We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the tree roots tangled in the stone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ta Prohm

Ta Prohm
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 97 attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Having undergone minimal restoration, stone pillars and carvings intertwine with massive tree roots and jungle in this stunning temple complex.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Love the tree roots tangled in the stone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's probably a shame that everyone knows this as the one used in Tomb Raider, as the temple itself is spectacular. Tree roots wind through the stone, if they remove the roots the stone collapses so they are part of one another now.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,952
    634
    101
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helensvale, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Atmoshpere Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We LOVED this temple - after exploring a few in the region this one to use definitely had the most atmosphere. If you only have time to do one temple this is he one I would recommend.

It is wild and dramatic - an excellent easy walk from one side of it through to the other.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Massive trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is overgrown by trees over the stone. Currently being restored but still worth a visit. You can see the unrestored bits and compare them to the restored parts. You can still find a quiet spot to reflect here about the magnificent history of the Khmer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

You have to see Angkor temples for yourself - words cant explain. Consider going in a quieter season as it can get really busy. We went with 'Go Asia Travel' - having an english speaking tour guide and airconditioned car was a win.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was my favorite temple - I got there at 5:30AM ahead of the crowds and i had it to myself - see my youtube channel at
http://www.youtube.com/my_videos?feature=mhee
this is mystical and divine - make sure you visit early before the masses of people come - its worth getting up early to see this. I loved the trees growing out of the temples. And you will too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Prohm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Ta Prohm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ta Prohm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ta Prohm to your Saves list
;