We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Resort !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amansara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amansara to your Saves list
Amansara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 245 Hotels in Siem Reap
california
1 review
“Perfect Resort !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This place is amazing! From the service side to the rooms to the staff, just the best experience i've ever had.
It is the perfect place to go visit one of the most beautiful city in the world.
Amansara offer a professional and efficient service. Concerning the dining room that we have been after sundrying on the pool, it great and beautiful place with an indoor swimming pool.The room are spacious and comfortable. A truly 6 - 7 stars experience from the excellent staff through to the comfortable stylish bedrooms, you will not be dissapointed if you stay here but it just only small thing that could be improved i was talking to the lady in dining room she working hart then the other what i saw, i just asking afew minute for waiting my food how long she working for amansara because i like my stay in this resort, and < she said she not the permanent staff in here just only for casual without service charge and holiday just only one day off per week> it make me wonder a lot why in the 6 star hotel provide this policy in it not fairly at all to them. i would comment to the general Manager Ms. Sally they like your hotel and they try very best service for the hotel at less 5 % or more service charge for them each month even you take them for only your busy season if i compared to the room charge $1000 per / night , it feel sad when i hear like that unbelievable. i will return back again next year and i hope it will be better information about your hotel. I love my stay there and would comment this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    18
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
47
138
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great welcome. Made to feel like you are the only guests but without being over intrusive. Nice relaxed colonial feel. The organised tours with private guide were excellent with early start to avoid the crowds and knowledgeable guide. Well stocked library and detailed books in rooms. Food good. Vintage Merc limo and ex US army Jeeps add to unique feel.
Main pool a bit open but further pool secluded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing 5 days at Amansara. The help with visa procedures at the airport, the 1965 Mercedes 220 stretch with driver and co-pilot put us already in the right mood before arriving at the hotel.
The 60s architecture of the old Sihanouk residence is fabulous. The architect who renovated and enlarged the resort respected the original style.
The attention to detail is omnipresent. Everything is beautiful.
The staff is amazingly friendly and efficient. With some exceptions due to misunderstandings, service was very fast.
We went to a few restaurants in town and quickly realized that the best Khmer food was at the Amansara.
The spa is lovely and the masseuses proficient.
The private plunge pool was a treat!
Last but not least: the organization of the visits is absolutely fabulous. They are contrarian i.e. you do the opposite of the lambda-tourist and you are almost always alone in each temple.
The only negative point in our view was the quality of the coffee.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very classy way to start the trip...They pick you up in a 1965 Mercedes-Benz limo, we were with another couple, so they put the luggage in a separate car. Then when you leave, the hotel senior staff gathers in the driveway to bid you farewell. That is the beginning and the end....The design of the hotel was OK, not the prettiest hotel I have ever been to in Asia. i would call it a "mid-century design. I stretch here to call it a hotel in the city, if you call Siem Reap a city...There are no views, however we had a lovely room with a large pool. They did a wonderful job of arranging a full itinerary of sightseeing at the ruins of Anchor Wat. And that is why you are there....

The food and the service in the dining room was fantastic. We did not have one meal that was not terrific. They could not do enough to please us. i was not crazy about the dining room design as it reminded me of a country club type setting, I suppose i was expecting "exotic", and it is not exotic. However the food and service made up for any complaints.

if you are daring, then i suggest to grab a bicycle and go for a ride. The hotel keeps about a dozen bicycles ready at the main entrance. We really enjoyed our bike-rides, even though the city can be daunting.

the hotel is small and you really feel like they are welcoming you into their home.

Room Tip: No real difference in one room over the other. i think the choice is a pool room or a no-pool room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the Amansara for 4 nights and must compliment the management & staff for the exceptionally high standards of service. Great service is what you expect from an Aman but, even by their exalted standards, the Amansara experience was superb. The airport pick-up and drop-off by a vintage 1965 Mercedes (while the luggage followed in another vehicle) set the mood and everything else which followed by fantastic. The food - especially the Khmer set meal which changes every meal (lunch & dinner) - was outstanding, spa was very good and tour arrangements were impeccable. We were a bit apprehensive given that we were travelling with two young children but, while the Aman doesn't exactly cater to kids, they were very well looked after. All in all, I am glad we picked the Amansara which made the trip even more memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Definitely ranking as one of the best hotels I have stayed in on my global travels, Amansara is a little piece of Heaven where one can live like a queen for a few days in a former Royal holiday residence, combining the peace of the resort with the exhilaration of the amazing temples around Siam Reap. Complimenting the original pared back architecture of the original royal main building the hotel marries cool understated elegance with sleek and tasteful rooms and fittings. Our own private pool outside our suite was the cherry on the cake. However one cannot talk about Amansara without paying due respect to Sara the hotel GM and her amazing staff where attention to detail is the best I have seen. I am truly convinced that they have room service fairies as no matter what time of the day you leave your room and for whatever period your room is pristine on return. The food offering whilst a relatively contained menu is excellent with no request being too much. Little touches like home baked cakes and biscuits available all day to daily fruit in your suite ensure there is always an opportunity to indulge. Experiences from the excellent spa where you can also book a fortune teller! to customised tours etc make every whim catered for. Before signing off I have to commend the team for their support of the local community through their nightly entertainment programmes where residents can attend and support discreetly. The night of our arrival we were enchanted by children from a local orphanage who put on a dance programme to the following night listening to the beautiful voice of a local singer blind from birth who through her talent today supports her family.
Sadly as we end our break to head back to the chaos of everyday I now fully understand the attraction of the Aman offering and am in danger of becoming another of their junkies!

Room Tip: For a complete splurge go for a pool suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived late at night and we're picked up from the airport in a 1962 Mercedes. We were served awesome sandwiches at that late hour which they didn't have to do.
We were not impressed with the hotel at first but the service they provided was one of the best we have seen so far.
Food was exceptionally good and the chef would ask us every day what we would like for dinner and we being vegetarians they made special food for us. The chef even knew what we ate and what we wasted the next day. Never seen anywhere that much attention paid to guests.
Amazing thing was that every time we went out of our room for a little bit they would come and fix our room and we were perplexed as to how house keeping knew when we went out.
The excursions that they had arranged for were done very professionally and they took us to ankarwat temple thru the back to avoid the general public.
Used the spa and that was just as awesome.
Small cosy hotel and if you cossider what they have to offer, I didn't think it was that expensive. Worth every dollar!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amansara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansara

Address: Road to Angkor, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amansara 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amansara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansara Siem Reap
Amansara Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amansara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.