We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau d'Angkor La Residence to your Saves list
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at this property in the old french quarter as a family of 4 for 5 nights. Overall the hotel was great, with an intimate boutique feel. The 2 bedroom apartments are huge, but sparsely furnished. They really need a sofa, a rug on the floor, and a second TV in one of the bedrooms.

The kitchen had a toaster, kettle and some cookware, but only cutlery for eating (no utensils). Beds were nice and firm, pillows are plump (if you like that), and the towels were fresh and white.

The staff were extremely polite and very helpful. The place was very clean and tidy, and in good condition. The pool was sparkling clean and the breakfast was more than adequate for several big days of temple sightseeing. Wi-fi coverage was good and the internet connection was fast. The hotel also seemed to have a backup generator, which was good because the power dropped out a few times during our stay.

If you're going to Siem Reap do yourself a favour and avoid staying on the strip of "resorts" between the airport and town. A hotel in town such as this one is in a much better location for getting a feel for the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    76
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
80
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not 'cheap' by backpacker standards, but a true value for money proposition.

Located in a quiet area, but still within easy walking distance of the main tourist areas (for those that insist). Impeccable service with a genuine smile, fit for purpose breakfast with daily variations and Asian and Western food.

Free airport pick-up and fast free Internet that actually works.

Did I mention the palace-like accommodation? Washing machine, fully equipped kitchen, flat TV with good quality channels in various languages. Separate living/ding room. What more do I want ?
This customer-from-hell found nothing, nothing that did not meet his expectations.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but there is help to carry your luggage. The front building seems to be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked a two bedroom suite for our 5D 4N stay in Siam Reap and its just wow for everything.. room was huge and bed was really comfort. Cleanliness maintained perfectly and friendly and reliable staffs.

The staff was really helpful and provide the assistance for any request and WIFI is superb. I could make a call via Viber to my workplace to resolve an issue without any distruptions!! .

Its just so so comfortable when you hit your bed after a long day of walking and walking visiting the temples in Siam Reap. Since we are checking out early in the morning at 6am, staffs provided us the breakfast much early and as per my request, they sent the breakfast to my room at 5.30am itself..

Overall the Hotel is par excellence and recommend for family stay... :)

Room Tip: Double Suite room comes with kitchen with utensils and they do provide washing machine too to do you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start, firstly an enormous apartment, black and white tiled floors, very palatial. Huge bed, maybe a bit sparsely furnished, but there is everything you want and more even a very new front loading washing machine. Fully equipped kitchen, which we only used for tea. The breakfast was gourmet, eggs florentine one day, French toast another. Yogurt and fresh fruit, salads, Cambodian breakfast or French style, best bakers and pastry cooks ever, my husband loved the bread pudding style squares, I could go on and on but if breakfast is your meal look no further, plus the staff are so attentive and friendly. We had room service for lunch one day and it was sensational and their Khmer duck curry was to die for. We had the best 5 days there. Also the pool is beautiful and the staff and management can't do enough for you. One big plus whilst talking to the operations Manager we learnt that the place is Cambodian owned and operated. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough. If you get one of the tuk tuks from out the front ask for Teddy, he was an excellent driver and speaks good English

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a suite. HUGE rooms, fully decked out kitchen, washing machine, lounge room. Complex has pool, bar, great location $2 tuk tuk ride to town or 15 min walk. All staff very friendly and helpful with any request. Hotel is about 4 stories and there is no lift but with strong wi fi and breakfast included at $60 a night whose complaining.

Room Tip: Suite and lower room because of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights..
we didn't spend much time in the hotel as our itinerary is tight ..
Overall very good stays ,
I recommend to try the in house SPA , we have gotten 30 min free during our stays and it was really rejuvenate.

Room Tip: we experienced flies problem during our stay at the lounge area, specially table arranged at the con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just spent 3 relaxing nights in Siem Reap and loved the great location and super friendly staff at this hotel. Even had a meal on the first night in the restaurant due to a late arrival that was very nice.

Room Tip: Go for the suite. Extra space was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau d'Angkor La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Address: Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau d'Angkor La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Angkor La Residence is 5-minute walk to the Old Market or the lively Pub Street and only 3-minute walk to the Royal Residence, while the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple is 15-minute drive away. Siem Reap International Airport is just 7 km away. Featuring a balcony with views of the city, air-conditioned suites include a separate sitting area with sofa and flat-screen cable TV, a dining area, and a kitchen fully equipped with a fridge, microwave oven and kitchenware. Private bathrooms equipped with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Chateau d'Angkor La Residence operates a 24-hour front desk that provides laundry, babysitting and car rental services. It features an outdoor swimming pool and a tour desk. Guests can also request a massage. An in-house restaurant, the Brasserie d'Angkor, serves a selection of Cambodian cuisine and Western dishes. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau d'Angkor La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.