We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartwarming welcome awaits you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Butterfly Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Butterfly Villa to your Saves list
Golden Butterfly Villa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 369 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
sharmelsheikh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Heartwarming welcome awaits you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 12 days - loved it!! Brilliant service - you'e always welcomed back to the hotel with a 'wet towel' and an ice cold drink and big smiles from the friendly staff. This wonderful hotel is close to all the shops and restuarants yet quiet with a large airy lobby/lounge area where you can just chill out and relax, eat, use the internet, watch TV, and put your feet up. The rooms are comfortable providing everything you need including a comfy bed, fridge, free wi-fi, hot running water, showers, free bottled water every day is a welcome addition. The staff cannot do enough to help you or advise you and will arrange tuk-tuk pic ups for you or taxis. I liked the shoe free rules of this hotel and its kept spotlessly clean throughout. The restuarant offers a good service and the atmosphere is friendly. Very good value for money. The manager and his staff became like family to us and we didn't want to leave. They were wonderful. A true home from home.

Room Tip: Back rooms are possibly quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    69
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
302
94
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Alameda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Golden Temple Villa down the street which gets excellent reviews was full and I was referred to their sister property, Golden Butterfly Villa. This hotel is newer and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The hotel offers free airport pickup. The tuk-tuk driver was waiting for me at the gate with my name on a board. When I arrived at the hotel, a nice cold fruit drink and a free 30 min. massage was scheduled later in the day. My room on the 3rd floor had a nice balcony and a view of the surrounding areas. Everything is new, nice comfortable bed, various types of lighting, refrigerator, bottled water, and good water pressure in the shower. Wifi is free and the hotel has set up 5-6 new, flat screen computers for guests. Although breakfast is not included, there is free unlimited coffee, tea, and bananas in the dining area. The restaurant has reasonably price meals. Location is quiet, at the end of a small street and a block from the main road. It is a short walk a few blocks away to the night market and many restaurants. After a long hot day of sightseeing and visiting Angkor Wat, the staff always greeted me with a smile, brought me a cold wet towel, and a nice cold drink. They also brought me a drink with I was sitting at the computer planning the next leg of my trip. The staff further helped me find a tailor to make me a pair of pants from the fabric I brought from home. Total cost for labor--only $5.00. When it was time to get to my next destination (Phnom Penh), the staff arranged my transportation via shared taxi as buses were all full.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been travelling all around the world for a year now, and this has been the most memorable welcome ever. We have been received always with warm smiles, coffee and tea, wet towels, and helpful staff. The rooms are clean, spacious, and nicely decorated.
We bought the Angkor ticket for three days and we booked the tour with the hotel.They called a tuk tuk driver for us. The driver, whose name is Sales, was very nice, honest, and kind. You can contact him on this email: mathsales at hot mail.
Overall, we ended up staying more night than we planned and spending Christmas in the beautiful city.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Antananarivo, Madagascar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I never leave reviews, but I felt we must for this lovely place.
We stumbled onto this gorgeous building after a long trip. We were so happy we did. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. They even helped us find a sitter for our baby while we had to go on a job interview. It was a very kind environment.
The rooms are beautiful boutique style rooms with everything you could ask for. Clean, modern, and very nicely decorated with balconies. The price is amazing for the room you get.
The location is superb. We could easily walk a few streets away for food, the night market, and Pub street.
It was excellent and our best find during our Thailand/Cambodia trip. I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two
nights and in our two month long stay in Southeast Asia I have to say this place was probably our favorite. the staff is so friendly and helpful, the hotel and rooms are beautiful the location is perfect. the whole experience was amazing, we left feeling really pampered and it is such a good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great staff and location! The quality customer service begins begins with your pick-up at the airport. Twenty minutes later you are welcomed with a wonderful cold cup of tea. Quick check-in and you are escorted to a more than adequate room with a balcony and private shower.I f you any valuables the hotel has a safe at the desk. The rooms have a small refrigerator which comes in handy as well as A/C.
The hotel is easily within walking distance of the Night Market, Pub Street, restaurants, nd convenience stores.
Twenty minute at most Tuk Tuk ride to Angkor Wat and related sites which the hotel staff will arrange if asked.
My last day I was surprised by a knock on my door and a plate of hot Spring Rolls with Plumb Sauce. Typical of the personal customer service provided by the staff!

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad room. However, they are expanding the hotel and the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is outstanding. Very close to the old market, nightmarket and Pub Street, but not noisy at all. The service ist the best I ever had in asia. The reception can organize everything and ist cheaper as you can get. I paid for the hotel tuk tuk from the Hotel to the airport 3 US$. Everywhere else you have to pay 5 US $. The rooms are big, very cleam and absolutley new. Most of the room have a huge balcony, aircondition, fridge, cable tv with about 100 programms, But the best is the friendly stuff, When you return back to the hotel you get free cold ice Tea. Coffee and tea is always free of charge. 5 internet computers are evailable at the reception and the wifi is working in the rooms. A perfect stay.

Room Tip: From the 4th floor you have a perfect view, but there is now lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Butterfly Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.