We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Thom

Angkor Thom
Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$68*
and up
Angkor Temples Small-Group Tour
Ranked #2 of 201 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This magnificent inner royal city was built by the end of the 12th century and is renowned for its temple grounds and towering southern gate.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pictures do not do it justice. Try to go when it's quieter - the busloads of tourists can be overwhelming

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,486
    593
    80
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A definite must see, but watch out for scammers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a very distinct complex with all the faces in the spires. Definitely a must see even if you only have one day. Watch out for uniformed police acting as tour guides that will try to charge you for their services. There were 2 there when we were there so were kept a distance from them since we had already been warned. This is another big complex so take water with you as its quite a hike to get to the water vendors. Lots of climbing is involved and there are 3-4 temples on this stop that go on for about a mile.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stone marvel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

King Jayavarman established this with Bayaon at the center. I think this is in the most dilapidated condition. This is covered by very tall wall and long moat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Climb to the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The pictures we took from the bottom came out phenomenal. The walk to the temple and to the top were so beautiful!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Six stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The whole Angkor Wat plus sites I found thoroughly interesting, and a pleasure to experience. You can also learn a but about the culture, and the poverty of the local populace just by virtue of the entrance gate areas where they swarm to sell trinkets and objects like drums & statues. Keep your guard up if you wish but also be mindful to stay polite (and firm if you are not interested) and kind to the hawkers and children as they are just trying to make a living in a hard world. We saw some very unkind tourists and that was very unfortunate to me. The sites itself are amazing, if you are a history/archaeological buff, then it may also be the place for you. Many people had a guide with them which I think makes sense but we also liked time to look and take pictures. We bought a guidebook for 7 and later realized we were highly charged but then again bargaining with such poor people didn't make the most sense either to me. So just be aware of a price that you find fairer and be happy with your price and purchase. As most note, it gets very hot very fast so sun protection is a must as is mosquito protection. Dress reasonably but also for the heat. Wear good footwear as there are many open branches and uneven surfaces. Bring H2O or buy at the hawker stands outside. Enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Thom also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Thom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Thom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.