We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good family stay option.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau d'Angkor La Residence to your Saves list
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
India
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A good family stay option.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

An apartment style stay option for families with a large, basic furnished, living and one/two bed room options. Their breakfast was almost five star and not compromised. We never had any meals here but found their coffee's at $3 on the expensive side when one can get a beer for $1.50 at most bars in town. This is not a full service hotel, it is a vocation stay with good service I guess. The rooms were clean, it had robes, slippers etc. reasonable size bath rooms that were clean. On the cost front I think that their current level of pricing is acceptable, I would not pay more than this for Siem reap.
They do have a kitchen in every apartment with some very basic utensils, I doubt if this is enough to cook full meals but the infrastructure is in place. It would be great if they continue their offering at current prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    84
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
88
91
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just back from this hotel for two night stay. Everything was good, no real complaints. Clean a nd adequate furnishings, friendly helpful staff, and a great location.

It’s not worth more than the opening special of 50% discount (about 70 USD per night) and in fact this may be a little over priced. There are lots of great boutique hotels in Siem Reap so you don’t need to pay top $$ to have something nice and convenient.

Rooms very large and very sparsely furnished. Corners have been cut, for example they don’t have enough pool towels to service the few guests that use the pool in the morning.

Room Tip: Dont book your tours through the hotel . Overcharged and tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P_Koun, Manager at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for being our most valued guests and we are sincerely apologies to learn that you were not really satisfied with our property.

In fact, we have never claimed that we are a 5* property, however, most of our guests experienced our accommodation and services and found us suits their expectation, then rated us as the 5* Rating Property. As we are a small residence with only 28 suites, we aimed to provide a 5* services to our guests.

Thanks for your comment with regards our room rate and this is the first time for us to hear that our rate maybe a little over priced. It’s true that there many boutique hotels in Siem Reap. However, we think our residence is much better compared to them. As you know, a rate of USD 140.00 per night with breakfast for 4 persons in a large and fully equipped two-bedroom (a suite with its size of 128sqm, private kitchen, dining table, washing machine, spacious living room, two separate bedrooms........).

Many pool towels have been bought, we are sorry that we didn’t have enough pool towels to provide you on that morning as our guest were full house and our supplier was a bit late in their delivery that’s why we couldn’t supply you in that morning. That’s the only morning.

Also, with regards the tours, all tour prices list are displayed on the counter and detailed for every extra charge for extra destination. In addition, every time before arranging the tour for our guests, we always inform them about the prices list which based on the displayed board. So, how it could be tricky or overcharged?

Very best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Perfectly situated in the old colonial quarter, this place is close enough to various restaurants and other amenities without the noise and bustle. It is also on the right side of town for a quick trip to Angkor. It is a nice new hotel, quiet location with all appartment rooms, which are (too) huge. The first night we ended up on the attic floor - which is a room without windows. When we complained we were moved to another room which was better. The rooms are sparsely furnished and overly big. Do not really understand why they chose this design, as the size is good for long term stay. The hotel does have a problem with drains and drain smell. Otherwise no real issues. Breakfast and service are decent and it is not a large hotel, which makes it a very pleasant place to stay. The beds are too hard - but that seems to be standard in Cambodia. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get an attic appartment. Pool view or street view are both fine and equall quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is a rare find. It is equipped with everything travellers need including kitchen utensils, washing machine and a big dining table and a set of wooden couch. Having a washing machine is a big plus due to the high humidity, heat and dusty atmosphere, travellers can wash their clothes while staying for longer period. The room is very spacious. Staffs are friendly and always available to assist when required. The location is good, just 5 mins walk to the supermarket and 5 mins walk to various restaurants.

This is a place not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When we first arrived in Siem Reap, we had a very poor experience when the hotel we booked online; they gave away our rooms and wanted us to stay in a dirty dorm room with three beds when we ordered three separate rooms (I don't think so!). We immediately got online and found Chateau d'Angkor and told the other hotel to stuff it!

After a long day walking across the boarder and dealing with this pesky hotel, we arrived at Chateau d'Angkor and we were incredibly impressed with the staff and the facilities. Borin was the best!! He seems to really love his job and always had a contagious smile on his face.

Bad internet connection and hard beds seemed to be a problem anywhere we went so I am not going to dwell on that negative detail, but it could be improved.

Another thing worth mentioning is that our oven didn't work and the room we stayed in was not equipped with a microwave or proper kitchen supplies (utensils, plates etc), but they just opened so I am sure they are still improving on these things.

Overall, we loved the staff and the fact that they let us stay out by the pool enjoying the bar even after it was suppose to be closed.

Only other thing, if the boss man is reading this, give your staff a well needed vacation or time off. They seemed to work very long hours and were there first thing in the morning until dusk every day. It could of been because of the busy holidays, but I hope they don't always work that long. They are all great people!

Room Tip: The stairs are a bit of a b*tch so try to get a room on the lowest floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I recently stayed here and loved it!!! The staff are extremely helpful and friendly (thank you, Borann!). The rooms are gorgeous and although I'm usually not that fussed about hotel interior decor, I just couldn't get over the checkered tiles in the rooms which are reminiscent of 1960's era Cambodian government buildings or schools. The room facilities are fabulous - more like a serviced apartment than a hotel. The location is excellent. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P_Koun, Manager at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, on behalf of management and team at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, we would like to say thank you very much for sharing your nice feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are so delighted to learn that you were satisfied by our services and facilities. We will have your review shared with all our team.
We are looking forward to host your return in some days.

Very best regards,
The management at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just returned from a 4-night stay at this establishment which we were told was just 20 days old when we checked in.and I can vouch for all the good things that have been said of this hotel in terms of rooms, service and locality. You see smiling faces wherever you go. In addition, we were upgraded to a 2- bedroom suite from a 1- bedroom one when we requested to have a room near the rest of the party - that was a very nice gesture. The breakfast was very generous and the home-made croissants so good that we ordered some to take home with us! I was afraid of breaking the small cute ceramic bottles which the complimentary toiletries come in ( I am in my seventies and my fingers are not so nimble) so larger containers with wider mouths which will be easier to handle and pour will be welcome - a small point, but having to bathe at least twice a day because of the heat and humidity makes this a twice- a -day problem. Kudos to all the staff who tried their best to get the hotel off to a good start!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P_Koun, Manager at Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com

We are so happy to hear that you were satisfied by our facilities and services. Our property is brand new, but most of our management and team are well-trained and experienced for years in hospitality industry. We will try our best to provide our guest a memorable and comfortable experience.
With regards the ceramic bottles which you have mentioned, we will have it discussed with team, and will see if we can make it better.

We are looking forward to welcoming your return in some days.
Very best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau d'Angkor La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Angkor La Residence

Address: Oum Chhay Street, Village 1 | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau d'Angkor La Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau d'Angkor La Residence is 5-minute walk to the Old Market or the lively Pub Street and only 3-minute walk to the Royal Residence, while the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Angkor Wat Temple is 15-minute drive away. Siem Reap International Airport is just 7 km away. Featuring a balcony with views of the city, air-conditioned suites include a separate sitting area with sofa and flat-screen cable TV, a dining area, and a kitchen fully equipped with a fridge, microwave oven and kitchenware. Private bathrooms equipped with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Chateau d'Angkor La Residence operates a 24-hour front desk that provides laundry, babysitting and car rental services. It features an outdoor swimming pool and a tour desk. Guests can also request a massage. An in-house restaurant, the Brasserie d'Angkor, serves a selection of Cambodian cuisine and Western dishes. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Chateau d'Angkor La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau d'Angkor La Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.