We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Crown Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Crown Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street 7 Makara, Old Market Area, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice and close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is located within walking distance of the central area.
Excellent price which includes a great buffet breakfast.
Great staff. Though didnt really find the concierge that helpful, and ddint have any maps on hand.
What made it only very good was that I ordered in room dining and one of my dishes had 2 minute noodles at a USD11.
Also there are no fans in the rooms requiring the AC to be on during the night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool view room on the first floor. The lift is slow so using the stairs was easy fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    90
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
35
86
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Just 2 or 3 minutes walk for old market, night market and 100's of restaurants. Rooms are large and have everything you could need. The rooms with pool view balcony are probably the best choice. Food and bars were very good. Excellent pool. The staff were wonderful. I would definitely stay here again with such a perfect location. Other big hotels are too far from shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel located at very strategic place. Where you can find small marts, restaurants, bicycle renting place & happening clubs, all walking distance. And, the road is not very busy. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Arrange for transportations quite fast. Ok with early check in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was my 4th visit to Siem Reap. The price of the room was very reasonable. This hotel obviously caters for large groups and there was always a large tourist bus out the front during the 4 nights I was staying here. A few minutes walk gets you to the new night market and the central market and just another minute more gets you to Famous PUB street. If you are able continue up the road to the original night market areas you will find some better quality goods to purchase for a little bit more. Harder to haggle in this market now though. But you still get a good price for less common product. The breakfast was ok, but not the best that I have had in Siem Reap. But there is still enough variety to fill your tummy. I did use the restaurant one night due to being too heat exhausted to head out for dinner, but I would recommend head into town for a better experience and better food. The room itself was comfortable, and Wifi great, but My air conditioning was a bit up and down. For me that was fine as I do not like my rooms Freezing cold, but others might think this an issue. A very short walk down the road there are many eating opportunities if you do not feel like tackling the busy city centre area, also many grocery stores for bits and pieces you might need. I would stay here again. If you want a good massage try Body Tune - Thai Massage with staff member #18 - She was amazing but it is a strong massage ($14 for the hour well worth it) - Get a pedicure for $8 also - Mine still looks great after 2 weeks. Food options near pub street - Try AMOK - they do a great River fish salad and in my opinion have the best spring rolls in town :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers great value for the mid range budget traveller. Located away from the main tourist area but only 5 minute walk to pub street. Has two pools with loungers which are a nice respite after touring the temples in the heat. Breakfast buffet is more than what I expected for the room price, although you get better value eating dinner out. Drinks and food by the pool are on par with the cafés in pub street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This smaller personal type hotel is absolutely a wonderful find in Siem Reap. Rooms are large, very clean and the staff is eager to assist with whatever questions you have. They serve a lovely complimentary breakfast each morning and their spa offers many types of services at amazingly good prices. Siem Reap was the start of our two week trip and the stay at the Royal Crown certainly made the beginning wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

First visit to Siem Reap - could have stayed in one of the mor 'Vegas' style hotel complexes on the main road from the motorway, but I wanted to be near town. And this is the ideal place.
They even sent a car to pick us up from the airport - actually it was a people carrier - massive. The air con was welcome as the heat and humidity really hit us when we got off the plane.
We arrived March 4th so was quite warm - for a Brit.
You can get a massage around the corner, the markets are just a few minutes away, Pub Street a 10 minute stroll. So if you've left something in your hotel room you can easily return and retrieve.
Breakfast is very good, especially the egg station, the roof-top bar was lovely for grabbing a cold beer after a day out in the sun. We had one evening meal there, and although it was nice, we preferred the (same) meal we had in the Khmer Cafe in Pub Street.
If you want a lie in and miss breakfast (like we did one morning), it was no bother - there's a smashing cafe/restaurant serving breakfasts just as you cross the bridge, and then over the road to the right (opposite the moped parking).
Bed was big & comfy in a spacious room. Bathroom decor was a bit tired/dated. Looked like it needed some money spent, but all was all functional and suited the purpose - after all, how long do you spend in the bathroom when on holiday?
Great value, great location, friendly and welcoming staff.
Would I stay there again? You bet!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Crown Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel & Spa

Address: Street 7 Makara, Old Market Area, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Crown Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crown Hotel & Spa is conveniently situated 3 minutes walking just across the Siem Reap River from the bustling French quarter and Old Market and Pub Street. The building has retained the true colonial French characteristics. The Hotel just 10 minutes drive for m Siem Reap International Air-port and while it only 10 minutes to reach the world heritage temple of Angkor.The Royal Crown Hotel & Spa there are two Swimming pool , one Salt water, one Fresh Water , and full moon bar roof top, restaurant available pizza order, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Crown Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.