We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty, cockroaches in the room, service is bad - don't book” 1 of 5 stars
Review of City Angkor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
City Angkor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Airport Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“dirty, cockroaches in the room, service is bad - don't book”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The City Angkor Hotel was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are very old, the walls, the shower, the floor are dirty. It's relative noisy as the hotel is located directy at a very busy road. Wifi was not available in our room, we had to go to the lobby. The service was under average as the staff was unfriendly to us.

We had several Cockroaches in the room. Our group has booked 3 rooms, 2 out of 3 had this problem.

I really cannot recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manatchaya C, Manager at City Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Sven M.,

Thank you for having taken the time to post a review. Your feedback is very important and valuable for us.

I do apologize for this to have failed while you were staying with us and that we not have a chance to address at least some of the issues.

We continue to renovate our rooms starting from April this year, to make sure that rooms are clean and up to the standard. And this is including the pest control systems are also in place.

Regarding the noise issue, actually this is the quiet area in Siem Reap if compare to the center where you have all pubs and bars around.

WiFi is sometimes have poor reception which may caused by bad weather at that time. We have noted the service standard of our staff and appropriated action had been taken.

Best regards,
Manatchaya Calvet
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
11
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The service was outstanding especially Mr Ny in the restaurant and the people at the front desk gladly helped sort out all questions we had. It is well located to do both Siem Reap and Angkor.Relax and enjoy the food,the pool and the people. Being out of the main city district it was quiet and not so hectic

Room Tip: If a smoker get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manatchaya C, Manager at City Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Anne K.,

Thank you for sharing your view and feedback of your stayed at City Angkor Hotel in the Tripadvisor Review.

I am noted with pleasure that we have been live up to your expectation and we will certainly continue to improve our product and service quality to it best, i and the team do hope to welcoming you back to enjoy another holiday time in Siem Reap again in the near future.

Best regards,
Manatchaya Calvet
Sales Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Explore the real Cambodia with touring the Angkor Wat Archeological Park
The City Angkor Hotel, Siem Reap-Angkor, Cambodia.
The hotel rooms can match the best international standards and are spaciously laid out with a thoughtful decoration on comfort; style, cleanliness and the Service quality are of a constant high standard. 150 Superior rooms plus 4 Suites each attractively decorated and thoughtfully equipped with amenities that enhance comfort and convenience. The room View has Front and Garden side and Swimming Pool View.
Please enjoy with the services and facilities of the City Angkor Hotel.

During check in you will get the benefits with a nice glass of welcome drink with cold towel by warm hospitality staffs welcome to make your feeling refreshed, while you were along of your trip. Breakfast included with room price. Internet WIFI facility free of charge available in the room and The Business Center, travel information & tour arrangement are available free of charge at front desk, especially for the good driver and tour guide along experienced with tour section.

The City Angkor Hotel was excellent value and I would have no hesitation in recommending the City Angkor Hotel to you. If you decide the trip to Siem Reap-Angkor.

Best Regards,

Orleang CHIV

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Want to know and experienced the history of Cambodia, you must stay on this hotel The City Angkor Hotel. After the intensified peace order in the country in 1989 the family owned hotel was established and became popular as one of the first hotel in Siem Reap. The hotel is just few minutes away from the International Airport and accessible for “tuk-tuk” to explore the city.
CAH is having a wonderful architecture, I love wood carving… the rooms are very spacious and very much appropriate for family and group, the 3 beds idea is so much practical. The landscape is fantastic perfect venue for Christmas and New Years Eve, Angkor Wat stage and the breezes of waterfalls and a fountain awaits you!
Bon appetite… the food is amazing neither it is local or international, Chef is very proud that Royalties patronizes his style and flavors. I missed now the food variety of the lunch they served to us…. Yummy!
Atmosphere, cleanliness and hospitality service are all great. Mr. Wichai (GM) & Mr. Nam (OM) was very hospitable and always showed concerned in every detail. Carry on and best of luck always! 3 THAI + 1 PINAY, Nov 3, 2011

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

A major disappointment if you've seen the pictures on their website. This hotel might have been THE place in Sieam Reap years ago. Now it's turned into a run down, overpriced and impersonal tourist bunker quite far from the city center. The carpet in my room looked and smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in years. There is (slow) wifi internet in the rooms but only if you don't mind a completely unsecured connection.The breakfast buffet was okay but nothing to write home about. There are definitely better options in Sieam Reap today.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

after i arrival at Siem reap-Angkor, i have been checked in the hotel that is very nice place, the hotel staff, they recommend me to visit some place beside the temple and other restaurant, especially at APSARA Dance show, i really like it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

The room is clean enough, but the furnitures, TV etc. are all second-hand. Beds are a bit too soft. Foot massage is very good, and you can get a 10% discount if you're traveling with a group. Just don't forget to ask for discount. Oh, btw, male receptionists turned out to be bad and maths. :p

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Angkor Hotel

Address: Airport Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Angkor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City Angkor Hotel. For visitors wishing to have the best, The City Angkor Hotel offers a comprehensive range of deluxe facilities and services, To make it one of Ankgor's best choices for accommodations.Being situated in this vibrant area has many advantages such as easy access to city center, Angkor and Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your City Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.