We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okay Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Okay Guesthouse to your Saves list
Okay Guesthouse
Taphul Village | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Loved everything about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We had booked to stay in the guesthouse but were upgraded on arrival because we booked for 5 nights. The hotel room is big with air con and a big bed, plus tv with international channels. The pool on the roof is wonderful and so refreshing after a day in the boiling heat. It looks exactly like the photos and thr bar has plenty of well priced food and drink. The staff are maybe the best thing about it, super friendly and helpful and made us smile every day. The 10 min walk to the nghtlife didn't bother us band there is an abundance of tuktuks outside if you can't walk it or don't want to. The hotel is 5 mmins on foot to the circus and a 20 min bike ride to the temples. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The best thing about the hotel was the price it offered per night (we stayed 3 nights) and the fact they have airport pick up service. The location is also quite ok as well as the decor of the hotel. Nice to have an option to spend time on rooftop even though the swimming pool located on top was quite small and the water was extremely cold.

Unfortunately there have been quite a lot of problems during our stay:

1. Pick up service - I booked 3 rooms for 6 people and what was our surprise when we saw that 1 tuk tuk was sent to pick up all 6 people and our huge luggage. How could they think it will fit in one small tuk tuk? In the end the driver organized 2nd tuk tuk

2. There was one huge misunderstanding regarding tuk tuk tour around Angkor Wat that we booked with them. I especifically asked a lot of questions to ensure we see what we want to see and imagine that in the beginning of this trip we passed through Angkor Wat and the driver did not stop. We stopped him and asked - what the hell is the tour about if we don't even stop by the most important temple in Angkor!? Be very cautious about their tours. For 18-20 $ per tuk tuk, you can really expect a lot! I know one thing now - better take a bike! You will save a lot of dollars and nobody would tell you what to do!

3. Do not eat on rooftop. We thought why we always receive cold food. In the end of the stay we realized that the food is being carried from ground floor kitchen to the 5th floor when the rooftop is located.

4. Breakfast was very poor and it is was not worth it's price - 5 USD / person.

5. The staff was hard to communicate and hard to deal with once they made some mistakes. They only smile and smile and that is their answer for everything.

6. Bedsheets and towels smelled very badly and we only realized that once we left the hotel, got to Bangkok and unpacked our things - we needed to send them all to laundry.

7. The rooms were not very clean to be honest. I needed to move my very heavy bed as the charger went under it and then I discovered how much dust and dirt is there under it.


Overall, I would not stay there again. I would prefer to pay more and have a nicer spot to relax without any problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is for budget backpackers therefore, if you are wanting clean rooms and customer service you may need to pay more and go somewhere else. First impressions when walking into the hotel is that you have come to a lovely place. Once you start walking to your room you notice the difference, very steep stairs, your room has bars over all the windows and a very basic bathroom where the shower will wet everything in sight. The breakfast was okay, however, we are used to paying for our breakfasts at the end of our stay, however, they wanted payment then and there, come prepared. The pool is the redeeming feature, it is smaller than the marketing photos show though. The bathroom area by the pool requires cleaning, it was at a very low standard, you absolutely needed shoes to walk in there....we travelled through Asia for 3 months and this was the lowest standard of hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were looking for a budget option but decided to pay a bit more go for a hotel with a pool, but the pool is not heated so only fit for the brave and not enough sun beds for guests. The breakfast was pretty poor. They charge $1.75 per kilo for laundry but if you walk 100 yards you can get it for $1 per kilo, you can also save a couple of bucks on mountain bike hire if you do the same and tuk tuk hire.
The room was fine and the staff friendly enough. There is only one lift so that could also take a while. Tried booking via their website and was told there had been a problem with it and ended having to pay for breakfast, should have just booked via Agoda.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent two nights here costing around £10 pn. The first night we were in a deluxe room (despite paying for the cheaper option). The second night we were moved to the standard room. There wasn't a great difference between the two, both were large, clean & comfortable. The staff were friendly & helpful. The rooftop pool was a nice touch. The only flaw was the location as there was literally nothing close to the hotel; the night market & pub street were about a 25 minute walk or a $2 tuktuk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

When booking through Agoda there's is one thing that is expected - that you get a room. Not for us. Upon check-in we waiting 15 minutes and we told that there was no room (despite pre paid for the room) for us and that they would accommodate us at a different hotel. The other hotel was dreadful and a major step down.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Really good hotel , fantastic facilties (pool and all) in a good location. The only minus I'd have here would be service from the staff. If you ordered a orange juice you'd get a strawberry smoothie 20mins later. One morning we were in a rush leaving to catch a bus and ordered plain bread rolls, it must have taken 20 mins to arrive from kitchen. Other than this is an extremely good hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Okay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okay Guesthouse

Address: Taphul Village | Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Okay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okay Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.