We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again... Lovely” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Thom

Angkor Thom
Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #6 of 103 attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This magnificent inner royal city was built by the end of the 12th century and is renowned for its temple grounds and towering southern gate.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Again... Lovely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you're doing the Angkor tour, and aren't a historian, then after a point all temples may start seeming the same. I had short listed 5 to see- Ta Prohm, Bayon, Angkor, Angkor Thom and one with the reclining Buddha. I believe each of these was different, and for a day tripper, those are the 5 I recommend. Angkor Thom is filled with history and legends. Worth it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,396
    345
    47
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
201 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Khmer Kingdom Capital”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We entered fro the South Gate to visit Bayon Temple. Outside the gate there is a long line of statues from both sides who are holding perhaps a naga (snake which protects Buddha). In other Gates many statues are without head because poor people during the civil war took them and sold them to live. As one can see poverty destroys everything!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Get there early in the morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited Angkor Thom after watching the sunrise at Angkor Wat, but first we climbed the hill to the ruins at the top just before the gate to Angkor Thom. We recommend skipping the climb up the hill or doing it later. To avoid the crowds, go as early as you can to Angkor Thom, especially the towers of Bayon which were our favourite site. Or go a little later in the afternoon around 3:00.

If you have limited time and you're not sure how to spend your time, this is a must see, especially the towers of Bayon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Angkor Thom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the first temple we visited.... I thought it was the greatest!! But came, Angkor Wat..... wow, that was the majestic! Angkor Thom is unique on its own!! Very interesting carvings.... and the land area is also huge like Angkor Wat!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

What more can I say but...WOW! One of my favourite places I have ever had the luck and pleasure to visit...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Thom also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Thom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Thom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Angkor Thom to your Saves list