We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Butterfly Villa

Save Saved
You added Golden Butterfly Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Butterfly Villa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 325 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in the Golden Butterfy Villa for 3 nights having been recommended to do so when the sister guest house the Golden Temple Villa was full. We paid $25 per night for a superior double room and the value for money was incredible.

The hotel is brand new so everything is in excellent condition. The room included quiet efficient air conditioning, a balcony, free bottled water, flat screen cable tv and a really nice bathroom.There are a wide range of meals and drinks available in the restaurant and by room service, both Khmer and Western choices at low prices.

The customer service was excellent throughout. We received automatic cold drinks and face towels whenever we settled in the lounge area and none of the staff could do enough to ensure we were looked after. We received free collection and drop off for our buses in and out of town, they booked us an excellent driver and guide for Angkor Wat. The room fee even included a free massage and free bike hire to explore Siem Reap.

The Golden Butterfly Villa is exceptional. It is rare to find such good customer service and impossible at such a low price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    49
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
224
75
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a new 4 story hotel. No elevator, dark stairs. I suppose first floor okay but by the time you get to third or fourth floor, whooh.
Front office manager wanted to inspect every page of my passport. And you have to wait while they go to sister hotel up the street to sister hotel for your credit card to process. Half way up the stairs I said no I am not copping this, and went back down to the desc, and asked for another room.
They aid you asked for a mountain view. I had to as their web booking form gave no choice.
I sai all i want is a room with a double bed and was told that all doubles were on 4th floor.
I did put in an email of complaint and a part owner replied and asked what he could do. Si i replied and gave him my local number.Heard nothing.

Room Tip: check which floor but if a double $th?????
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heng99, Manager at Golden Butterfly Villa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Roego,

We are a new hotel and we do our best to provide excellent customer service. Allow me to address the issues you raise.

All Cambodian hotels have to take the passport details of their guests in accordance with Cambodian law. We do this to ensure the safety and security of all our guests. Our front desk staff only seeks to determine that the passport is valid and that the picture resembles the guest before taking down the details. I doubt that any staff member attempted to inspect every page of your passport - they would have no time or reason to do so.

I am sorry that you found the stairs a challenge. The hotel is fully booked and had we had a room on a lower floor we would have made it available to you.

Within the month we will be able to process credit cards at The Golden Butterfly.

We processed your card at our sister hotel which is only two minutes walk away and we have informed you before we do. You left the hotel within minutes of checking in. We granted the refund that you requested.

I personally responded to your message (as you kindly acknowledge in your feedback) but I never had a response.

I would be more than happy to hear from you again, please do not hesitate to contact me if you feel there is anything more we could have done.

Kind regards,
Heng
General Manager
Golden Butterfly Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel opened around sept 2012. staff is extremely nice and helpfull.after bargaining we could get a room for 2 for 20 dollar a night staying for 3 days. the only annoying thing were the laud frogs and dogs outside at night.otherwise everything was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel opened the day we arrived (3rd Oct 2012) for a 10-day stay. Rooms are spotless and well-appointed with modern and functional en-suites. Air-cond, fan, free Wi-Fi, fridge, internet lounge and 2 bottles of water per day.
Rooms are not big, but certainly adequate. In any case, any time at the hotel was spent in the cool and expansive downstairs dining and relaxation area where the staff turn on an overhead fan for you as about as fast as you can sit down. They also bring you endless supplies of peanuts and cool tea (no charge). Dining was good and inexpensive, although the kitchen could be a little slow.
Staff are courteous, engaging and could not do enough to assist. You only had to look like you were heading to the bike rack for the security guard to get a bike (no charge) ready for you.
Golden Butterfly is off a side street, but just a short walk to the markets, main street and Pub Street if that is your thing. For $15 a night for a double, this is a marvellous place from which to explore Siem Reap and surrounds.

Room Tip: No lifts, so choose first floor if that's a big deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What you notice first at the Golden Butterfly Villa are the staff. They were amazing! Welcoming as old friends yet respectful as if we were Cambodian royalty. As it happened, over the few weeks that our volunteer project group stayed at the Villa, this warm hospitality strengthened into what felt more like love from an extended family. I for one started to involuntarily call the Villa "home", evidence of how relaxing yet embracing the atmosphere of the hotel was. The rooms are more then comfortable. Having plenty of time to utilize and experiment with ever aspect of it, I can confidently say the quality of the rooms furniture, features and bathroom facilities are brilliant particularly considering the reasonable nightly rates. Even on the rare occasion of something going amiss, the 24hrs service from the day and night staff is ever present, being ever willing to see to your every need; seeing it done with a genuine smile combined with a real sense of pride. The food is also of good quality with the chiefs putting all their love into the traditional Khmer Amoks, curries and desserts while also making quite reasonable western cuisine for those looking for a change of flavor. Its prime location puts it just a few minutes walk from the Old Market, Night Market, Pub Street and Main Street. While maintaining convenience it has the additional benefit of being just far enough removed from these sleepless parts of town to give its patron an element of peace, no doubt a kind not found in some of the more central Siem Reap villas. Another thing to not is the colorful yet culturally appropriate aesthetics of the hotel that give it an almost exotic feel. While all of this is does in no way make it the equal of a 5 star Dubai resort, the Golden Butterfly Villa is every bit an oasis in a desert. Being fantastic value for money I would not hesitate to return back upon visiting Cambodia again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nestled in among local houses and a school, this beautifully fitted out hotel was an amazing find. For the price of a budget guesthouse the rooms were of a very high standard as well as being tranquil and light. However, what really made this a wonderful experience was the staff. The trained local young staff were incredibly warm and friendly and made you feel like part of a family whilst also catering to all of your needs. Outstanding service and beautiful, yet budget, accomodation. It was very hard to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Golden Butterfly is a brand new villa that just opened up in Siem Reap October 2012 and I must say it is one of the BEST places that I've stayed in during my 7 1/2 months of travel. The prices here are reasonable, on par with everything else in the city for both room accommodation, food and travel bookings, but the service, hospitality and the cleanliness of this place really puts this place over the top. You get 5 star treatment here, but without the price tag. And it is walking distance to the city center.

The entire staff always provides service with a smile and go out of their way to ensure that you have a comfortable stay. I stayed here for a week and already came back to stay here for a couple additional days. This place itself was the highlight of my stay in Siem Reap and made it really difficult to leave.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a little piece of heaven while traveling through Siem Reap!

Room Tip: the deluxe room on the top floor has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Butterfly Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Butterfly Villa

Address: Steung Thmey Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 76, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Butterfly Villa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two generations of experience in hospitality & hotel business brought to you in one of the finest hotels in Siem Reap . . A guarantee forExcellent Service and a Pleasant Stay . . .A dedicated team of English speaking Staff will be at your service to make your stay at our hotel as pleasant and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Golden Butterfly Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Butterfly Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.