully equipped with a fridge, microwave oven and kitchenware. Private bathrooms equipped with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Chateau d'Angkor La Residence operates a 24-hour front desk that provides laundry, babysitting and car rental services. It features an outdoor swimming pool and a tour desk. Guests can also request a massage. An in-house restaurant, the Brasserie d'Angkor, serves a selection of Cambodian cuisine and Western dishes. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau d'Angkor La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.