We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay in Cambodia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amansara to your Saves list
Amansara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Must Stay in Cambodia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been quite surprised to see this resort snubbed on CN Traveler for the best hotel in Siem Reap. It is a very unique experience and such great grounds for anyone traveling through, with Aman standards.

We stayed in May and 1 night were the only guests, having the grounds completely to ourselves. This is a great time of year to travel, as its warm but never too hot and not many tourists.

The hotel itself is set in the king's old residence redone in Aman fashion. The GM was great to greet us on arrival and several times throughout our stay. Our guide for local tours was with us the whole time and exceptional knew where to take you to avoid all the crowds (3 temples were visited and we were the only ones there). he also survived the horrible experiences that plague Cambodia's past and gave great insight into the history and battle this country has as it continues to rebuild.

As this nation still remains in great poverty we sought out the Ponheary Ly Foundation (http://theplf.org/wp/) and donated food to feed a local school of children, as that seems to be the only way they can get the parents to send their children to school is with the promise of being fed and bringing food home to the family. Education is one of the only ways out for them as they try to rebuild from their past and I would highly recommend anyone coming through to donate to this cause and get to go out to the local school and do the food drop and see firsthand the impact you can make.

The food at Amansara was exceptional local cuisine and there was no desire to venture off the property for anything but seeing the temples.

I highly recommend this hotel to see the ancient ruins of Cambodia's past and enjoy a very relaxing and wonderful stay in one of the simplest and yet best resorts I have ever been to.

Room Tip: Pool Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    16
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
46
130
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Nothing but the best in all areas. The staff is wonderful. Sally and Vickie go out of their way to ensure the guests are always happy. Ask Vickie to make you her Ant cocktail to experience something with a Cambodian funky flair. She might even show you the tiny hammer she uses to make the ingrediANTS.

We had a suite with a pool and it was terrific. From the moment we were escorted thru immigration we were treated like royalty. The hotel picked us up in a 1965 Mercedes limo, whisked us to the hotel, then escorted us to our awaiting room. We were immediately welcomed "home" by all the staff.

We arranged several tours through the hotel and were expertly guided by Yoko. Ask for him to be your guide and you will avoid all the crowds and see the sights in a more relaxed atmosphere. Thank you Yoko!!

The food, the drinks, the activities and especially the staff are marvelous. If you can afford it you should stay. Personally we think you can't afford not to. Well done Sally and Vickie and all the Amansara family!! We hated to leave. We look forward to a return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Amansara is a fantastic hotel , amazlingly friendly staffs that are always attentive to our needs.
Rooms are of very good size and nice amenities. As the hotel has only 24 rooms, we get to know some of the guests pretty quickly during our short visit. It felt like a big family and everyone is happy & simply relaxing & enjoying the luxury of the hotel. Food is fantastic in the restaurant!
The only thing that is missing is a gym but as a guest from amansara, you get access to the gym in another hotel just across the road.
Overall experience: excellent and we strongly recommend Amansara to anyone that are considering to stay there!!

Room Tip: the pool suite is simply heaven!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is the-remodeled guest house of the King and truly beautiful with the smell of Jasmine in the air. The hotel, service and grounds were impeccable. The entrance is an unassuming wall on the main busy street but once you enter the grounds its a private oasis.

Touring: The hotel arranges all of your travel and touring which make it absolutely worth the cost.

Amansara has made special arrangements with Immigration services when you arrive, which means you bypass all lines at the airport. They have special arrangements with Angkor Wat and UNESCO and are the only car allowed drive past Angkor itself. When you arrive at the hotel you are presented with refreshments and a member of the staff presents you with a small book describing each temple you will visit, the basic history of cambodia and your personal schedule of touring. You have a private tour guide for all of Angkor and a driver. You also have a private driver for anywhere you want to go.

Touring starts early in the morning to get the best photos and views, and then resumes in the late afternoon when the afternoon heat begins to dwindle and you have more opportunities for "magic hour photos." Amansara also arranges for special 1/2 hour programs (before dinner) that further let you experience Cambodian tradition, children performing traditional Cambodian dancing in the court yard and a sampling of music. We upgraded and also took the the traditional Khmer cooking class, given offsite after a market adventure.

Other Amenities:

Meals were included as well as basic alcohol, (wines, spirits, basic mixers and standard drinks). There is another menu of mixed cocktails for a charge (which I found strange) and wine cellar guide for a charge (which I understand because they has some very nice bottles). Service was impeccable. Fresh fruit and flowers everywhere, incense and candles would be lit in your room while you were away. Private Driver, Bicycles, Yoga mats, Sun hats, Lightly chanting music in the background.

I recommend taking advantage of the Library. We did this on one of the lunch breaks after our first full morning of touring. We reviewed our touring book and read more information about Cambodia, the war, and the Khmer Rouge. It was helpful to do so because our questions to our guide were more thought out.

After this experience I can not wait to go to any of the other Aman properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we have spend 3 times a week there. we still find it fascinating how after you come via a busy street the big front door closes iánd you feel like on a island. tranquile, friendly , quiet and relaxing. neverthelss only minutes away fom angkor and one of the worlds most imortant sides to visit.
the whole area is now packed with hotels. chap and expensive. the Aman stays by a mile the first choice

Room Tip: always go for suite with pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I would highly recommend the Amansara to anyone travelling to Siem Reap to see the Angkor temples. It is pricey but worth every penny.

Their guides are the best and you will be able to see the temples, in the main, away from the madness of the crowds. The hotel is tucked away discreetly compared to the more vulgar 5 star ones surrounding it, the service is impeccable, the food delicious and the rooms luxurious and comfortable.

Nothing is too much trouble at the Aman and you be completely spoilt. The GM, Sally is exceptional. We only had 3 nights there but we left feeling enlightened, relaxed and definitely wanting a little bit more.

The Aman is an exceptional group of hotels and having had the pleasure of staying in two now, I am seriously considering planning my next holiday around the Aman group and their destinations!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with the gardens or if you're feeling very decadent get your own privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for four nights over Christmas 2012 an this must be the most modern and expensive hotel in Siem Riep. The rooms were beautiful and we were upgraded to a pool villa.the food was interesting and generous but the staff had difficulty understanding requests for vegetarian or sugar free requests. that is unacceptable for such a pricey hotel. The wines and cocktails were supposed to be included in our rate, but on the bill, some cocktails were charged and others were not. The credit card deposit was also banked and it was a hassle getting them to refund it. The management offered two complimentary massages which were excellent. It was a beautiful place to stay if money is no object.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Address: Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#41 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amansara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.