We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a few changes would make it better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau d'Angkor La Residence to your Saves list
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a few changes would make it better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for a few nights to see he sights around Siem Reap.

It's a nice hotel but it kind of needs a westerner's helping hand, I think. The front desk staff don't know quite as much about where to go for dinner etc as I'd like in a hotel. It's nice to be able to ask the staff where to go but I think maybe the language barrier makes this tricky or something.

We asked how much laundry would be to do through the hotel but they could not confirm the price which seemed odd and a bit dodgy so we just went around the corner to a laundry and got a whole bag done for $6.

Interestingly they provide a washing machine in the suites which is handy however they don't provide anywhere to hang your laundry to dry. I liked having a machine to wash my delicates in but would have preferred somewhere to hang them to dry rather than on door handles.

For some reason they never gave us more than one roll of toilet paper each day which is not ideal. Not sure why they wouldn't restock with at least a couple.

This might sound like a snobby thing to say but In regular western hotels the staff don't sit down for breakfast with the patrons. They do at this hotel which just seemed odd to me. Just something I've never seen before. Maybe it's a cultural thing, not sure.

The beds and lounge furniture are seriously uncomfortable. I actually felt like I needed a massage after my second night's sleep which isn't ideal... The lounge room furniture is made of wood which makes relaxing somewhat difficult.

Our cards to open our doors stopped working a few times during our stay which isn't the end of the world but its an inconvenience when there isn't a lift and you have to walk back downstairs and up again.

The free tuk tuk for a day service was nice. We had a driver for a full day of sight seeing.

I think maybe the staff need to learn a few more English words just to make them easier to communicate with. But they are all friendly and very attentive.

On our third day I was done with riding in the back of tuk tuks and eating greasy food so I opted for a day by the pool which was nice. It's small-ish and somewhat cold, I think because its in the shade a lot but it was a nice afternoon.

Anyway, overall it's a nice hotel but this is just some constructive criticism. I'd be more worried if we hadn't got the introduction promo rate and saved 50%.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    76
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
76
80
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We booked the hotel at the last minute on a web site, it was well priced and we were very pleased with what we found. However as mentioned in a previous review, the large rooms (and the ARE apartments...they are exactly the same as the apartments next door). They were nice but poorly furnished with relatively cheap and uncomfortable furniture. The beds were pretty hard as well.

The dining room is great, however the breakfast was mediocre, we did not have the lunch and saw the dinner buffet set up without a single guest in the restaurant. This was sad to witness, however there was no information or incentives (discounts, coupons, offers) in the room to intice the guests to eat there, consequently everyone went into town for dinner every night.

The pool and the f+b service was very good, the setting relaxing and the staff very helpful. The hotel could be so much better with a few adjustments to their operations and would benefit greatly from the advice of an expereienced hospitality consultant who can help them adjust to the expectations of their clientel.

Room Tip: Each room is either a one or two bedroom suite and all are well located and oriented to the surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is brand new and very clean. We stayed in a suite with 2 bedrooms. The rooms are very spacious, with excellent bathrooms, washing machine, kitchen and living room. It is basically an apartment. The breakfast was included and was good.

The reception staff was excellent: very welcoming, warm and professional. Note: My friend forgot her passport and wallet in the room and only realized when we were 2 hours away, on our way to Phnom Penh. She called the hotel and they immediately went to the room, itemized everything she had left (including how much money in each currency), and arranged a secure delivery to her new hotel in Phnom Penh. AMAZING.

I wish them a great success and thank them for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P_Koun, Manager at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing a nice feedback on TripAdvisor.com

The Management and Team at Chateau d’Angkor La Residence are so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope for a chance to host your return in some days.

Very best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Recently stayed two nights. Great location, room very clean but sparsely furnished - lacking any real style or warmth. Opening special was a good deal but it is not worth more. Obviously local management, desperately needs some advice as to the expectations of western tourists. Local service is ok at local prices! Beds are very hard. No TV in main bedroom of 2 bedroom suite as is portrayed in photos on the homesite, no balcony furniture as listed in room description.

