We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Butterfly Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Butterfly Villa to your Saves list
Golden Butterfly Villa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Golden Butterfly Villa was within walking distance to town. A tuk tuk picks you up from the airport. If you like the driver, you can ask for that same driver for viewing Angkor Wat. There are various tours of Angkor Wat but a typical tour costs $11. That same driver can also take you back to the airport for about $4. The meals in the restaurant of Golden Butterfly Villa were delicious. Overall, great value and excellent location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    69
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
300
94
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This was, by far, my favorite place I stayed over five whirlwind weeks in SE Asia! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with everything we needed, and the rooms were very comfortable, clean, and attractive. From the cold tea, hand towels, and watermelon they give you whenever you walk in the door, there has clearly been a lot of attention to detail. Also, its really close to all the craziness of the touristy parts of Siem Reap city, but it feels like a respite from all that when you are inside. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay. When you arrive staff greet you promptly with cold towels and welcome iced tea. Service at restaurant and check in was amazing. Good value for money. Very close to pub street with many shops and reataurants.
Staff clearly makes attempts to improve quality regularly which I appreciate. They referred to us by name every time, and we also saw them talking to another guest about the grammar in their welcome letter to make it better. Shows real attention to detail.
Only downside was I got a massage and the lady talked through the whole thing. I asked her to stop at one point but she didnt speak English.
Free airport pick up. All in all excellent location and great value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

So often while travelling through South East Asia we've been disappointed with hotels with high trip advisor scores but for once the Golden Butterfly Villa did not let us down and even exceeded our expectations. Upon check in we were greeted with a delicious and refreshing lemon drink, watermelon and peanuts and some steamed sweet rice in banana leaves, it really set the tone! The room was spotlessly clean and decorated in the Khmer style which was nice. Our fridge was restocked with waterbottles regularly and the shower was excellent. The greatest thing about Golden Butterfly was the service, the staff are practicing their English (which is excellent across the board) and often come to chat to you when you're seated in the lobby area. They're kind and thoughtful and very gracious and grateful for your time. While I was using one of the computers (free of charge) some refreshing iced tea and watermelon was delivered to me which was lovely. We also took advantage of the complimentary massage which was a lovely last day treat! Our double room set us back $18 a night which is a little above the average but worth every penny. The only slight issue we had was that the walls are a little thin and we could hear our neighbour. He was a rather unpleasant American man who was in Siem Reap for... ahem... personal pursuits (but didn't bring anyone back to the hotel as I don't think they would tolerate it) and would have his TV on at full volume throughout the night. I think we were just unlucky, this probably wouldn't be an issue for others. In fairness to the staff they were regularly coming to knock on his door and to ask him to keep it down in the middle of the night which was nice, they could have easily ignored the problem. All in all the best guesthouse we've stayed in in South East Asia!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Extremely good value place. Very nice rooms. Numerous freebies. Very gracious staff.
There's a small building site adjacent (June 2013) but the noise wasn't a problem. The only problem were the flies in the restaurant which start swarming as soon as any food appears, making the restaurant fairly unusable. The walls are all red, inside and out, which was a bit too much for me, but you might like it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We thought that this place would be the 'same same, cheap cheap' affair we've experienced around Asia, but we were very pleasantly surprised.This is a new hotel (sister hotel to the Golden Temple Hotel just down the lane) and really we couldn't have asked for better. The rooms are all decorated in typical Khmer colours - a lot of effort goes into keeping this place clean and tidy.
The staff are just lovely - we had a couple of issues with missed pick ups/some admin errors but the manager couldn't do enough to put it right. We were treated like royalty from start to finish, and even though some mistakes were made we don't hold it against them - these things happen. All I would say is just to double-check any trips or pick ups you book through reception as sometimes things are delegated and bits get missed.
The lemon drink they give you on arrival is just divine and the complimentary massage a real treat. We are so, so glad we found this place - it really made the trip for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here on the 14 - 17 th of May, and I am glad I chose Golden Butterfly Villa as my stay! The reason quite simply put: Unparallelled Customer Service! The staff and managers here takes good care of the lodgers, which I appreciate alot! As for the place itself, the rooms are super clean and comfy. They do lend out bikes for free and provide in house tuk-tuk service for the tours. My tuk-tuk driver was San. I highly recommend this place if you were to stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Butterfly Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.