We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place EVER! lonely planet what were you thinking!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lodge Guesthouse

Red Lodge Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Lodge Guesthouse
Save
You added Red Lodge Guesthouse to your Saves list
Montree Ob Rom, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 367 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
cornwall england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst place EVER! lonely planet what were you thinking!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

im actually shocked that people have givne this place good reviews! never have i been to a crappier place and i have travelled around south east asia twice, not impressed. the free bike hire? well, there are free bike, none of these have brakes though and the ones that do mysteriously are chained to the fense and the owners just happened to have lost he key - but you can use their own personal tuk tuk drivers, HA! free breakfast - mouldy bread and coffee crawlign with ant.. umm yes please! how about laundry - we met a guy whos boxers were replaced with bras, had a oversized pair of trousers and none of his own, and his white tshirts where blue.. as for cleanliness of the place, our bed was so dirty, dont even know when the sheets were last changed, bedbugs, a lame excuse for a fan and a busted shower head. and as for 'kindness of staff' we got back 10 minutes late from check in and were made to paid for another full night, even though we were getting on a bus to shinukoville.. tbh we probally could have got away without payign them because every night they seem to drink more alchol than the best british binge drinker and pass out by 8, which would be ok and a ncie party scene if they actually talked to you but no mater how funny or polite you are, you are just their income! would not stay here again even ifi was paid to.. worst place ever, mabye last year it was ncie when thes epeople reviewed it but we made a couple mates there and no one seemed to stay more than a night!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Large rooms, large beds. Bathrooms are ok but what you expect from the price. Staff fairly helpful although weren't able to tell me how to turn on air con. Really good location been down a little side road just a stones throw from town, which meant it was very quiet but walkable. Unbelievable value at only $6 per night!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We had read that this place was really good, but we were told at our arrival that the changed the staff about one year ago and it had lost its charm. It's a nice and quite place to stay, nera the center but in a ver quite peacefull place. But the place was not very clean, and the famous "free" breakfast was no more than a piece of bread and a coffe located both in a dirty storage. Also the free bikes are in a very bad conditions so it's not very secure to go very far away with them.
Also the prices were strange, all de rooms have A/C and fan, but you can choose only fan (6$) or a/c (12$) (they just take the remote control). We took it with fan, but at the end of the day, I don't know why, the room was boiling!! so you had no chance to sleep properly without the A/C.
Th staff was nice but they didn't speak more that two words in English.
The place is ok, because the prices in Seam Reap have rised a lot and a quite double room ner the center for 12$ is cheap.
Of course no wifi, not even a computer!
The place seems to have been very good because of what the people say about it, the old pictures you can find about the place at the entrance, but it's very different know. Don't expect too much.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Nowt special. 'Free 'breakfast' consisted of bread & jam and bananas. Oh, and free coffee. Tuk-tuks on demand but one of them will try to over-egg the price so bargain hard (he tried for $30 to Banteay Srei but having done my homework the night before knew I could get there for $20). Very quiet, barely heard a squeak from any other guest at all. Good for couples and those that aren't overly fussed about socialising in-house.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

This is a great place. It's pretty popular and doesn't take reservations, so it's probably best to get on an early bus from Phnom Pehn. We stayed at the Golden Temple Villa for one night, then switched to Red Lodge, right around the corner. The room we had was decent sized. There was a family that did laundry right across the street, a convinience store a 2 min walk away, free bread and bananas (I bought a jar of peanut butter and made pb and banana sandwiches for when I was walking around the temples) and very nice and entertaining staff. The hang out area was nice and relaxed with DVDs, books, and CDs (though the manager had an irritating habit of putting a scratched Celine Dion CD on). They also provided free bikes that looked like they were about to fall apart, but got us around town.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Nice place, free breakkie supplies, nice hangout area, prob will hardly ever see a soul, very peaceful!

I would def come and stay here again!

  • Liked — The comfy beds and the free baguettes!
  • Disliked — I saw a giant spider outside it, AHHHHHHHHHRGH
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

This place has great extras, like free breakfast, communal fridge, dvd player, books on Angkor, free bikes (a bit shabby but they do the job)...

Our double room was smallish, but very clean and had some storage and dressing table with mirror. Staff were also really friendly. For 6$, alltogether this was one of the best deals we have had in SE Asia.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Montree Ob Rom, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Red Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lodge Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.