Room Tip: Choose room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

An apartment style stay option for families with a large, basic furnished, living and one/two bed room options. Their breakfast was almost five star and not compromised. We never had any meals here but found their coffee's at $3 on the expensive side when one can get a beer for $1.50 at most bars in town. This is not a full service hotel, it is a vocation stay with good service I guess. The rooms were clean, it had robes, slippers etc. reasonable size bath rooms that were clean. On the cost front I think that their current level of pricing is acceptable, I would not pay more than this for Siem reap.
They do have a kitchen in every apartment with some very basic utensils, I doubt if this is enough to cook full meals but the infrastructure is in place. It would be great if they continue their offering at current prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just back from this hotel for two night stay. Everything was good, no real complaints. Clean a nd adequate furnishings, friendly helpful staff, and a great location.

It’s not worth more than the opening special of 50% discount (about 70 USD per night) and in fact this may be a little over priced. There are lots of great boutique hotels in Siem Reap so you don’t need to pay top $$ to have something nice and convenient.

Rooms very large and very sparsely furnished. Corners have been cut, for example they don’t have enough pool towels to service the few guests that use the pool in the morning.

Room Tip: Dont book your tours through the hotel . Overcharged and tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P_Koun, Manager at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for being our most valued guests and we are sincerely apologies to learn that you were not really satisfied with our property.

In fact, we have never claimed that we are a 5* property, however, most of our guests experienced our accommodation and services and found us suits their expectation, then rated us as the 5* Rating Property. As we are a small residence with only 28 suites, we aimed to provide a 5* services to our guests.

Thanks for your comment with regards our room rate and this is the first time for us to hear that our rate maybe a little over priced. It’s true that there many boutique hotels in Siem Reap. However, we think our residence is much better compared to them. As you know, a rate of USD 140.00 per night with breakfast for 4 persons in a large and fully equipped two-bedroom (a suite with its size of 128sqm, private kitchen, dining table, washing machine, spacious living room, two separate bedrooms........).

Many pool towels have been bought, we are sorry that we didn’t have enough pool towels to provide you on that morning as our guest were full house and our supplier was a bit late in their delivery that’s why we couldn’t supply you in that morning. That’s the only morning.

Also, with regards the tours, all tour prices list are displayed on the counter and detailed for every extra charge for extra destination. In addition, every time before arranging the tour for our guests, we always inform them about the prices list which based on the displayed board. So, how it could be tricky or overcharged?

Very best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Perfectly situated in the old colonial quarter, this place is close enough to various restaurants and other amenities without the noise and bustle. It is also on the right side of town for a quick trip to Angkor. It is a nice new hotel, quiet location with all appartment rooms, which are (too) huge. The first night we ended up on the attic floor - which is a room without windows. When we complained we were moved to another room which was better. The rooms are sparsely furnished and overly big. Do not really understand why they chose this design, as the size is good for long term stay. The hotel does have a problem with drains and drain smell. Otherwise no real issues. Breakfast and service are decent and it is not a large hotel, which makes it a very pleasant place to stay. The beds are too hard - but that seems to be standard in Cambodia. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get an attic appartment. Pool view or street view are both fine and equall quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau d'Angkor La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Address: Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 232 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau d'Angkor La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Angkor La Residence is 5-minute walk to the Old Market or the lively Pub Street and only 3-minute walk to the Royal Residence, while the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple is 15-minute drive away. Siem Reap International Airport is just 7 km away. Featuring a balcony with views of the city, air-conditioned suites include a separate sitting area with sofa and flat-screen cable TV, a dining area, and a kitchen fully equipped with a fridge, microwave oven and kitchenware. Private bathrooms equipped with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Chateau d'Angkor La Residence operates a 24-hour front desk that provides laundry, babysitting and car rental services. It features an outdoor swimming pool and a tour desk. Guests can also request a massage. An in-house restaurant, the Brasserie d'Angkor, serves a selection of Cambodian cuisine and Western dishes. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau d'Angkor La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.